We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$ 386
View deal
Expedia.com
US$ 386
View deal
Official Site
US$ 339
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$ 386
Priceline
FindHotel
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveller rating
246
89
18
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
246
89
18
4
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 359 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

When I head to LA/Culver City there is only one place we stay. Yup, The Culver Hotel. If you're into unique hotels with a friendly vibe, this is your place. David, the manager, is always so welcoming and helpful. All my needs are always met, so you can be sure I will continue being a return customer.

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noels780
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline Appel, Sales at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Yeah...we are so happy that we have gained a loyal guest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2020

We stayed at The Culver Hotel while visiting our son and his family in Culver City. When traveling to L.A previously Culver City had not been on our radar, but I must admit we really enjoyed the area and all the wonderful things it offers. Lots of restaurants, a small town vibe and a welcoming pedestrian-friendly town plaza surrounding the hotel. It feels very central in a city which has always felt fragmented to me. Venice, Santa Monica and Downtown are a quick Uber ride away and the train line is also a nice novelty for L.A

The hotel itself is bursting with personality and history, our junior suite room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The furniture is eclectic ( wooden armoires, velvet sofa, book shelf filled with vintage reads) but the amenities are updated. Crisp white sheets, comfy beds and a light filled bathroom. The housekeepers are lovely but I wish our towels weren't changed every day. We hung them up but they were none the less updated. The hotel does offer a large complimentary bottle of purified water. Purified on property and in reusable, glass water bottles. Fabulous and forward thinking! Other pockets of delight were the small art gallery on the 2nd floor and the white and bright Parisian loft rooms which we were told are used for all types of events.

The bustling grand lobby with cocktails and daily live music was a wonderful experience. The menu was solid but lacks a point of view. A historic property of this calibre should evoke a sense of nostalgia in their dishes too, with a contemporary twist of course. Hopefully on our next visit this will be amended! We'll be back to see.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MrJanuary8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culverhotel, Director of Sales at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2020

Dear. MrJanuary8,

Thank you for painting this beautiful picture of what we offer. We are working on creating new menus and look forward to your next visit and your feedback.

Until next time,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2020

We stayed for 3 nights over a chilly January weekend, and enjoyed it very much. Our room was big, with a sofa and coffee table, king bed and desk. There were a few vintage furniture pieces that added charm, but the bed and bath were excellent. We were worried about noise since were were right above the patio area, but it was fine. The breakfast is continental, but includes excellent Greek yogurt and quiche, so you can def assemble a hearty meal. Nice fire going in lounge area! Staff was very friendly.

Great movie theatre across the plaza, and downtown Culver is full of nice shops and restaurants. Easy walk to the metro. Walking through the lovely surrounding bungalow neighborhood was very relaxing.

Room tip: One side is on the traffic side, one is over the patio/plaza. Could be noisy, but we ran the AC on low, so we didn't have a problem.
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank visitor451
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culverhotel, Director of Sales at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2020

Thank you for taken the time to write a review. We are happy that you had a lovely stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a true " Culver " experience.

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2020 via mobile

The Culver City Hotel is famous. It is located in the heart of Culver City and it's been there for over fifty years. It is said that the munchkins for The Wizard of Oz stayed there while filming and I have every reason to believe this is true.

Back then and through the 70s the rooms were very small and some even had a bathroom down the hall. During the 60s the Culver Hotel declined and turned into a transient Hotel where drugs are easy to find and the place was filthy. During the 80s they tried to fix up the place and had some success.

It is now 2020 and they have remodeled all the rooms and have a restaurant on the bottom floor along with a bar. The bar is cute and if you want to have a drink enjoy.

Other than having a drink at the bar don't bother going there. The rooms are unpleasant, they are small, and for what you get it is expensive. As of the restaurant downstairs it is simply satisfactory. There is just nothing special about the Culver Hotel except its history and I find that sad. It is a beautiful building on the outside so feel free to stop by have a drink and move on.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
101  Thank elizabethlascheid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culverhotel, Director of Sales at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2020

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We strive for excellency in every thing we do, however sometime we do fail. You are correct we are an older building almost 100 years old and have remodeled all our guest rooms in the past 2 years. All our guest rooms have a bathroom inside the room, are unique and chic.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Culver Hotel.

Sincerely,
Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2020

Culver Hotel is a step back in time in the best way. The lobby restaurant is charming, and if the speakeasy is open upstairs, definitely check that out. Also, I was there for New Years Eve, which also happens to be my wife's birthday eve ... and they couldn't 'have been more responsive and helpful to give us a special experience. Highly recommended!

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank 966glenng
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
culverhotel, Director of Sales at The Culver Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2020

We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to celebrate your wife's Birthday at The Culver's Roaring 20s NYE Party!

Happy 2020,

Caroline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews