We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Desert Gem”
Living area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living area
Living area Living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Living area
Living area
Living area
Living area
Living area
Kitchenette
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Private patio
Private patio
Exterior
Grounds
Exterior
Grounds
Communal heated plunge pool
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Desert Hot Springs, Greater Palm Springs, California

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
MiniBarf
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Desert Gem”
Reviewed 4 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The Lautner is an amazing gem of a place. It's a pristine modern masterpiece that is totally cozy and has everything you need for a short getaway or an extended stay. My wife and I stayed there this past week during a hiking trip in Palm Springs/Joshua Tree. Our contact Tracy was beyond accommodating and very responsive to anything we needed. The location is amazing, the space itself is special, and everything inside is more than sufficient. We loved the bed, the sitting area, kitchen and starry view from our pillows. Only suggestion I'd make is a couple pairs of spa slippers since the floor in the mornings can be a little chilly. All in all a lovely place and we can't wait to return to The Lautner.

Value Location
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ttango1
San Diego, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We got our groove tonight at the Lautner!”
Reviewed 2 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

So I read the most recent review before I booked and I can't speak for other people but I do find it "SUSPECT" that one person was entirely negative about this place. For me, my experience was completely heavenly.
It's 2016 and to expedite things like Checking In, this is EXACTLY how it went for me and the Mrs.

1. The website is very clear and the info provided lets you know exactly what you are booking.
2. Check in instructions come as stated morning of arrival.
3. The Manager Tracy is professional, very hospitable and provides clear communication by phone, email and text. Remember, it's 2016 CHECK YOUR TRASH AND SPAM FILTERS, JUST IN CASE!!!
4. The Property and room exceeded all expectations. Yeah, it's not new at all but you have to search high and wide for ICONIC architecture like this. John Lautner was a true genius architect. Couple that with the MCM furnishings and well...we thought we were like James Bond in Diamonds Are Forever.
5. Because of all this splendor, it's best to follow instructions and abide by hotel policies to ensure that one has excellent experience. We got our Bond on there and did mixed cocktails while repeat listening to Monty Norman James Bond Theme. It was so-so cool.
6. What we expected was a funky hybrid vacay rental/boutique hotel. What we got was even better. A relaxing jetaway getaway that was augmented by the soft bed with clean and pristine linens and fluffy pillows. If you take the time to watch the outdoor light from the windows as the sun moves across the sky, you'll be provided a nature show that needs to be seen. UNREAL.
7. Really close to our venue to watch Earth Wind and Fire. Yeah, we got our groove on...OH YEAH!

Again, I can't speak for others and I see that many other reviews are like mine. We all make the best of our experiences better by being an active participant. All I can say is simply this...MY WIFE AND I ENJOYED THE HELL OUT OF OUR LAUTNER EXPERIENCE.

Rooms Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gemseye
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Desert experience...”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in February 2015

This is a fine place..nicely refurbished. You will have a good time here and you will wake up happy. In addition to all that Desert Hot Springs can offer it is near Palm Springs. You have several hot springs, both public and private in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ad0ree
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Relaxing Desert Retreat in an Architectural Jewel”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
3
people found this review helpful

We spent my birthday weekend in the lovely Hotel Lautner in the Redwood Room. As my husband commented, it was like a dream The mid-century modern ambience from the beautiful architecture of this little 4 room jewel of a hotel, to the authentic period furnishings transported us back in time. But the bath and kitchenette have been updated to 21st century comfort. We lazed about drinking champagne and listening to 1960's LPs in between short trips to the local hot springs for a soak and massage. Ahh! Total relaxation!

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leitstrah...
Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Oasis in the Desert”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I wonder what John Lautner would say these days, if he could see the neighbourhood around his amazing building. Hotel Lautner is a unique oasis in the desert. Forget about the rest of Desert Hot Springs and if you ever come here, just do as Tracy Beckmann and Ryan Trowbridge, the two designers who run the hotel, suggest:
Buy your dinner in one of the supermarkets in town and enjoy your stay in this impressive building with its matching, refurbished interior. Excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing