We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ditto with "Are You Kidding Me?"” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Sacramento
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ditto with "Are You Kidding Me?"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Boomer2505 must have been in the same room. We also are grateful that we didn't pay full price since we had a Groupon deal too.....doubtful that we'd trust that again. It is a beautiful setting but we couldn't access the private cove since the stairway down the cliff was overgrown and deadly .....totally in disrepair. The shades in the room were broken and the windows that weren't painted shut had broken mechanisms. Mantel over fireplace hadn't been dusted in a VERY long time. Sheets and towels were of a better quality but that's about the only "nice" amenity. Breakfasts were okay but limited to just one hour....need to be done and out by 9am.....a little pushy for a relaxing weekend getaway! And then there's Curtis......we weren't looking for a new friend but it would have been nice for SOME interaction. Lightbulbs missing or dead in both guest room and bathroom. Shower and bathroom sink were uncomfortably tiny. We understand the historical nature of the property but be careful.....the rooms facing the ocean are severely sloping in that direction! Overall, not a very pleasant experience and definitely off our list of places to revisit.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 72GG_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    10
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Point Richmond, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We were given a Groupon for Christmas and needed to redeem it before the expiration date.

After reading all of the reviews, what everyone is saying is true. You're either going to love it or tolerate it. For my husband and I, we found it to be very good. Why? Because we knew from the start that we were staying in a 100 year old craftsman run by one person who's not the owner. Curtis, the innkeeper is rather reserved but you can tell that he does his best to keep things going. He cooks, cleans and while we were there, he even mowed the lawn.

Curtis's breakfasts were great. One morning he made a vegetable fritatta with spicy salsa that was amazing. The next morning were some heavenly fruit crepes.

I have to agree with everyone that the yard is overgrown and the rooms are not in tip top shape. The kitchen is a little cluttered but it didn't bother me too much. We stayed in the Evergreen room which has it's own entrance from the side of the porch and a little balcony to sit outside. The floors slope throughout the room but that's part of the charm. I would call the room shabby chic. The Evergreen room had a canopy bed, gas fireplace, a mini-refrigerator and a soaking tub for 2. Pretty romantic, especially since there's no TV in the room, your cell phone may not get any reception and WI-FI throughout the area is spotty at best. My husband & I talked, read and just relaxed. It felt like staying in your grandmother's old house. One thing that did bother me a bit was that the room was directly below the breakfast area and thus I could hear people walking around in the morning and evening. It's not too loud but it can be annoying if you're not used to it.

Try to do some planning as the few restaurants in Elk are closed on Sundays and only one was open for dinner on Monday night. Mendocino is a half hour drive away so it may be a hike to get some food. On Sunday, we did manage to find a little grocery store that made sandwiches. We paired it with some cheese and crackers and had a nice peaceful meal in our room with the fireplace going.

What will blow you away are the fabulous views. The house is right on the side of a cliff and while you can't go all the way down to the ocean, just sitting in the lawn chairs was heaven. We sat out in the yard for over an hour and just watched the surf crash along the cliffs. The views were about the best I've seen in the area and we had them right in our own backyard.

All in all it was a great peaceful trip. Would I go back? Not at the rack rate prices, but if they had another Groupon, we would definitely go and take our friends. This is the kind of place where you need to make your own fun. Bring some wine, games, cards and you'll be fine.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dag00dlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

This B&B left a lot to be desired. We made reservations through a Groupon deal, thank goodness we didn't pay full price. When we arrived, Curtis did not great us or engage us in any way, other than to call out from his desk chair in the kitchen. We had to follow his voice to find him. He asked us who we were, got on his reservation program and informed us we owed him for tax on the reservation. After that he took us to our room, and quickly left us to do whatever. We've been to at least 10 B&B's over the years and have never been "welcomed" like this - it's as if he could care less that we were there. Afternoon "hors d'oeuvres" consisted of crackers on a plate inside a ziploc bag on a disheveled dining room table. He added a plate of cheese with the same kind of presentation. I wonder who else reached in those ziploc bags for their "treats'? We had flimsy paper plates to eat on. Again, no interaction from the innkeeper. There was nothing to drink, so we asked for water, whereupon were were directed to the faucet. We had to ask for a glass. Our room was certainly less than advertised. We had to use a bathroom towel to dust the furniture. Shades were broken and shabby, carpet was dirty and did not appear to have been vacuumed. The views around the grounds were of course beautiful, which made the stay somewhat tolerable. Breakfast was OK, but nothing spectacular - our crepes and sausage (1 tiny) were served cold. All in all, this was a bad experience. There are at least two other B&B's in Elk that we'd certainly recommend over this one. We'll not be returning to the Sandpiper House Inn.....even if it was free.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Boomer2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
160 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The inn has an unbelievable setting above the cove. It is comfortable and clean with a decent bed and a gas fireplace. We had a romantic evening sitting on the edge of the bluff in the adirondack chairs watching the sun set. The breakfast portions were huge; with very good waffles on Sunday morning. The coffee was just what you needed to get going. The only not so great thing is that the inn is getting little tired and could use some TLC - there were some cracks and nicks in the wall in our room along with some carpet stains around the fireplace (I think the house is settling as the kitchen floor sloped towards the ocean!). Linens on the bed were nice and the bathroom was clean, well-lit and with decent towels.

Room Tip: We had the Headlands room on the lowest level with its own entrance - quiet and comfortable and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Sandpiper House Inn- a wonderful Bed & Breakfast located just outside of Mendocino. First of all, I must apologize to Curtis, the Innkeeper, because I called ahead and gave him a really hard time about some of the recent poor reviews written on here. He said he was aware of them, and encouraged me to come and check it out for myself to form my own opinion. After thinking about it enough- we drove the 4-hours to get there, and I'm so glad we did!

This is a Bed & Breakfast in a quiet town- You must know that. Don't go if you're expecting a big-name hotel experience. The house is an old Craftsman-style cottage, with loads of Victorian charm, built in 1916. My husband and I are in our early 30's, and we loved how it felt to be stepping back in time- almost 100 years! The house is furnished with antiques and is clean and well-maintained.

Curtis can be described as a quiet, hard-working, behind-the-scenes gentleman, with a servant's heart. We honestly felt like we had arrived at an old friend's or relative's house for the weekend- you know- that friend who just happens to have a house on a cliff overlooking the ocean. Waves come crashing against the cliffs and boom through a big cave just below. You can't replicate that sound on a sound machine.

We stayed on the 2nd floor- in the Weston Room. Being on the 2nd floor- I like to think we got the best view of the ocean- hand's down. We had a super comfortable Cal-King size bed, with luxurious linens. There are 2 wing-back chairs that face the large windows so that you can sit back and get lost in the view of the ocean. We opened the windows at night to hear the waves, and had our gas fireplace on to keep us cozy. That was such a treat!

Breakfast was wonderful. Curtis is a great cook, and we stayed full for awhile. The first day we had omelets, hash browns, bacon, and coffee cake, while the next morning we got made-to-order crepes filled with blueberries and a lemon cream, with sausage on the side. Yum! We loved the company at breakfast. Remember this is a B&B. If you're not a chatty person, that's ok. You don't have to talk to anyone because you sit at your own table. BUT, if you want to have a fun breakfast experience, just ask the table next to you "Where are you from?" and let the conversation flow from there. We met some really nice people while we were there.

Things to know before you go:
1. The Inn has wi-fi for $5 so you can get email, etc, but there is no cell reception- except when you get to Mendocino or Fort Bragg. We ended up being quite thankful for the break from the all-consuming world of technology. Who knew?
2. Grab a map. We are usually quite dependent on our iPhones, but you can't bring up maps on your phone when there is no reception... Thankfully, the towns are super easy to navigate. We used the "101 Things to Do in Mendocino County" that was in our room as our guide, and got around just fine. We enjoyed Glass Beach, Point Cabrillo Light House, Point Arena, hiking across the headlands.
3. Gas stations are sparse, so top-off when you can. But don't do it in Mendocino- $5.50 a gallon! Fort Bragg is much cheaper for gas- only $3.69-ish/gallon.
4. Restaurants close early, or might be closed for the winter. So call ahead... Use your Yelp app, when you can, to find which restaurants to go to. Also, bring CASH as some don't take cards.
5. At night, take a moment to look up. You don't get stars like that in the city. Wow!!
6. The nearest Starbucks is in Fort Bragg, but we didn't need it because we thought Curtis' coffee was just as good, or better. :-)

Room Tip: The Weston is on the 2nd floor, which gives you the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisBit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
20.1 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
12.7 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Albion River Inn
Albion River Inn
#1 of 3 in Albion
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
15.2 km away
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
Inn at Schoolhouse Creek
#3 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
16.9 km away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House Inn

Property: Sandpiper House Inn
Address: 5520 South Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,806 - ₹ 20,806
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper House Inn offers five spacious guest suites, each individually decorated with antiques, comfortable chairs, down comforters, feather pillows and fine linens. Four have ocean views, while the fifth overlooks the meadow and hills of Greenwood Ridge. Your stay includes Gourmet Breakfast, served in our breakfast room overlooking the beautiful rocks of Greenwood Cove. Complimentary tea or coffee and hors d oeuvres are enjoyed in the evening beside the cozy living room fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sandpiper House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing