We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Club Mahindra Kandaghat - Terrible experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Club Mahindra Kandaghat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Club Mahindra Kandaghat
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandaghat
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Club Mahindra Kandaghat - Terrible experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

This was the first Club Mahindra property that we visited. The experience was absolutely horrible. The property is in serious need of maintenance, the plaster on the walls is peeling off and the rooms are cold, cramped and dingy.
The service is indifferent, unintellegent and exasperating. We got the first taste of their service when the person carrying our luggage randomly left it out of the room and vanished. At the restaurant the table clothes were dirty and the waiters were absolutely clueless about what was happening and running around like headless chicken without any real purpose. They tried to set up a buffet which was a complete disaster as they kept on running out of food.
Also the basic facilities were not available.
- There was no travel desk at the hotel
- There was no activity center so there was nothing to do.

We had originally booked for 4 nights but shifted after one night as we could not tolerate it any longer. When we tried to settle our bill, we were told that there was a service tax of 5% on Amex card. I mean this is absolutely outrageous.

We were told that Club Mahindra had recently acquired the property hence the standards were low. I somehow don't beleive it. If they were so bothered about standards why did they open it up in the first place?

It is worse than any 2 Star property and feel absolutely cheated.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Chinmaydhoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    155
    53
    8
    14
See reviews for
326
85
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

At first glance, the hotel is very impressive, especially at night, with all the lights around it. We saw it from far as we were approaching the hotel from Chandigarh, and were awed at the sight, a magnificent structure amidst the hills. The resort grounds are massive and very well maintained, and adventure lovers are sure to get a great workout just by taking a walk around the resort. They have several blocks of rooms and the only drawback is that, to get to some of the blocks, you need to get by several flights of stairs. In case you have elderly persons with you, make sure you choose a room in the main building(block C), which is more easily accessible. The resort has a game room with some games like TT, carrom, chess and they even have a play station, but otherwise recreational activities at the resort are minimal. No fitness center or swimming pool. The rooms are excellent, we had a room with a balcony overlooking the lawns and the mountains, amazing view and you can enjoy your morning cuppa in the balcony as they have a mini kitchenette in the room. Food : ok, but the menu needs to be upgraded a bit as the options are too limited, and even breakfast is a la carte and not a buffet as in most other resorts. But in old world charm and simple breathtaking views, the resort scores a hit! We had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SunNSand27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

I am heading an event management company. I had organized an offsite at The Destination,kandaghat from 29th to 2nd Oct 2012. My clients were pretty apprehensive when they read the reviews about the resort. But once we reached there they found the place is just filled with beauty and peace.I am surprised why the people have to comment ,the rooms were too spacious with the totally maintained hygenine. Lawns were well maintained and the dinners for our client was organized at the 3 different venues. Manju Seth, who is been looking after the resort took personal care in each event organized for my clients. My clients rated the place and the hospitality to be the best in the last 3 years.
I am pretty happy that I selected The Destination and would strongly recommend to all who love nature and admire its beauty.

Room Tip: For the business purpose, super deluxe rooms are best. for famililies and friends they have differen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shikhagaur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2012

The place in extremely well maintained and the staff is very cordial, helping and ever happy. The CEO Ms Manju Seth is fully involved in day to day operations and customer interaction so as to ask their feedback. Food variety and taste was excellent. Lawns are very plush and many recreation facilities are also available in house. We climbed the hill on which a white Mata Temple is located. All in all it shall remain a very memorable trip for me and my friends. Thanks

Room Tip: Rooms are huge in size and the rooms from where you can view the lawn at back and mountains are good...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank Jassy5in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kurukshetra
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We went to this resort for taking rest away from the routine life.
The only plus point is it's location and quietness.
On the first night I ordered a margarita (unfortunately) and paid Rs.300+Taxes which was not worth Rs.3/-. Totally Hopeless. You should take out those things from the menu, which you can not make.
The bedsheet had a hole in it.
The quilt was too heavy for the season. Even with AC on full, we were very uncomfortable and could not sleep properly. Next day we asked for some light blanket and were told by the reception girls that it is not available. So next night we somehow managed.
While going to backyard lawn of our room, we were told by staff that this area is private and is out of bounds for customers. If it is so, some kind of display should have been there.
There is no Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms in the Main Block are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pardeep_29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kandaghat
20.1 km away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
5.1 km away
Aamod
Aamod
#1 of 3 in Shoghi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
20.0 km away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 km away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
8.3 km away
Woodsmoke Resort and Spa
21.8 km away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#15 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Kandaghat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Kandaghat

Property: Club Mahindra Kandaghat
Address: Kalka-Shimla Highway | District Solan, Kandaghat 173215, India (Formerly The Destination)
Region: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kandaghat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kandaghat
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,972 - ₹ 10,534
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Mahindra Kandaghat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Mahindra Kandaghat, is a home away from home,far away from the maddening crowds. If you want to relax and chill and rediscover your relationship, The Club Mahindra Kandaghat Resort is the place to visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, ClearTrip and Expedia so you can book your Club Mahindra Kandaghat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Mahindra Kandaghat Himachal Pradesh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing