We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Comfortable stay; great setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandpiper House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandpiper House Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Elk B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Comfortable stay; great setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

The inn has an unbelievable setting above the cove. It is comfortable and clean with a decent bed and a gas fireplace. We had a romantic evening sitting on the edge of the bluff in the adirondack chairs watching the sun set. The breakfast portions were huge; with very good waffles on Sunday morning. The coffee was just what you needed to get going. The only not so great thing is that the inn is getting little tired and could use some TLC - there were some cracks and nicks in the wall in our room along with some carpet stains around the fireplace (I think the house is settling as the kitchen floor sloped towards the ocean!). Linens on the bed were nice and the bathroom was clean, well-lit and with decent towels.

Room Tip: We had the Headlands room on the lowest level with its own entrance - quiet and comfortable and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mobie0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    10
    5
    6
    10
See reviews for
2
63
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just got back from a 2-night stay at the Sandpiper House Inn- a wonderful Bed & Breakfast located just outside of Mendocino. First of all, I must apologize to Curtis, the Innkeeper, because I called ahead and gave him a really hard time about some of the recent poor reviews written on here. He said he was aware of them, and encouraged me to come and check it out for myself to form my own opinion. After thinking about it enough- we drove the 4-hours to get there, and I'm so glad we did!

This is a Bed & Breakfast in a quiet town- You must know that. Don't go if you're expecting a big-name hotel experience. The house is an old Craftsman-style cottage, with loads of Victorian charm, built in 1916. My husband and I are in our early 30's, and we loved how it felt to be stepping back in time- almost 100 years! The house is furnished with antiques and is clean and well-maintained.

Curtis can be described as a quiet, hard-working, behind-the-scenes gentleman, with a servant's heart. We honestly felt like we had arrived at an old friend's or relative's house for the weekend- you know- that friend who just happens to have a house on a cliff overlooking the ocean. Waves come crashing against the cliffs and boom through a big cave just below. You can't replicate that sound on a sound machine.

We stayed on the 2nd floor- in the Weston Room. Being on the 2nd floor- I like to think we got the best view of the ocean- hand's down. We had a super comfortable Cal-King size bed, with luxurious linens. There are 2 wing-back chairs that face the large windows so that you can sit back and get lost in the view of the ocean. We opened the windows at night to hear the waves, and had our gas fireplace on to keep us cozy. That was such a treat!

Breakfast was wonderful. Curtis is a great cook, and we stayed full for awhile. The first day we had omelets, hash browns, bacon, and coffee cake, while the next morning we got made-to-order crepes filled with blueberries and a lemon cream, with sausage on the side. Yum! We loved the company at breakfast. Remember this is a B&B. If you're not a chatty person, that's ok. You don't have to talk to anyone because you sit at your own table. BUT, if you want to have a fun breakfast experience, just ask the table next to you "Where are you from?" and let the conversation flow from there. We met some really nice people while we were there.

Things to know before you go:
1. The Inn has wi-fi for $5 so you can get email, etc, but there is no cell reception- except when you get to Mendocino or Fort Bragg. We ended up being quite thankful for the break from the all-consuming world of technology. Who knew?
2. Grab a map. We are usually quite dependent on our iPhones, but you can't bring up maps on your phone when there is no reception... Thankfully, the towns are super easy to navigate. We used the "101 Things to Do in Mendocino County" that was in our room as our guide, and got around just fine. We enjoyed Glass Beach, Point Cabrillo Light House, Point Arena, hiking across the headlands.
3. Gas stations are sparse, so top-off when you can. But don't do it in Mendocino- $5.50 a gallon! Fort Bragg is much cheaper for gas- only $3.69-ish/gallon.
4. Restaurants close early, or might be closed for the winter. So call ahead... Use your Yelp app, when you can, to find which restaurants to go to. Also, bring CASH as some don't take cards.
5. At night, take a moment to look up. You don't get stars like that in the city. Wow!!
6. The nearest Starbucks is in Fort Bragg, but we didn't need it because we thought Curtis' coffee was just as good, or better. :-)

Room Tip: The Weston is on the 2nd floor, which gives you the best ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MisBit24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I'm not sure why some people who review this property can be so negative. We spent 4 nights ending 2/10/12. The Innkeeper, Curtis, was a great guy, fabulous cook and very helpful with any request. The room, The Clifton, had a very comfortable bed and an outstanding ocean and garden view. It was warm and clean. We toured the other rooms and found them to be very nice as well. Only room we would probably not want to stay in is the pet friendly room as it doesn't have as nice a view. The internet connection worked well (always important to us) and we felt totally at home in this house. Keep up the good work Curtis.

Brent & Laura

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brent W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
518 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The coastline in Mendocino is spectacular and The Sandpiper House Inn has breathtaking views of huge rocks, caves, and surf. The Inn itself is in need of refurbishing and updating. Even though we visited with a discount, the room rate was priced too expensively for the quality of the furnishings and amenities. Although clean, it felt like we were staying in a grandparent’s house that was falling apart. We stayed in the downstairs room that opens onto a small patio with a path to the ocean overlook and the foundation was sliding. The bed was not comfortable, It seemed that a foam pad had been put on top the mattress. The innkeeper, Curtis works hard to keep everything clean and prepares a delectable breakfast served between 8-9 am ( a bit too early in our opinion) in a room with sweeping seascape scenes. The owners need to step up and put some money into renovations. From what we understand, this inn was the first to advertise discounted rates on Groupon and therefore booked very quickly. My suggestion is that before booking through Groupon, Travelzoo, Living Social, or other discount companies, call the place directly. You may be surprised that although the advertised rack rate is sky high, a direct rate is far less than what the discount companies are advertising. We loved Elk and the Mendocino coast, but we would not return to the Sandpiper House Inn. It is located directly on Hwy. 1 and you would not stop to investigate it unless you were staying as it does not have curb appeal. We give the ocean views and the sterling breakfast 5 stars.

Room Tip: There are higher quality inns with spectacular views and lower prices in the vicinity. Choose somew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I purchased a special for my husband for Christmas as the sandpiper looked romantic and relaxing, just what we needed to because to get away and when I called to talk to the inn keeper about making a room reservation was treated horribly and told to check their calendar. When i said i had purchased the special and we wanted to fibure out when those rooms were available (calendar shows them all unavailable) continued to be treated very rude. I can thankfully get my money back because it certainly doesn't make me want to stay here. Surely that is a sign of things to come. Never thought that would be a gift he would have to return....but we will exchange it for a place that welcomes their guests!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elk
20.1 km away
Mendocino Hotel and Garden Suites
1.1 km away
The Elk Cove Inn & Spa
12.7 km away
Heritage House Resort
Heritage House Resort
#2 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Little River Inn
Little River Inn
#1 of 2 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
16.0 km away
Cottages at Little River Cove
Cottages at Little River Cove
#4 of 7 in Little River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
16.9 km away
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
Cobbler's Walk Mendocino
#2 of 7 in Little River
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandpiper House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandpiper House Inn

Property: Sandpiper House Inn
Address: 5520 South Hwy 1, Elk, CA 95432
Region: United States > California > Mendocino County > Elk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Elk
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,400 - ₹ 17,445
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandpiper House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandpiper House Inn offers five spacious guest suites, each individually decorated with antiques, comfortable chairs, down comforters, feather pillows and fine linens. Four have ocean views, while the fifth overlooks the meadow and hills of Greenwood Ridge. Your stay includes Gourmet Breakfast, served in our breakfast room overlooking the beautiful rocks of Greenwood Cove. Complimentary tea or coffee and hors d oeuvres are enjoyed in the evening beside the cozy living room fireplace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sandpiper House Hotel Elk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing