We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (417)
Filter reviews
417 results
Traveller rating
186
164
49
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
164
49
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stone steps moonlight beach room was clean bagels walking distance farmers market continental breakfast shower head great value for the price would definitely stay here again late at night coffee maker nice stay short walk to the beach small pool two blocks san diego
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 417 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2018 via mobile

Great motel. Very clean and friendly staff. GREAT location. Mattress needed to be replaced in our room. We had a tough time sleeping because of the worn out mattress. That's my only complaint for this place.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Jeff M,

Thank you so much for staying at the Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach Hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location, our high standards of housekeeping and our friendly and welcoming staff. I do apologize for the mattress and your suggestions are certainly going to be taken into consideration as we are always seeking ways to improve upon the guest experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2018

The owners and or staff running this hotel are very pleasant! The room was clean, king size bed comfortable. Liked the fact we could have brought one of our dogs, wish they could allow all three little guys. Enjoyed the small pool, believe it was heated and exceptionally clean! Good location, we had room away from the main road, so it was relatively quiet with A/C turned on. Liked the fact the window can be opened. Thought the room was a little pricey for the location, but knew that in advance.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, away from the busy main road and Coaster train tracks. One question to ask "what is the whooshing sound on the roof"?.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Linda G,

Thank you for sharing the fun experience that you enjoyed at the pool. It is very rewarding to hear your perspective of our hotel and we appreciate that you have acknowledged our efforts to provide a clean, comfortable, and hospitable experience. We will happily share your comments with our staff and we look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

The rooms were nice and clean! They look to have been recently renovated. Breakfast was decent. There were pancakes, bagels and cream cheese, small muffins/pastries, etc. Doesn't seem like much from the outside, but it was a nice stay. Pool was small and the carpet on the stairway leading up to the second floor rooms could use a cleaning, but those are the only negative things I can think of. I'd stay there again if we're ever in Encinitas.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maliat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

malia t,

Thank you so much for your compliments to our breakfast and we were able to meet your expectations of cleanliness and service in our hotel. Your comments on how we can further improve upon the guest experience are also very helpful
to us. We can't begin to tell you how much we appreciate your review, and we can't wait to serve you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Have stayed there several times now and thoroughly enjoyed each occasion. The remodeled rooms are very clean and neat. The location is the very best feature - only a couple of blocks to the beach! Will continue to stay here anytime we need a beach fix.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back away from the traffic noise.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank terrylu2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

terrylu2016,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay of Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach Hotel. It is so rewarding to hear that we were able to provide you a clean, comfortable and convenient experience. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your future visits!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

Our stay at Econo Lodge was fantastic. You can't beat this location. It's only a couple blocks from Stone Steps, a short walk to Moonlight Beach, nearby restaurants and coffee shop. And it's a short drive to San Diego or Carlsbad. The room was spacious and clean. There was plenty of room and amenities for our small family. Parking was easy also. I would definitely recommend this place to stay!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerissa M, Guest Relations Manager at Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Heather C,

Thank you for your kind comments and 5 star rating of Econo Lodge Encinitas Moonlight Beach Hotel ! We are so glad to hear from you and to learn that we were able to give you a pleasant, comfortable and convenient experience. We look forward to serving you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews