We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (222)
Filter reviews
222 results
Traveller rating
67
88
26
22
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
67
88
26
22
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lifeguard station boogie boards beach chairs beautiful park rooms are clean hear the waves no elevator watch the sunset the location is perfect stayed nights coffee maker san diego poseidon ocean patio jakes surf
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 222 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2015

My family has been coming here since the 70s, so it feels like home to me. From the patio you can walk right onto the sand. The motel offers complimentary BBQ's for grilling along with chairs, towels and umbrellas for the beach. Most recently, they changed out their carpet floors for wood, which makes it more conducive for a sandy environment. The only reason I gave it 4 of 5 stars is because the motel has been around for decades, and some people may be turned off from the little nuances of age.

Room Tip: Rooms run parallel to parking lots.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

We spent 3 nights here and loved it. Great location. Literally steps from the beach. Room was very spacious. We agree with the earlier reviewer who talked about the pillows. They are very flat and there are only 2 per bed. Loved that the room had a refrigerator and microwave. We ate breakfast in the room every morning and that saved big $$'s. The restaurants in Del Mar are very expensive. Overall I think this is a great place to stay if you want to be right on the beach and in walking distance to downtown area. We loved our stay!

Stayed: June 2015
Thank Ahunt224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2015

This place is on the water at the 17th Street lifeguard station, fronting one of the best swimming beaches in Del Mar or the North Coast for that matter. This property sports five-star views and location at a price that is very reasonable. No, it doesn't have the latest technology or stone finishes. It does have a great patio and balcony with deck chairs to take in the morning sea breeze and the gorgeous sunsets. To give you an idea of how prime the real estate is, the house next door to the hotel is for sale for 23 million dollars, and guess what - we were looking at the same ocean, and walking on the same beach, and swimming in the same waves for $289 per night. That means for a typical weekend, a traveler will save $22,999,400. Stay for a week and you can save enough money to buy a Lear Jet. This place has a small town, family-run feel about it. Management was responsive and fair. The room accommodations are basic and a bit dated, but functional. Parking is available to guests and we had no problem getting a space. At the beach in the summer parking is like a sparkling unicorn with a mouth full of diamonds, so that alone is a major plus. Things you may want to know. There IS Wi-Fi. There IS NOT a pool (see comments on availability of ocean, above). There are two pretty solid beachfront restaurants next door, and the full compliment of yuppie food, lounges, stores, and coffee places about a quarter mile away on Camino Del Mar. We used this place for a college reunion and have already agreed we will all stay here again on our next visit.

Room Tip: Only a couple of rooms front the ocean. Most rooms run down the side of the property, with a limited angled view of the water.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank VegasJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2015

This is a reasonably spacious motel, rooms not luxury but adequate for a few nights. Sea views are a bit of a myth as motel runs at a right angle to beach so very few can actually see sand but there are no private balconies anyway. The private guest patios are superb . There is not much in Del Mar for people who like to go to a bar before dinner. It's mainly a place for fancy food and quiet nights. Free parking a big plus as the area gets busy due to the restaurants next door. Noise in car park adjacent starts about 6.30 am , or it did on the 2 mornings we were there. Minimum 10 minute walk for morning coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bream-man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2015

This is a very nice location and I do recommend it for the location and price of $155. BUT, the water pressure is very low in two story building that needs new plumbing. Anytime someone flushes the toilet or turns on another shower the water flow is cut to half (already very low) and you have to immediately step aside so not get scalded by hot water. It happened to me first time and I found out quick you hear something or all of a sudden big drop in water flow, you MUST step to side quickly. Floors had a little sand from previous guest so they do not seep and mop every time guests leave. The bathroom shower (no tubs) has small 1/2 inch tiles in the 4x4 cubicle. Small sink counter with basic basin, maybe 4 feet wide.

NEW BEDS however, pillows were flat as a pancake and hard. TV had no real channels and hard to get to change or find a channel.

Will I go back? Yes but I will be prepared for the facility (camping almost) on the beach.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank bpricetb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelsManagementTeam, General Manager at Del Mar Motel on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most recent experience you had with. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our great beach front location.

In regards to your feedback regarding our water pressure, this is on our bucket list for the fall to install regulators in all of the showers. As far as our new flooring, our housekeeping staff are to be sweeping and mopping daily. We have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team and they have since stepped up their game.

Again, we truly appreciate your review and feedback. We hope to see you on your next visit to Del Mar.

Mikki Ellis
General Manager
Del Mar Motel on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews