We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would pick another location besides Dana Point”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I give this motel an average rating only because I didn't like the Dana Point location. The motel itself was awesome, but with the train whistle (yes, it's a bit annoying, not "quaint" like some have said) and PCH running right in front of the motel, I would've picked a motel elsewhere. The front desk staff was a 5. The beds, shower, TV, hot tub and cleanliness were all 5. If you don't mind the location, chose this motel. The location gets a zero from me.

Room Tip: Maybe the back side of the motel would be better for the noise in front. But then you wouldn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanderfoolish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2012

Thank you for the high scoring on our rooms and customer service. The majority of our guests don't mind the train and some find it enjoyable, but we do understand that the whistle may not be that way for everyone. A crosswalk to the south of our hotel is the reason for the train whistle when traveling in that direction, fortunately we do not hear the small Amtrak when going north. We have been working very hard with the city and a safety device has recently been constructed. It is now in the process of creating a "silent zone" so the train may pass without tooting it's horn. Hopefully if you decide to return to our hotel in the future, the train will not affect your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 634 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2011

Just had a nice trip to Dana Point with my Mother. We usually stay at The Blue Lantern Inn which has been a favorite of ours for many years. This time we stayed at Dana Point Inn by the Sea for a change. We were not disappointed at all. Our room was beautiful ( #214 ) we had a beautiful view of the crashing waves and and lots of bird activity.The room has been recently redecorated and has a really comfy bed and a gorgeous shower with 11 spraying heads in it. ( Crazy, but true!)
The train tracks are just across the street, but somehow the train noise did not bother us at all, it just added to the fun of it
The location of the hotel is ideal for a beach walk, or short drive to San Clemente for some great restaurants and the pier. We dinned at Olemendis Mexican Restaurant just north of the hotel and the following day took in Del Mar Street in San Clemente, for shopping, strolling and a nice casual lunch.
The only down side I could find was the internet connection was not good from our room and the continental breakfast was nothing special, however these things can easily be overlooked as the room itself was perfect!

Room Tip: Ask for a newly redecorated one. oceanfront, with balconey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libby V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternDanaPoint, Manager at Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2011

Libby V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our latest addition to guest rooms which was completed not long before your stay. The beds we use throughout our hotel are Sealy Memory Foam Pillow Top mattresses and have been praised for their comfort, so we are happy to hear that you slept comfortably and enjoyed our small Coastliner trains that pass during the day.

The shower is what we call our "Ultimate Shower Experience." As you step in, gorgeous stone/ tile treatments surround you as our 10 adjustable body spray begin to sooth and the gentle overhead rain washes away the stress that was left from the day.

Wired internet was available in your room during your time of stay and we are currently installing wireless access points to provide better coverage throughout the hotel. A hot breakfast will also take the place of the continental the next time you are in town to enjoy our hotel. Thank you again for being a valued guest and we appreciate your candid comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My son and his wife live in the area and we were in town to take care of some family business, last minute. I called this hotel receiving excellent service from the front desk quickly making arrangements for our one night stay.

The exterior areas are beautiful and the rooms have recently been updated with granite in the kitchenette area as well as the bath. More importantly, the beds have the pillow top mattress which makes for a very good nights sleep. Even though the hotel is on the opposite side of the coast highway I still heard the waves crashing, which is a plus for me. The train tracks are also across the street but being from a small northern California town I loved hearing the trains pass by. I must note that they do NOT run all night so for those that don't find that a positive I'd give this hotel a try.

We will return, and hopefully next time will be for pleasure.

Room Tip: Double queen on the 2nd floor over the office provided a nice partial ocean view and was very comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilagaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The Dana Point Inn By the Sea is a charming, family run hotel with so many pluses! The rooms are lovely and large, the staff are courteous and friendly, the free breakfast offers many choices and is convenient, the beach view is lovely and access is just a short walk away. The hotel wraps around a beautiful little courtyard garden complete with a fountain, and even the check in office and breakfast room are adorned with plants - someone must have a green thumb! This is my second stay at this quaint inn, and it won't be my last! Other than occasional trains passing by across the PCH, this hotel is very peaceful and quiet. The Inn by the Sea is a gem!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaNative757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in the middle of August and found this a very pleasant hotel. We had a room, with balcony, facing the beach, well worth the extra. The beach is a short walk along the pacific coast highway and over a bridge. The beach is pleasant and at the weekends and holiday periods there are lots of people using the available BBQs.

There are trains running between the highway and the beach, we didn’t find them a problem. There are fewer at night when I think the local service shuts down, we didn’t have any problem sleeping – ear plugs weren’t necessary.

The staff were pleasant and helpful. Steven recommended the Chart House restaurant and booked us a table for each of the 2 nights of our stay. Great views, good food. Unfortunately the hotel breakfast was a bit of a let down, the breakfast room is small and the choice of food limited, we took our choices back to our room and ate on the balcony which was very pleasant.

We would definitely stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jandrKentUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dana Point
1.9 km away
Best Western Plus Marina Shores Hotel
1.2 km away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Doheny Beach - Dana Point
0 km away
The Beachfront Inn & Suites at Dana Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Dana Point Marina Inn
Dana Point Marina Inn
#8 of 12 in Dana Point
351 reviews
12.7 km away
Capri Laguna On The Beach
Capri Laguna On The Beach
#5 of 23 in Laguna Beach
507 reviews
5 km away
The Ritz-Carlton, Laguna Niguel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea

Address: 34744 Pacific Coast Hwy, Dana Point, CA 92624-1302
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Dana Point
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dana Point
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dana Point
#4 Business Hotel in Dana Point
Price Range: ₹ 8,296 - ₹ 15,896 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Dana Point Inn-By-The-Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dana Point Inn By The Sea Hotel Dana Point
Dana Point Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing