We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing
Ranked #3 of 21 Tours in Dana Point
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Whale Watching Adventures, Charters , Fishing and more from Dana Point
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We happened to find this trip for half off and booked it. We had our 5 kids with us. Ages 11-1. We were waiting for the boat to arrive so we could board. When it arrived it was packed with people, and I thought oh this is going to be a long 2 hours crammed in, and really no where to sit down. But our trip was not very full. We were able to get a table to sit at and we were not croweded at all. They also had a little snack bar, where you could order hamburgers and other snacks. We were able to see 8 different whales and some dolphins. It was great! Our kids enjoyed it and we will defiantly look into going again. One of my favorite things we did on this trip.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank travelingm0m0f5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We deeply appreciate your very positive review of our business. We are very pleased that you got to enjoy many favorite aspects of what we have to offer. It is always most rewarding to hear directly from our customers and especially those willing to provide their positive perspective with the online world and beyond. Please revisit us soon and often.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,958)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fish"
in 256 reviews
"bass"
in 57 reviews
"whale watching"
in 262 reviews
"half price"
in 57 reviews
"the fury"
in 23 reviews
"captain and crew"
in 68 reviews
"the galley"
in 25 reviews
"sea lions"
in 116 reviews
"great trip"
in 92 reviews
"tuna"
in 26 reviews
"see whales"
in 78 reviews
"grey whales"
in 61 reviews
"weather was perfect"
in 21 reviews
"hour trip"
in 24 reviews
"two hours"
in 28 reviews
"common dolphins"
in 45 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 36 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 1,959 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Brought our two Great Granddaughters on this trip. One, she's five, really enjoyed seeing the dolphins and the other one, she's almost four, really liked going on the boat. My husband and I usually don't see any whales when we go on a whale watching cruise but we did today. I would go out every day if I could. We will go again some time.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank bcsink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

The first thing we do each morning as a service team is check out and review our reviews. What a way for us to start the day....that is by reading what you wrote about what we offer the public and the manner in which we serve....our greatest asset....our clientele. Please revisit us time and time again and feel free to introduce yourself so that we may thank you in person.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I were staying in San Clemente for a few days and wanted to do some fun things nearby without spending too much money. I was looking for something to do on or near the water and came across an ad for Whale Watching and it was half price for Tuesdays... perfect! I’ve been whale watching before (with a different company) and the whale was so far away it was disappointing (although we did see hundreds of dolphins, which was awesome). Because of this my expectations were low on seeing a whale, but thought a 2 hour cruise would be fun, nonetheless. Well, this trip did not disappoint... we saw 2 grey whales about 5 or 6 times, and even saw one tail! All the staff is friendly and I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to spend a few hours on the water... and they will give you a ticket for a free trip if you don’t see any mammals... which is a bonus!

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Elyse A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your rating of our business! Our team works hard to deliver a superior experience in a friendly and courteous manner. Your rating validates our mission, and we look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are returning customers and wanted to experience the twilight tour. While the boat crew was great, and we met wonderful people from near and far, I think we prefer daytime fishing during the summer/fall. That's our preference but either way you will not be disappointed (if you remember fishing does not always mean catching). Great fun for young and old.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank vmutley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

There is no higher accolade than praise from a customer. Thank you for your rating. We will work to continue living up to that praise.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son desperately wanted to go fishing during our recent trip to L.A. Our 1/2 day trip on Reel Fun was perfect. I was able to rent gear, and we could even order lunch on the boat. The captain and crew worked hard to try and make sure everyone caught a fish. My son caught a calico bass which made his trip to CA a success.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank mbluestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna K, Manager at Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We are honored by the review you posted about your experience with us. While we are constantly told face to face how much customers enjoy our service, it takes a very special person to proclaim to the online world that they should check us out. You are one of those individuals and we are proud that you do business with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing also viewed

 
Dana Point, Orange County
Dana Point, Orange County
 

Been to Dana Wharf Whale Watching & Sportfishing? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing