We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible place”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

We went to this hotel last summer with our three kids! The staff is unattentive, rooms are not bad but we were told there was and indoor heated pool and the water was as cold as it gets! They charged for the parking which was terrible by the way! The only plus they have is all the shopping malls around them! But I do repeat the staff sucks!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    204
    71
    21
    24
See reviews for
133
79
22
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I just checked in and already looking for somewhere else to stay. The lobby is closed (as advertised) for construction so guests must enter through the rear entrance. The parking is terrible with construction trailers and Marriott vans taking up many spaces. But, the real problem is the room and specifically, the bed. The mattress is worn out, stained and torn. I called the front desk and was told, "All mattresses were replaced in the past 2 years." I don't think so! This is a flea-bag motel mattress, for sure. They did offer another queen-bed room but if all the mattresses were all replaced when this one was, what is the point? The room is quiet but the carpet is stained and furniture well used. The bedsheets are wrinkled and smelly, as if already used. There is not much good to say about this place, so I concur with the previous review: It might be best to go elsewhere. Although, based on the reviews of other hotels in this area, it may be hard to find anything better.

Room Tip: Bay view rooms overlook a freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyer71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

I have stayed in plenty of courtyards...this one is the worst. The place is a total dump, it is so outdated, everything stinks (literally and figuratively), elevators and halls smell like puke, rooms are musty. Staff is below average, stay away from this place....period. lots other options in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeff G, General Manager at Courtyard Oakland Emeryville, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Dear Mally,
I am sorry to hear you had a terrible stay with us. You state that the hotel is a "dump" and "outdated," but a more accurate description would be "under renovation." A million-dollar renovation of our entire first floor is underway. We have relocated and recreated our hotel entrance, Front Desk, lobby, restaurant and bar in meeting rooms at the back of the hotel. What you experienced were temporary facilities. We know they are not as good as what we had before the renovation, but we have put a lot of effort into making things as normal as possible under the circumstances.
With regard to smell, we had a college group in the hotel with over 300 students attending a nearby conference. Unfortunately, one of them got sick and threw up in a hallway. We cleaned it up as soon as possible, but some guests were exposed to the odor. This was an isolated incident. We survey our guests and score very well on a question about our rooms smelling "clean and fresh."
Again, I am sorry that your stay was so unusual, between the temporary facilities and the incident with the sick student. It is very rare that someone throws up in our corridors. I am certain that if you stay with us again, especially after we unveil our new lobby in early May, you will have a much better experience. I hope you do should you return to the area.
Warm regards ~ Jeff Given, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol PA
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

I stayed at this hotel with colleagues in February. Mall and Restaurant/Bars within walking distance. Easy on/off highways.

Room Tip: My room was facing the highway and I didnt hear a thing all night. My guess is any room in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scalwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The hotel is located right in the heart of a myriad of shopping and eating availabilities. Most are chain stores and restaurants. The parking is easy and well lit. Exercise room is clean and has newer machines. The staff were helpful and friendly. Heard no noise from other guests. It was just one of those hotels where everything ran smoothly, no suprises, and had a good location to get on the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTeam4985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Emeryville
0.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
0.5 km away
HYATT house Emeryville / San Francisco Bay Area
0.3 km away
Hyatt Place Emeryville/San Francisco Bay Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Four Points by Sheraton San Francisco Bay Bridge
4.2 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
2.7 km away
Inn at Temescal
Inn at Temescal
#7 of 49 in Oakland
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Oakland Emeryville? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Oakland Emeryville

Property: Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Address: 5555 Shellmound St, Emeryville, CA 94608-2401
Region: United States > California > Emeryville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Emeryville
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,944 - ₹ 23,241
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Oakland Emeryville 3*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Oakland Emeryville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Emeryville Hotel Emeryville
Courtyard Emeryville
Emeryville Courtyard
Emeryville Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing