We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2012

You get what you pay for. If you just want a place to sleep, for the lowest price on Coronado, this is the place. We stayed three nights. We kept telling ourselves that the money we saved was well spent at restaurants in San Diego and Old Town.

The motel is a about 10 blocks to the beautiful beach through nice neighborhoods and/or past the Del Coronado.

It is three blocks to a touristy shopping area and the ferry to San Diego, which is a great ride and puts you within easy walking distance of the Gaslamp Quarter and the Horton Plaza mall, not to mention the carrier Midway Museum. We took the trolley to Old Town, which is a favorite. Don't miss the Mormon Battalion museum presentation.

I will pay a little more next time and stay somewhere with more comfortable beds, enough room to turn around in the bathroom without hitting an elbow on the wall or door, and perhaps a place with chairs and a table. I would rate is below average, but a bargain by Coronado standards though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 106 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2011

The room was filthy dirty and gross! We stayed for about 10 minutes, and had to clean the bathroom before we could use it! We were charged $30 and laughed about it later, saying it was the first time we had to pay someone to clean their bathroom!
We couldn't get out fast enough! REALLY AWFUL!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Marlasherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
El Rancho Motel is under a new management and ownership, we have worked very hard to repair and update all the rooms. Our staff is completely new. We would love to compensate your terrible experience. Please contact us mentioning this review, 6195376633, Irene.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Dried, caked-in dirt in corners. Food (?) bits on floor. Used wrappers behind toilet. Unpatched holes in the wall. Cobwebs hanging over TV. Worn, dirty carpet under beds with lumps of something black near the wall. No wall molding anywhere- uneven edges of wall did not meet floor. Bathroom door not hung right- the bottom scraped and got wedged on the floor. The whole room needed a good vacuuming. Thin blanket on bed that was not warm at all-it was 40 degrees out! The AC/heating unit was UNDER the bathroom sink- impossible to reach! The room creeped me out with its dirtiness. However, excellent location, near shops, restaurants, and a 10 min walk to beach.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dseetstarlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

We are so sorry to read your review. We are under a new management and ownership since August 2014, we have changed and updated every detail in the rooms. Our staff is all new, trained and qualified. We hope you can give this amazing location an opportunity to change your experience. Please feel free to call me directly to compensate in any way. 619 2069514 Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2010

the place is very dirty - floor, tables were full of dust and the whole place was smelly. The shower was full of hairs - walls in bathroom were full of crusty stains. The toilet was easily clogged - a plunger was placed next to the toilet, with stains proving that it had been used before.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Location
2  Thank seth21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

Hello, and thank you so much for your review. El Rancho Motel is currently under a new management and ownership. We have repaired and updated every room. Our staff is trained and qualified. We hope you can call us and mention this review so that we can compensate.
Irene 619 5376633

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We booked 4 nights here for our summer vacation at the last minute and needed a budget friendly place to stay. We thought this was the place. Boy were we wrong! The rooms are small, which is no biggie for us since you just sleep there, so we moved the double beds apart to make room for an air mattress for my son to sleep on. There was a meals worth of food under the beds, as if it had not been touched by a vacuum in months. The desk chair in the room had crumbs all over it. Dust everywhere, bathroom and walls! And we are not clean freaks at home by any means. The hotel is right on the main drag coming into Coronado and every car entering the island has to pass right next to the hotel, VERY LOUD! Barely could sleep. Lupe, the owner was sweet, which was some consolation. We only stayed 1 of the 4 nights, thankfully.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ewv2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irene A, General Manager at El Rancho Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2014

We are so sorry to read your review. We are under a new management and ownership since August 2014, we have changed and updated every detail in the rooms. Our staff is all new, trained and qualified. We hope you can give this amazing location an opportunity to change your experience. Please feel free to call me directly to compensate in any way. 619 2069514 Irene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.2 km away
Coronado Inn
Coronado Inn
#14 of 17 in Coronado
143 reviews
0.3 km away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
207 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
607 reviews
1.4 km away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
714 reviews
1.3 km away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 370 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-1498
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: ₹ 7,179 - ₹ 11,836 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — El Rancho Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Rancho Motel Coronado is conveniently located in the heart of beautiful Coronado Island, and offers 10 charming rooms full of amenities and warm hospitality that will make your stay a memorable one. Surrounded by attractions such as the Ferry Landing Marketplace, the historic Hotel Del Coronado, and the world famous Coronado Beaches, we know you will truly have a wonderful stay at El Rancho Motel. San Diego is also close by, just a drive on the majestic Coronado Bay Bridge. Explore the Gaslamp Quarter, Old Town, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World and so much more. Access to the San Diego Airport is also close and convenient. Coronado is a peaceful island community and resort destination, with a world class golf course, a marina, parks and beaches. The weather is perhaps the best in the world, making it the perfect destination for families and seasoned travelers. With plenty of dining and shopping options within walking distance, we know your stay will be a pleasurable experience. We look forward to making your stay at El Rancho Motel as relaxing and comfortable as possible. Welcome to Coronado Island! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing