We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LAWRENCE WELK RESORT”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Welk Resort San Diego
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I flew into San Diago to pick up my mother who live's with my sister. She is 93 years old but still able to get around nicely. I needed a two bedroom condo for my wife and myself and a bedroom for my mother. I was pleasently surprised to find the 2 bedroom condo perfect in every way!! We stayed in Broadway units in unit 238. The condo was quite spacious and had everything you could possible want. My mother is in a walker so steps would be quite hard on her but the unit had a side entrance that allowed for her to use the walker directly to the condo without steps. The checkin went well but could not use the condo until 4pm and not a minute sooner. The grounds were perfectly kept and flowers everywhere! If your into golf they have two golf courses within the compond mostly par 3's. The bathroom were great and large with his and her's sinks as well as a large garden tub with a great shower head. We shopped at Von's in Escondito for grocery's which nearby. The resort has BBQ's outside and they are kept clean and scrapped. If your out in the "hill country" try Lawrence Welk Resort you wont be disapointed..

Room Tip: we stayed in the Gypsy units
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chuckpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,562)
There are newer reviews for Welk Resort San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,168 - 1,172 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed in 2 BR in Harmony Hill- great set up- huge living room and kitchen! Great bathrooms- could have used more towels, but provided quickly with a phone call!!
Beds were very comfortable!!
Kitchen- ants-yuck- called and they sprayed -helped but did not eliminate the problem- could have used more spoons and forks!
Pools- very nice- clean- fun water slides! Recreactin centers- spacious,fun, free internet and printers, could sign out games, movies, crafts fun- tons of activities!!
Illusion show was amazing!!
Farmers market on Monday was a ton of fun- awesome avocados and strawberries!!
Location- easy 40 min drive to San diego- traffic was not bad!!
long ride from LA, tons of traffic
A great, family friendly place to stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank amy2girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 week in late February. Good directions so easy to find, check-in was farily swift plenty of staff available and no real pressure to attend selling talk made although we were told if we didn't decide there and then we would get any of the free gifts. We stayed in a 1 bedroom villa in the new Mountain lodge of the resort which was well away from the main area but still had a good sized pool and jacuzzi with fresh pool towels every visit. The apartment we had was in the basement so not too much light coming in although the master bedroom had a patio with a couple of chairs so you could sit outside. Lovely fireplace up by the pool so that it was nice to sit there in the early evening watching the sunset.
Apartment was modern with good decoration throughout kitchen well-equipped and excellent bathroom.
Resort is located 35 miles north of San Diego, but it was an easy drive down to the city which we did on at least 4 occasions and also good road across to the coast toward La Jolla which is a lovely town to visit.
Plenty of things to do in the area and there is a gold course and theatre at the resort plus a couple of restaurants.

Room Tip: The Mountain Villas are modern and very well presented away from the main area so quiet definitely...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

We love the Welk resort. It's our home away from home when visiting our family in the San Diego area. And the grandkids love to come over to "our place" to swim and play.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Recently stayed at the Welk Resort in Escondido (40 minutes northeast of San Diego CA) and enjoyed it very much. The resort is exceptional clean and comfortable. It houses a theatre and restaurant, along with a couple small shops. The common areas, pools, hot tubs and golf courses are great. We certainly would return again.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the golf course had nice large patio and good views
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelaxerNewHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Escondido
10.0 km away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
19.2 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
12.8 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Escondido Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
Comfort Inn Escondido San Diego North County
2.8 km away
Tuscany Hills Resort
Tuscany Hills Resort
#12 of 16 in Escondido
89 reviews
20.1 km away
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Welk Resort San Diego? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Welk Resort San Diego

Address: 8860 Lawrence Welk Dr, Escondido, CA 92026
Region: United States > California > Escondido
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Escondido
Price Range: ₹ 10,671 - ₹ 26,356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Welk Resort San Diego 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welk Resort San Diego is a Southern California vacation all suite/villa destination Resort and Water Park offering couples and families the ultimate San Diego getaway experience. Just minutes from world famous destinations San Diego Zoo's Safari Park (20 minutes), LEGOLAND (25 minutes), San Diego Zoo (40 minutes), San Diego Gaslamp District (35 minutes), SeaWorld (40 minutes) Temecula wineries, area casinos, and some of the most beautiful beaches (30 minutes) in the world! Welk Resorts offers luxurious and spacious one and two bedroom villa suites, with panoramic views of golf courses or surrounding mountains. Villas include sitting and dining areas, complete kitchens with full cookware and dishware, patios or balconies, and complimentary WiFi access. Parking is complimentary and there are no resort fees. Guests will experience casual dining at Canyon Grille restaurant or Pizza Hut Express, fun in the sun at Five Clubhouses featuring one colossal pool and seven large pools & 8 spas, two water slides, two kids' splash pads and playgrounds, table games, catch and release fishing pond, hourly planned activities for all age groups, new for 2016 state of the art fitness center, lighted tennis courts, and a relaxing round of golf on one of two 18 hole golf courses. The Welk Resort Theatre is home to top-notch talent performing Broadway style musicals and starring in comedy and variety shows, including tribute bands. During the Summer are music festivals at the Welk Amphitheatre on the Greens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Welk Resort San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Welk Resort San Diego Hotel Escondido
Welk Hotel Escondido
Welk Resort Escondido
Welk Hotel San Diego

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing