We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value and excellent breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Norwalk, CA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good value and excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Most excellent value! The suite was spacious and the made to order breakfast was absolutely scrumptious! Refrigerator! Microwave! Second sink in the living room! TWO flat panel televisions! Balcony!

The staff is SO AWESOME! They are so friendly and bright and smiley that I felt welcome and warm inside. I visited the hotel before booking the room and was taken on the nicest tour from Nancy, who whos at the front desk. During my stay, I complained to the front desk about my ipod accidentally signing onto the wifi (which is $9.99 per night!) and got that refunded.

The manager's reception is a good idea but beware since they are free drinks they use very cheap alcohol and its bound to give you a headache, not a buzz.

A bad thing about my stay was that there was a large group of tiny tot cheerleaders who were raping all the amenities. I couldnt swim in the pool for fear of little girl urine. I had to wait while these girls ordered numerous shirley temples at the managers reception.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueblue02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
I am so glad you enjoyed your time at our location! Be assured your review will be shared with our staff. We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    227
    122
    80
    50
See reviews for
370
95
35
253
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I can't believe this hotel charges $10/day for each computer in a room to access the internet. Give me a break. Otherwise the hotel is pleasant enough if something brings you to this part of LA.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sebagolizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! Be assured your feedback will be shared with our Executive Team for further discussion on our internet fees. Also, I was pleased to read your comments as it sounds like you enjoyed our property. We do look forward to serving you on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Well, let me start off by saying that I don't normally stay at Embassy Suites. However, I was pleasantly surprised. The hotel had good service, very nice accommodations, and the breakfast buffet was a nice surprise. It was simple, but efficient. Individually made omelets, and a nice selection of accompaniments. I had to be in that neighborhood on that day, and it turned out to be a pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BayClubSupport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time at our property! We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
263 reviews
242 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

I have stayed here a few times!
The decor is beautiful....the staff are welcoming...the hotel rooms are great!
You feel welcome and like your business and patronage is important every single time.
I would stay here again for sure!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eulalia_3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property and choosing our location for your stays in Downey! I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us yet again, be assured your comments will be shared with our staff! We do look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
164 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The check in at this hotel was quick. The lobby and atrium are very pretty and were nicely decorated for the holidays. The room was a typical Embassy Suite layout, but the bathroom was quite small. It was clean and had recently been remodeled. The bed was comfortable. Although some reviews fault the neighborhood, we felt safe (maybe it would be different if the large high school in the next block was in session, but they were on break). There is ample free parking, a good perk for the LA area. The hotel was crowded with lots of families, but was not noisy; other travelers remarked that the bar is loud on the weekends.

There were several things we did not like about the hotel.
* First, the sheets and towels smelled strongly of bleach. (At least we knew they were disinfected, but the odor was unpleasant.)
* Second, the heating/ventilation system can only pump heat or A/C, not both. If the temperature outside is moderate, they turn it off altogether. We felt a bit chilly in the evening. Space heaters were available, but we would have preferred being able to control the room.
* Third, the breakfast/reception area is way too small for the size of the hotel, and the layout was awkward. The breakfast food was fine and the people nice, but by the time we got our omelet, our bacon and potatoes were cold. Lines were very long and there were not enough tables. I don't recall having this problem at other Embassy Suites. The reception had ample drinks but was short on munchies.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the back of the hotel, on a high floor. There are views to downtown LA and the st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 91914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michelle-escobedo, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our property! I was delighted to read you enojyed your stay. I am happy to inform you that our atrium area is scheduled to be remodeled later this year, making our Breakfast/Manager Reception area bigger and better! However, I'd like to assure you, your comments will be shared with our Executive Team for further review. We look forward to serving you again on a future visit soon!

Thank you so much for your time and patronage to Embassy Suites - Downey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Downey
0.8 km away
Days Inn Downey
Days Inn Downey
#2 of 8 in Downey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
25.2 km away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#4 of 118 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
26.0 km away
Anaheim Marriott Suites
Anaheim Marriott Suites
#5 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.9 km away
Hyatt Regency Orange County
Hyatt Regency Orange County
#3 of 19 in Garden Grove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,128 reviews
24.1 km away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
25.7 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Anaheim - South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
Address: 8425 Firestone Blvd, Downey, CA 90241-3843
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Downey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Downey
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,930 - ₹ 20,535
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi Million Dollar renovation completed in May 2015. New Lobby. New Atrium. New Restaurant. New Lounge. New Fitness & Business Center. A Brand New Embassy Suites in Downey! All-suite, full service Hotel, located in the heart of Los Angeles! With 4 freeways located within 2 miles of the Hotel, it's easy to get around town. We are only 14 miles from Anaheim, 14 miles from Downtown Los Angeles and 14 miles from Long Beach. Parking is complimentary. Your stay includes a full breakfast and nightly reception from 5:30-7:30pm daily All of our sleeping rooms consist of 2 room suites with your choice of one king or 2 queen beds. The parlor features a double size sofa bed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Downey Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites Downey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing