We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Portal
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 El Portal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nope
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed in Blue Butterfly for four nights in Summer 2011, and would happily say that it's the best B&B we've ever stayed in. Liz and Ron are lovely hosts and in addition to being made to feel very welcome they also offered very useful advice on what to see and where to go.
Initially we were a little concerned to be outside the park but I'm happy to say that our fears proved to be completely unfounded - it's a very easy trip into the park and so close that it's no hassle at all.
We would happily recommend Blue Butterfly to anyone visiting Yosemite.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    504
    30
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
465
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
167 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights in the Meadow Lily room with a deck & view of the Merced River.
Room was very large & extremely comfortable.
Ron & Liz were very helpful & pleasant hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and they were of course really knowledgeable on Yosemite & the surrounding area.
We had a power cut the first morning of our stay, but this was rectified by Ron switching on the Inns generator , so we had water, electric & a very good cooked breakfast.
We will stay again if lucky enough to return to Yosemite

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sulc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

We stayed three nights with Ron and LIz at their B&B, in two different rooms - the Meadow Lilly and the Glasgow Rose. There are so many good points to staying here; it's only one mile from the entrance of Yosemite making it quick and easy to get into the park; the majority of the rooms are huge in size and offer a view onto the river below; the rooms are clean and comfortable and charmingly decorated; the breakfast provided is delicious; Ron and Liz provide excellent advice on the local area and walks to take in the park - and they should know having lived here for nearly forty years! It's not cheap here, but with such limited accommadtion so near to the park it is well worth while.

We would gladly come back here again!

Room Tip: Don't choose the Glasgow Rose unless you have earplugs - it's right next to the kitchen and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarah-Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yosemiteblue, Owner at Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Good news! The restaurant has changed out its old airconditioner for a new, quieter one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed at The Blue Butterfly whilst on honeymoon in Yosemite for a few days and will certainly be back and for longer next time. Liz & Ron were fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome- it was more than a B&B, it felt more like a home from home. Liz had some great recommendations for routes to take and things to see in Yosemite. She couldn't have been more helpful. The location is beautiful, backing onto the Merced river and very convenient for Yosemite yet away from the crowds, making it a relaxing place to stay with good food, amenities and company.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

A bit difficult to find (behind a large motel complex) but worth searching for. Superb location right on the Merced River, lulls you to sleep at night. Rooms beautifully furnished with antiques. Super breakfasts, something different every day. Liz & Ron make you feel right at home. Probably the best B & B we have ever stayed at, certainly the upper level rooms are the largest.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussietraveller2076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
8.0 km away
Cedar Lodge
Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,004 reviews
23.5 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
18.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#3 of 7 in Groveland
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Yosemite View Lodge
Yosemite View Lodge
#1 of 2 in El Portal
3,774 reviews
25.5 km away
Tenaya Lodge at Yosemite
5.3 km away
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacation Rentals
Yosemite's Scenic Wonders Vacati...
#4 of 24 in Yosemite National Park
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn

Property: Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn
Address: 11132 Highway 140, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Portal
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,900 - ₹ 22,252
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Inn is a new, family owned and operated Bed and Breakfast - the closest to Yosemite Valley. The inn is on the banks of the Merced River, in sight of the cliffs at the entry to Yosemite National Park, on the Highway 140 entrance. All rooms have en-suite facilities with hair dryers, and Wireless Internet access on guests' computers. A full,cooked breakfast is included. Owners have lived in the yosemite area for 40 years and are happy to help guests plan their days in the park and their itinerary. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Yosemite Blue Butterfly Hotel El Portal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing