We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Silver Strand State Beach
Ranked #8 of 29 things to do in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the most beautiful beaches in the San Diego area, the Silver Strand Beach State Park is on the southern coast of Coronado.
Reviewed 3 January 2018 via mobile

This beach is one of the most beautiful in San Diego but since it’s a little off the beaten path, it’s rarely busy. Our kids love this beach since there are shells galore here. It’s easy to swim since it’s a long flat beach.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank riceburnergrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"sand dollars"
in 26 reviews
"beautiful beach"
in 36 reviews
"sea shells"
in 8 reviews
"loews resort"
in 7 reviews
"rv camping"
in 7 reviews
"ocean side"
in 11 reviews
"dump station"
in 8 reviews
"hook ups"
in 4 reviews
"great waves"
in 6 reviews
"rv area"
in 4 reviews
"favorite beach"
in 6 reviews
"san diego"
in 24 reviews
"clean restrooms"
in 5 reviews
"bike path"
in 9 reviews
"coronado bridge"
in 10 reviews
"low tide"
in 7 reviews
"parking fee"
in 4 reviews
Filter

35 - 39 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

If you want to get away from the crowds in Coronado I suggest coming here. It’s a state beach so you’ll have to pay admission but it’s usually less crowded and more relaxed.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank mfheinonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

In my mind, the only bad about Silver Strand is the $$$ you pay to use it. I suppose the lack of nearby eateries could be a negative for some, but you can decide on that. On the up side, there is plenty of parking, unlike many of the county beaches. It's also far less used. If you want to walk or jog, it's great. The beach has to be at least a mile long and probably longer. Monday - Thurs. it's only a couple of dollars for a couple of hours. There is no partial day use Fri-Sat and it's $8.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Travelin41126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

This is a State of California operated stretch of beach that is mostly a campground for RV's with direct access to the beach and ocean. The RV camping is limited to water and electric hookups.

We are disappointed that the (2) two large bathroom buildings on property were NOT usable; they were cordoned off with yellow tape so the beach visitors had to use some pretty stinky portable potties in the parking lot.

The day we were there it was extremely windy to go with the much higher than normal temps; San Diego was in the mid-90's with Las Angeles over 103 degrees.

Bottom line, this beach was most likely a nice beach to go to especially if you have a self-contained RV to get in out of the elements. Otherwise, for those without, the wind swept sand and stinky portables made for a really short visit there.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank nascarbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017

We spent the day at Silver Strand State Beach last Saturday. Family members had a trailer and were camping out for a couple nights, so we joined them for the day. It's a great beach to walk on to search for shells, and the weather was still good in October (near 80 degrees). we packed sandwiches for lunch, and our host barbecued burgers and hot dogs for dinner. Great day at the beach!

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silver Strand State Beach also viewed

 

Been to Silver Strand State Beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing