We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like a home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Capri by the Sea
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I found the Villa Capri about 10 years ago and have made a yearly visit ever since. Spotlessly clean rooms, friendly environment, superb location right across the street from the ocean and very convenient and inexpensive public transportation make this my idea of a perfect getaway spot. As a single traveler, safety is a concern to me, so I really appreciate the personal and caring atmosphere. John, the innkeeper, makes you feel very welcome and has become a friend over the years. He always has good suggestions for tours, restaurants and directions for anywhere you want to go. Thank you for always making it a great holiday!
Lois A., Alberta, Canada

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lois A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2011

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Capri for a few days. We had the most wonderful experience, the room we stayed in was immaculate and the service was excellent ! We had nothing we could have asked for, and the Inn Keeper, John Miller was very attentive to whatever our needs were, if we needed up dated information on anything around San Diego, we had to go no further than John.

Room Tip: Ask John the manager, he will suggest whats best for your specific needs !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Life is grand for the infinite variety of choices it makes available. Choosing a hotel is always a challenge when I travel to anywhere other than the San Diego area. My hotel choice for those trips is easy. Located in Coronado, the Villa Capri by the Sea is an intimate set of rooms run skilfully by long-time innkeeper John Miller. Room choices include traditional one bed affairs and suites with separate bedrooms, kitchens and a living room. It's an easy walk to the beach, shopping, and numerous outstanding restaurants. Stay at the Villa Capri if you're looking for an intimate hotel with easy access to the delights of Coronado and a host who's genuinely interested in the quality of your stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
2  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

I came to Coronado, from Texas, sixteen years ago to visit my son and daughter. My travel agent found this "gem" for me. From that day forward, Carl and I became frequent guests at the Villa Capri. We moved to San Diego seven years ago. When our family comes, they stay with John Miller at the Villa Capri. We've been to many cities and stayed at 5-star hotels. We've loved those at well. The personal service and the friendships we've established have only added to the richness of our lives. There is nothing that John Miller will not do for his guests. Some consider this to be intrusive and I consider it a plus. This hotel is always clean. It's proximity is perfect in every regard. I am also a "Texas Granny" who now resides in California. Our fourteen year old grandson learned to climb the stairs at the Villa Capri. All of our granchildren have been respectful of the rules as this is a small hotel and they respect the privacy of the other guests. Last weekend our family booked four rooms and a couple from Amarillo, Texas, friends of ours, were also there. They stay at the Villa Capri at least twice a year. We never had to worry about our belongings or our safety and that is beause John Miller is always there and does know every person that enters the property. Unlike many people, I don't depend on a free breakfast at a hotel. I'm on vacation and want to venture out and see all of my choices. John has become a very personal friend of ours and we consider him to be a part of our family. I will always recommend the Villa Capri.

Room Tip: Ask to see the rooms. John Miller will be honest in helping you make the correct choice for your nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl and Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Where do I start? When I am on vacation I want to relax and have a good time. Good luck with that at the Villa Capri! Right from the start I was met by John, the innkeeper, when I parked my vehicle. He met me with a disgusted "how long to you plan on parking that there" look. If I had not been there with my family and did not care about making a scene I would have left at that moment. This is an older outdated hotel on a very noisey street with a lot of traffic. I was disappointed when I saw the 70's ish room considering what I was paying for it, John is friendly and helpful but in a "stalker" kind of way. This reminded me of having to answer to your parents about your comings and goings. This made my whole family uncomfortable.

The continental breakfast had to of been a joke. It was a card table John took from his room and set outside his door. (he lives downstairs in the hotel) It was prepackaged mini donuts and a pump coffee container. This was alittle disturbing.

John made my family so uncomfortable that we left early and found another hotel.


I would only recommend this hotel to people I don't like!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TaskMaster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.2 km away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#7 of 17 in Coronado
635 reviews
0.1 km away
El Cordova Hotel
El Cordova Hotel
#8 of 17 in Coronado
735 reviews
0.5 km away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
1.3 km away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
210 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Capri by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Capri by the Sea

Address: 1417 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2948
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#11 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: ₹ 11,860 - ₹ 19,313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Capri by the Sea 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Capri by the Sea perfectly located on the quintessential Island of Coronado on Orange Avenue the Downtown District, offering a wide array of one of a kind shops, unique theatres, and some of San Diego's best restaurants. So whether you are here for a quiet laid back simplicity break or an action packed adventure the Villa Capri by the Sea is the perfect location and choice. The Villa Capri deliver's an intimate and charming atmosphere playing homage to the 1950's. You will experience service second to none, unparalleled cleanliness, and of course your unspoken expectations. An idyllic location that will allow you to explore the entirety of the Island whether on foot, bike, or even a skateboard as our Island is car optional. You are literally moments away from the Marina, miles of pristine beaches, Hotel Del Coronado, and the ferry taxi that will get you quickly to downtown San Diego, all this with near perfect weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Capri by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Capri By The Sea Hotel Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing