We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-priced, Rooms In need of Upgrade, No complimentary WiFi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Yosemite View Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Our opinion of this property is that it is over-priced, and outdated. The room we accommodated simply appeared worn-out and dark-looking. The bed spreads were early 1990's and the shower curtain's color had faded due to wear and probably should be replaced. The overhead fan was dusty and again, out-dated. The bathroom was spacious and clean, I'm happy to say. The price we paid was in excess of $200 and not to have at least "complimentary" wifi in the lodge's lobby, is in our opinion, unreasonable and reeks of greed. We were disappointed with our stay here. I would recommend to management that they extend customer service and listen to customer's feedback. We did speak to Bob the manager and his attitude during our conversation, was that he needs to pay for wifi and so do the customers. I would assume that a $200 room would factor in "complimentary" wifi in a common area of the property. Apparently not.

Room Tip: Read commentary above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shannon684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (4,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,278 - 2,282 of 4,098 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2012

After a recent stay at the Yosemite View Lodge I have to say that the Lodge is way overpriced for the amenities you get, it is probably OK if you get an online deal. I had booked a Riverview 2 Bed Queen having been told by the hotel staff that these rooms were the quietest and husband and I checked in just after 3pm. Very efficient and pleasant check in and we walked across the parking lot to the Dogwood Building and up the stairs to our 2nd floor room. We had specifically asked for a quiet room and it was initially quiet. The room was clean and cool after coming in from walking around the park in record temps of high 80s for April so that was very pleasant, window A/C unit was actually running very quietly. Lofty, airy room had 2 queen beds; beds not too hard but only a couple of sagging pillows on each bed. There was a kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker, toaster, small sink and range top. The bathroom was clean and spacious but no curtain on the frosted bathroom window facing the outside walkway. Not many towels hanging up and they were pretty thin. The spa tub in the bathroom was monstrous and would have been such a huge waste of water to fill it, as well as waiting hours for it to actually fill. You could have quite easily fitted 4 people in the tub had there been seating on the inside, it was so big. There were 2 shower heads – one either end of the tub but they had long ago seen better days and it was very difficult to get the water to turn off. The Merced River outside was actually not as noisy as we had been led to believe and we were looking forward to having the balcony door open to listen to the water rushing by. While there was indeed a private balcony overlooking the river, it was exceedingly small with barely enough room for 2 metal chairs and a bistro table. The balcony looked straight over the large patios of the rooms below us which were all equipped with 4 chairs and a large table - perfect for dining al fresco by the river, if you don’t mind your neighbors being that close up. The patios on the ground floor only had a low wall dividing each of the patios and then mesh fencing on top of that so absolutely no privacy there plus anyone from above you could look right down on all the patios. We’d brought our own food and were looking forward to having a nice meal outside overlooking the rushing river but that wasn’t to be because of the activities/noise of the families below us. It is indeed the closest place to stay outside the park but beware it is not going to be that quiet with people making noise below you and folks walking up and down the concrete stairs and along the concrete walkways. There were also a lot of dogs barking. Overall the rooms were in better shape than the Cedar Lodge down the road. For $254.19 (inclusive of taxes) this was definitely not a memorable experience. Probably a great place for large families with all the pools.

Room Tip: Depends on whether you want a patio (1st floor) or a balcony (2nd or 3rd floors). Check in early to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaliforniaMuppet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We had a very pleasant two night stay here in this perfectly located hotel. We paid the extra and stayed in a mini suite along the river which included a nice balcony facing the river. The rooms were clean and well kept. This Hotel is situated minutes from the gates of Yosemite and has an ideal location. The restaurant however was very disappointing even though it has a nice patio along the river for outdoor dining. We had no complaint about the service which was very friendly. Our server was very informative about the area and prompt. But the food was anything but appetizing and even our server seemed embarrassed about the food.This restaurant is also very expensive so people are best advised to bring your own food and rent a kitchenette unit.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a river view with kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig_flies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Minutes from the Arches entrance to Yosemite Park, this lodge offers spacious and comfortable mini-suite accommodatations with kitchenette and river-view balconies or patios. On-site dining is limited, though the pizzeria is quite good (when open). The only breakfast is buffet-style in the restaurant (extra $$). So best to bring some food with you. Like all resorts in this area, supplies in the convenience shop are overpriced. Check-in/out is speedy, though the staff seem somewhat indifferent, perhaps because of the relatively large size of the property? However, the much larger Tenaya Lodge resort to the south is much friendlier. Nonetheless, a convenient, comfortable and quite reasonably priced (for Yosemite area) stopover on your way to/from the park.

Room Tip: Rooms in the riverside buildings are well-worth the extra $
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarilynDeming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Stayed 4 nights at Yosemite View Lodge during 3rd week of April 2012. Fabulous location- 5 minutes to Arches entrance to park and 10 minutes to Valley floor. Stayed in 3rd floor riverview room in Rosebud building- terrific views of river, peaceful private balcony. Very clean, comfortable, and spacious room with kitchenette. Even though restaurant facilities are very limited on site, we wouldn't stay anywhere else when visiting Yosemite National Park.

Room Tip: Rosebud building, riverview, top floor room provides privacy and peacefulness. Not for light sleepe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fr0mB0st0nMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near El Portal
8.2 km away
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
Yosemite Cedar Lodge
#2 of 2 in El Portal
2,213 reviews
23.5 km away
Evergreen Lodge at Yosemite
16.1 km away
Yosemite Valley Lodge
Yosemite Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
3,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 km away
Rush Creek Lodge
Rush Creek Lodge
#2 of 7 in Groveland
562 reviews
18.2 km away
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
The Majestic Yosemite Hotel
#1 of 3 in Yosemite National Park
2,693 reviews
39.6 km away
Best Western Plus Yosemite Gateway Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yosemite View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yosemite View Lodge

Address: 11136 Highway 140, PO Box D, El Portal, CA 95318
Region: United States > California > El Portal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in El Portal
Price Range: ₹ 7,434 - ₹ 16,086 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yosemite View Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yosemite View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yosemite View Hotel El Portal
Yosemite View Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing