We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a sweet little hotel!”
Review of El Cordova Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
El Cordova Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Coronado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2017

We stayed for 7 nights last week and had a very positive experience at this hotel. The concierge staff were all extremely friendly and helpful! We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite and it was perfect for 2 kids 2 adults (kids slept on pull out sofa). The kitchen is well stocked and the hotel accommodates requests such as providing a toaster which is helpful with providing kids quick snacks/ breakfasts. The air conditioner in the bedroom was very loud with constant knocking noises, which was an issue a couple of nights in terms of preventing sleep. If you are a sound sleeper this shouldn't be an issue.

The pool area is nice and the water is much warmer than the ocean so great for kids and adults who like to swim. It's a 10 minute walk to the beach (or quicker without slow kids) and the beach is amazing! The water is cold but that was expected.

Miguel's Cocina (mexican food restaurant) which is adjacent to the hotel has amazing food and drinks! They also allow you to bring drinks into the pool and courtyard areas of the hotel in plastic cups (just make sure you get there before 8:30 pm as the restaurant closes at 9).

Overall, this is a lovely hotel full of character, great staff, and beautiful well kept grounds. We were very pleased with this choice.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard allow the opportunity to have a morning coffee or afternoon/evening drink...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Helened000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear Helen,
Thank you so much for your 5 Star recommendation! We here at El Cordova are happy to have provided you with such a pleasant 7 night stay. Future travelers will find your review ver valuable. Indeed, our location makes us a good choice for travelers looking to walk around the area, with many dining and entertainment options available nearby. Guests often comment on our spacious rooms, and the efforts of our dedicated team. We are glad that you did as well! We also appreciate the opportunity for improvement you mentioned on the knocking sound; receiving feedback like this is how we improve. Thanks again for your review, and we are so happy that you were pleased with our choice!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 735 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017

This place is right in the middle of everything! Why stay across the street when you can stay at El Cordova? Tim and Kevin were terrific! They made us feel right at home and made some good recommendations for dinner. We will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank cdubb1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2017

Your review made our day! The entire team at the El Cordova is happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us. Also that you enjoyed our ideal location right in heart of beautiful Coronado, walking distance from so many things to see and do. We appreciate your shout-out for our dedicated team, Kevin, and our GM Tim included; we will pass on your kind words. We sincerely appreciate your 5 Star recommendation and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2017

What a cool place to stay. Spanish Mediterranean style with all the right touches. The walkways have a nice "Melrose Place" feel you'd expect in Cali. The staff were polite and nice and literally 20 steps from great authentic Mexican food, I say this because I'm from San Antonio Texas where we have great food too, so I'm definitely a food critic.. I'd stay here again no doubt...Elvis Lopez

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elvis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Dear Elvis,
We are so happy to hear that you had an experience worth repeating here at El Cordova Hotel. Guests often comment on our unique, warm style as well as spacious rooms; in this case, the Casa Grande. We are pleased that you did as well. That you would stay with us again "no doubt" makes our day! We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Our quiet, roomy suite was spotlessly clean!!! Ashley and Vanessa greeted us with friendly engaging conversation and directed us to restaurants!!! Ashley and I spoke before arrival and she and her staff went out of their way to prepare for my allergic husband. We are so thrilled to be close to the beach and the many shops. Our hotel complex has it all! There are shops and restaurants right in the building. Ramble down the narrow paths to any of these. Charming location for a romantic stay! Definitely we will be back! I will recommend the EL Cordova Hotel to everyone who loves quaint, historic lodging with friendly staff and all the amenities of a large hotel. I am sad there are not 10 stars.....for me this is heavenly!!!!! Definitely a 10!!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Dear Mary,
The entire team at the El Cordova is happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay with us here in the heart of beautiful Coronado, walking distance from so many things to see and do. We are proud of our unique style, and it's always nice to hear when guests enjoy that aspect of our hotel, so thank you! We appreciate your shout-out for our dedicated for Ashley and Vanessa as well; and will pass it on. We sincerely appreciate your 5 Star recommendation; that you consider us to be a "10" makes our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Best for a romantic couple, rooms are clean, quaint, beautiful. A mix of history and modern. Staff is great. Rrstaraunt onsite is phenomenal. Suites are awesome, location is top notch. Love this place to get away.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank tonisantangelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen F, Manager at El Cordova Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Dear Toni,
We are so happy that you chose us; it is great to hear that you had an experience worth repeating here at El Cordova Hotel. Guests often comment on our unique, warm style; as you put it "a mix of history and modern". We will pass your kind sentiments on to our team. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coronado hotels
0.1 km away
La Avenida Inn
La Avenida Inn
#5 of 17 in Coronado
629 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Marisol Coronado
Hotel Marisol Coronado
#1 of 17 in Coronado
322 reviews
0.2 km away
1906 Lodge, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Crown City Inn
Crown City Inn
#11 of 17 in Coronado
209 reviews
1.6 km away
Best Western Plus Suites Hotel Coronado Island
0.2 km away
Hotel del Coronado
Hotel del Coronado
#9 of 17 in Coronado
5,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Cordova Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Cordova Hotel

Address: 1351 Orange Ave, Coronado, CA 92118-2916
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Coronado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Coronado
#6 Family Hotel in Coronado
#7 Business Hotel in Coronado
#10 Romantic Hotel in Coronado
Price Range: ₹ 11,104 - ₹ 22,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Cordova Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich in history, natural beauty and a charming Spanish hacienda style. El Cordova Hotel stands in the heart of the Village of Coronado Island, one block from the best beach in San Diego. Shopping, restaurants, theatre and recreational activities are within walking distance and the Hotel has four restaurants and twelve boutique shops on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Cordova Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Cordova Coronado
Hotel El Cordova

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing