We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great gift!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Sacramento CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great gift!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

After reading all the reviews here I wasn't sure what we would find at Sandpiper House. We are frequent visitors to the Mendocino coast but we had never stayed in Elk previously. We enjoyed our two night stay. The room was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was good size and had all the things we needed; shampoo, abundant towels, hair dryer, huge tub, and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed our breakfast watching the amazing view with hummingbirds flitting around the gardens. Chatting with Curtis was interesting and he certainly knows the area well. He is the inn keeper, gardener, cook, housekeeper and a volunteer fire fighter but not the owner of the house. Yes, the house shows its age but upkeep on a house so close to the ocean isn’t easy especially since the owners live out of town. We enjoyed the garden and all its secret delights and the view is outstanding. We would be happy to stay here again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank knitter10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    10
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

My daughter gave us a weekend B&B for a Christmas gift. She had purchased a groupon offer for the Sandpiper Inn. However, we found out upon booking that we had to pay extra for our room since only three of the five rooms were covered under the groupon program. They were completely sold out through July 2012 and had none of those rooms left. Upon arriving at the inn, we met Curtis, who is the most unwelcoming innkeeper I've ever met. Our room, which we had to pay an additional $90 over and above what our daughter had paid had dirty carpets, old chairs, two burned out light bulbs, blinds that did not work and the smoke detector had been removed. What some people call old charm, I just call worn out!! The room is sloping towards the ocean as well. Nothing is done to maintain the grounds, the weeds are overgrown both in the front and the back of the property. The walk way in the back which leads to a closer view of the ocean is overgrown. In one place there is a soggy spot where the water is coming up. While we were there someone threw lime on it, not sure exactly what's that all about. The B&B is in a great location, but the owners obviously do not care about any unkeep on the property. They advertise that there are snacks from 3 to 5 in the afternoon. The snacks were crackers on a paper plate and pieces of cake left over from breakfast. This is the worse experience I have ever had at a B&B, I certainly would never go back.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank heidon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Boomer2505 must have been in the same room. We also are grateful that we didn't pay full price since we had a Groupon deal too.....doubtful that we'd trust that again. It is a beautiful setting but we couldn't access the private cove since the stairway down the cliff was overgrown and deadly .....totally in disrepair. The shades in the room were broken and the windows that weren't painted shut had broken mechanisms. Mantel over fireplace hadn't been dusted in a VERY long time. Sheets and towels were of a better quality but that's about the only "nice" amenity. Breakfasts were okay but limited to just one hour....need to be done and out by 9am.....a little pushy for a relaxing weekend getaway! And then there's Curtis......we weren't looking for a new friend but it would have been nice for SOME interaction. Lightbulbs missing or dead in both guest room and bathroom. Shower and bathroom sink were uncomfortably tiny. We understand the historical nature of the property but be careful.....the rooms facing the ocean are severely sloping in that direction! Overall, not a very pleasant experience and definitely off our list of places to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were given a Groupon for Christmas and needed to redeem it before the expiration date.

After reading all of the reviews, what everyone is saying is true. You're either going to love it or tolerate it. For my husband and I, we found it to be very good. Why? Because we knew from the start that we were staying in a 100 year old craftsman run by one person who's not the owner. Curtis, the innkeeper is rather reserved but you can tell that he does his best to keep things going. He cooks, cleans and while we were there, he even mowed the lawn.

Curtis's breakfasts were great. One morning he made a vegetable fritatta with spicy salsa that was amazing. The next morning were some heavenly fruit crepes.

I have to agree with everyone that the yard is overgrown and the rooms are not in tip top shape. The kitchen is a little cluttered but it didn't bother me too much. We stayed in the Evergreen room which has it's own entrance from the side of the porch and a little balcony to sit outside. The floors slope throughout the room but that's part of the charm. I would call the room shabby chic. The Evergreen room had a canopy bed, gas fireplace, a mini-refrigerator and a soaking tub for 2. Pretty romantic, especially since there's no TV in the room, your cell phone may not get any reception and WI-FI throughout the area is spotty at best. My husband & I talked, read and just relaxed. It felt like staying in your grandmother's old house. One thing that did bother me a bit was that the room was directly below the breakfast area and thus I could hear people walking around in the morning and evening. It's not too loud but it can be annoying if you're not used to it.

Try to do some planning as the few restaurants in Elk are closed on Sundays and only one was open for dinner on Monday night. Mendocino is a half hour drive away so it may be a hike to get some food. On Sunday, we did manage to find a little grocery store that made sandwiches. We paired it with some cheese and crackers and had a nice peaceful meal in our room with the fireplace going.

What will blow you away are the fabulous views. The house is right on the side of a cliff and while you can't go all the way down to the ocean, just sitting in the lawn chairs was heaven. We sat out in the yard for over an hour and just watched the surf crash along the cliffs. The views were about the best I've seen in the area and we had them right in our own backyard.

All in all it was a great peaceful trip. Would I go back? Not at the rack rate prices, but if they had another Groupon, we would definitely go and take our friends. This is the kind of place where you need to make your own fun. Bring some wine, games, cards and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dag00dlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This B&B left a lot to be desired. We made reservations through a Groupon deal, thank goodness we didn't pay full price. When we arrived, Curtis did not great us or engage us in any way, other than to call out from his desk chair in the kitchen. We had to follow his voice to find him. He asked us who we were, got on his reservation program and informed us we owed him for tax on the reservation. After that he took us to our room, and quickly left us to do whatever. We've been to at least 10 B&B's over the years and have never been "welcomed" like this - it's as if he could care less that we were there. Afternoon "hors d'oeuvres" consisted of crackers on a plate inside a ziploc bag on a disheveled dining room table. He added a plate of cheese with the same kind of presentation. I wonder who else reached in those ziploc bags for their "treats'? We had flimsy paper plates to eat on. Again, no interaction from the innkeeper. There was nothing to drink, so we asked for water, whereupon were were directed to the faucet. We had to ask for a glass. Our room was certainly less than advertised. We had to use a bathroom towel to dust the furniture. Shades were broken and shabby, carpet was dirty and did not appear to have been vacuumed. The views around the grounds were of course beautiful, which made the stay somewhat tolerable. Breakfast was OK, but nothing spectacular - our crepes and sausage (1 tiny) were served cold. All in all, this was a bad experience. There are at least two other B&B's in Elk that we'd certainly recommend over this one. We'll not be returning to the Sandpiper House Inn.....even if it was free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boomer2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
20.1 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
12.7 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
38.9 km away
Whale Watch Inn by the Sea
16.0 km away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House Inn

Property: Sandpiper House Inn
Address: 5520 South Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,952 - ₹ 16,694
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper House Inn offers five spacious guest suites, each individually decorated with antiques, comfortable chairs, down comforters, feather pillows and fine linens. Four have ocean views, while the fifth overlooks the meadow and hills of Greenwood Ridge. Your stay includes Gourmet Breakfast, served in our breakfast room overlooking the beautiful rocks of Greenwood Cove. Complimentary tea or coffee and hors d oeuvres are enjoyed in the evening beside the cozy living room fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing