We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is it worth it?”
Review of Hotel del Coronado

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel del Coronado
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Is it worth it?”
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights for a business trip. Needed another room for a client. Repeated asked the front desk for another room, and was told repeatedly that the hotel was full, "all booked." Went on line, and guess what? Still has availability. Booked it myself. But this exemplified the hotel's service. It is the only decent hotel if you want to be in Coronado, so when the hotel is busy, forget customer service. Check-in was horrendous during busy time, and reserved room was not ready even well after 4PM.

The hotel is old. The floor will creak at night (can hear people above and outside the hall). Not to mention the jets from nearby naval base practicing during the day and early afternoon. Furnitures in the rooms need updating. The fitness center is small. 1 out of 5 treadmill is broken, and 1/3 of the equipment has something wrong with it (TV does not work, cable connection goes grainy during run); equipment in general was old.

For $469+tax+resort fee per night for a regular, non-oceanview room, mid week, the level of amenities and service left a lot to be desired.

This hotel may have been great once, but it is just resting on its past glory now. The only good thing about this hotel is the proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: Stay in San Diego an come to Coronado during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CHtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for some of the service issues you encountered during your stay. We strive to provide the best service for our guests and it seems we have fallen short. We will share your comments with our management team so we can make the necessary improvements and thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

5,015 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,383
    1,275
    672
    409
    276
See reviews for
1,526
1,459
115
899
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

It's very unfortunate that the fame of this historic hotel has led it to abandon a true luxury feel that you would expect when you pay top dollar. I have no issue paying $500+ mid-week for a regular room but the hotel needs to realize that this sets certain expectations they are not prepared to meet. The biggest issue for me, and this is the reason for my overall rating of 2 instead of 3, is the attempt to further squeeze dollars out of their hotel guests without delivering adequate service, namely parking and resort fees.
But let's begin with the room, which was reasonably sized and nicely renovated, although certain elements in the bathroom are clearly several decades old and could at least use some touch-up. Housekeeping was generally fine but unfortunately inconsistent; for example one day they forgot to clean the bathroom floor, which my kids had decorated with cookie crumbs, the trashcan was left in the middle of the room and the toilet seat had been cleaned but was still wet. While I can forgive this, I think it's outrageous that they charge a $25 resort fee, that includes water in the room, yet I only get 1(!!) bottle for the entire room and I only got a fresh one if the one from the previous day was empty and/or removed. Despite my mixed feelings about resort fees, we all have gotten used to it by now as a way for hotels to increase their room rates. But if you do charge for something, you have to provide it in reasonable quantity.
We only ate breakfast here once and that was enough for us to venture out for all further dining for the remainder of our stay. While the breakfast buffet offered most staples you'd expect, such as pancakes, oatmeal, fruit, eggs, etc., it doesn't offer much else. The presentation of the items was lackluster at best and consensus among our family was that while nothing was really awful, we didn't have anything great either. Once again, for the price you pay and for a hotel that is so famous, you'd expect a breakfast buffet that is on par with offerings at a Ritz-Carlton, Four Seaons or similarly priced resort, and this was a far cry from that. My tip: Walk up Orange Avenue just a couple blocks and there are several options where you'll pay much less for better food.
Parking is where the hotel takes it to the top. We opted for self-parking for the outrageous sum of $30/day. Note that valet is $40 and probably a "better value" (although I have difficulties using the term "value" with these astronomical rates). In any case, the parking lot is open for all visitors, not just hotel guests, and notoriously overcrowded. It also has fairly small parking spots so that there are always a few spots that cannot be used if both neighboring cars are close to the line. On our arrival night I was able to find a spot within a few minutes, but on the second day I couldn't find a spot after two rounds and went back to valet, where I was able to drop off my car without additional charge. Two days later (on a Friday now) the hotel had posted a sign at the parking lot entrance: "Lot temporarily full.” Sure enough I went to valet, where the valet attendant asked me if I went in to look for open spots and then explained to me that they post this sign so that visitors are deterred and more spots remain for hotel guests. That does sound like a great tactic, but it would assume that hotel guests would be made aware of this, which is not the case. Otherwise they will just be further frustrated for paying $30 for parking per day when no parking is available. I have my doubts that you should charge this high of a fee on top of premium room rates, but if you do, you have to deliver. Having guests circle the parking lot several times is simply unacceptable and it biomes clear that they just take it because they can; because the Hotel del Coronado is famous.
This fame obviously comes from a time long ago, when this hotel was truly an outstanding destination offering impeccable service and not the Hotel de Coronado of our days, which charges sky-high prices without delivering anything even remotely close in value. Don't get me wrong, the location is great and if the rooms were half the price and parking was free, it would be just fine and warrant a 4-star review. But as it stands, you are much better of staying at a nearby resort and come by to see this place and take a few pictures, like most others do.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay at The Del and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beachfront location. We understand your frustrations and apologize if aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. To that end, we will be sharing your review with our management team so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you again for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

We stayed at the Del on July 22nd- July 26th. I did extensive research to find an upscale resort that would be a fun family trip for a 15 year old. The reviews of this hotel for the most part were very accurate. The resort has a wonderful upscale feel. The staff overall was excellent. Location to the town of Coronado was ideal. A five minute walk and you have multiple options from inexpensive to expensive. Great shops and market was within walking distance as well. We had a junior suite that was large as well as a nice size bathroom. The spa was great, 1500 Ocean and Sunset bar were all amazing. Beach was so pretty..with beach service optional. My only complaint would be the teen lounge. A big draw to coming here was the teen activities. They absolutely need to update this area...broken pool cues, missing shuffleboard parts etc. There were three TV's with plenty of video games etc but our 15 year old was not impressed. With that being said, we did spend way more quality time with him. This one factor would not stop me from staying here again. We had excellent service the entire time. If you stay there dont miss getting to know the elevator operator, Andrew. He has been at the Del for 33 years. Loved him!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tammy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We appreciate your endorsement and are pleased that you were able to experience all that The Del has to offer. As we strive for legendary service, we appreciate the recognition of our great associates like Andrew and will share your comments with him. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

my favorite getaway period, rooms are clean, hotel is very kool, crew at sundeck bar are awesome..Tim, Brandon and Sam look for them very kool people. great food were ever you go on property. Grab a cigar, get a cocktail and find a corner

Room Tip: main tower corner room on second floor has a great terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morenoconsulting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the delicious dining venues, exceptional staff and relaxed atmosphere at The Del. We hope you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed 6 nights at the 'Del' to finish off our four weeks in the States. Service is awful, waited half an hour everyday to be sat for breakfast, they are more concerned about getting extra money in from non guests than giving a good service to those paying $600 a night, hordes of visitors roaming the hotel, housekeeping inconsistent, some days newspaper delivered, other days not, same for toiletries, water, extras on bill charged when part of included package, queues at check in (2 receptionists on most times for 700 plus rooms), close the pool and jacuzzi spot on at 10pm even if really busy, drinks prices exceptionally high plus service charge added to almost everything not to mention $30 self park daily charge and $25 resort fee. What they do have is a lovely location on a fabulous beach, nice pool and reasonable sized rooms in Coranado, which we love. Would we stay again, probably not, prefer not to give them our money until they start improving their service.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrettandJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BBrown3275, Manager at Hotel del Coronado, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
We are pleased that you enjoyed the award-winning beach and ideal location of The Del. Although the summer months are quite busy, we apologize for the service issues you encountered and understand your frustrations. We will share your comments with our management team so we may make the necessary improvements. Thank you again for your valuable input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 16 in Coronado
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
5.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#5 of 279 in San Diego
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Coronado? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Coronado

Property: Hotel del Coronado
Address: 1500 Orange Ave, Hotel del Coronado, Coronado, CA 92118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#3 Spa Hotel in Coronado
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Coronado
#5 Business Hotel in Coronado
#7 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
#10 Family Hotel in Coronado
Price range (per night): ₹ 25,470 - ₹ 53,074
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel del Coronado 4*
Number of rooms: 757
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The legendary Hotel del Coronado is located on 28 oceanfront acres on Coronado Island. Built in 1888 and designated a National Historic Landmark in 1977, The Del continues to maintain its rich history while also offering contemporary conveniences such as unique beachfront dining, an award-winning spa, upscale shopping, recreational activities and the luxurious cottages and villas at Beach Village. The hotel's spectacular setting, impeccable service and award-winning cuisine also makes it the perfect setting for a fairytale wedding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Coronado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Resort Del Coronado
Del Coronado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing