We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay at a decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay at a decent price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed here at the start (4 nights) and end (2 nights) of a ski trip and they helped us store some of our luggage in between the two stays. Fairly spacious suite with decent kitchenette. Plenty of space in the room to place our 5 huge pieces of luggage (filled with shopping and ski wear). Deco is average, not much to rave about, but comfortable. They gave us a bigger room on our first stay, but a smaller one on the way back. We mentioned this after getting to the second room and they upgraded the room for us.


Liked the outdoor jacuzzi and gym too, although we had to run to get out of the jauzzi to the lift due to the cold. Appreciated the DIY laundry facilities (5th floor) although you have to buy detergent from the reception (1st floor) if you don't bring your own. Requests were attended to promptly and politely. Their rates can vary quite a bit, so may be worthwhile to look out for deals, especially if your timing is flexible.

Breakfast was decent and varied a little each day. Nice of them to provide paper cups for take-out coffee.

Good place to stay if you're driving and only want to get into the city for a day trip as you can take the train. Parking is free at this hotel, so some savings there. Only bummer about driving to the city (8km) is that you have to pay a toll on the way in. Fairly close(5 min drive) to an Ikea, Target and shopping centre so supplies can be bought easily. Meals also not an issue as there's a Denny's nearby for late-night hunger pangs.

Would stay here again if I'm going to San Francisco.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have a limited view of the bay, but way quieter than the those facing the train stati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrAvElBuG_VaLuE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    526
    368
    147
    47
    35
See reviews for
475
222
57
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here in two different rooms both on the top floor train side. First night heard the train. Most train horns come from either north of the station or as the train pulls out southbound and the engine is at that end of the train. Possibly staying at the south end of the hotel might help. On our second night at the end of a long day of travelling, I had no problems sleeping thru the noise and I am a light sleeper.

As others have mentioned, the hallway carpets need replacement. The beds are comfy tho a clothespin for the curtains would have been handy in our first room. Some noise from hallway and other bathrooms but could be drowned out by AC or fan.

First room we had some problems with the cardkey but was fixed promptly. Kitchen was handy to have tho we only used mw and frig.

Took us less than 10 minutes to walk out of the hotel, across parking lot, up and across the pedestrian bridge to the train platform. Parking lot was well lit at night and felt okay walking back with luggage from train or Bay Street at 9pm at night.

Emery Go Round Shuttle from BART's MacArthur Station is a fifteen minute ride and drops you off just south of the hotel within 250 feet from the hotel's front door. Going back is closer to 25 minutes, tho since it goes out past the Hilton Garden on the other side of the freeway.

DH says he liked the buffet which I didn't check out. He also liked being closer to the train station and thus we will use this hotel again tho I would look for specials especially for week or business travel nights.

Room Tip: If going to the train station, go out the back door, just past the bathrooms that you can see from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Earth_Pal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

Everything was perfect! Everything went smooth from check in to check out.
Only thing was the noise from the train.
I still recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Critique_me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

I booked the King suite with Bay View on advice from work colleagues, on arriving discovered the Amtrak runs behind the rear of the hotel and can be a little noisy throughout the night for those with rooms at the back, so bear this in mind when booking.

I couldn’t fault the suite, a large living area (and kitchenette) with an equally large bedroom (with a second TV, alarm clock etc.) there was plenty of storage space and room to work or relax.

The work desk was a very good size and provided plenty of room while working, unlike many other hotels I’ve stayed in the complimentary wifi not only works but provides a very strong and reliable signal, essential if you need to work as I did.

Service at the hotel was faultless for my stay, the staff always cheerful and eager to help with any requests.

Breakfast provided a reasonable selection of hot and cold food, the usual selections of cooked meats, eggs, cereals and pastries etc. nothing spectacular but decent enough.

If sight-seeing you’ve a trip across the bridge into downtown San Francisco, for my trip the location is good, it’s also located near a small shopping mall with many restaurants providing a selection of food so you’ll find something to your taste.

The brown décor of the hotel is a dated, this wasn’t an issue for me but if you’re here for a long stay it could bother some visitors.

Room Tip: Request a room with bay view to avoid rear of building adjacent to Amtrak
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chico, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

My daughters and I have stayed at this hotel twice for our annual Christmas Shopping Trip. We absolutely love everything about this hotel. I heard they are planning to update it. I don't think there is anything wrong with it and I hope it doesn't cause the rates to increase. The separate livingroom/bedroom set-up with kitchenette is the standard room. The bathroom is gigantic and arranged to the three of us can be in at the same time. Don't have room for all the extras provided. Just stay there---you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I don't think any area would be better than another but can't really say. We heard absolutel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eloraclm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.2 km away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.5 km away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
3.8 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.9 km away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area

Property: HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
Address: 5800 Shellmound Way, Emeryville, CA 94608-1912 (Formerly Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,301 - ₹ 23,051
Hotel Class:3 star — HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our newly renovated extended stay hotel (completed May of 2015) is located at the foot of the San Francisco Bay Bridge near Oakland and Berkeley, California. Hyatt House Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area is within five miles of University of California Berkeley. Enjoy the beautiful views over the San Francisco - Oakland Bay Bridge. The hotel is also conveniently located near the Bay Street Emeryville Mall and MacArthur BART station. Emeryville offers a wide variety of retail venues and shopping destinations. The Bay Street Mall, East BayBridge Shopping Center and The Emeryville Public Market are all within a short distance from the Hyatt House. During your stay, you will enjoy a complimentary hot breakfast. The outdoor pool, whirlpool and fitness center will provide relaxation and a healthy lifestyle while away from home, and our knowledgeable Front Desk Hosts are available 24 hours a day to assist with your requests. In addition, the H BAR welcomes travelers 7 days a week from 5pm -10pm, offering our new Sip+Savor Menu, featuring home-cooked comforts including gourmet Grilled Cheese Sandwiches, Chef-Crafted TV Dinners, delicious new apps like the Tomato Mozzy Bread and more. A full bar is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Summerfield Suites Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Woodfin Hotel Emeryville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing