We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Meal to Remember”

Christopher's at the City Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Columbia
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 24
Description: Fine dining in an historic gold rush setting. New owners as of June 2015.
Restaurant details
Description: Fine dining in an historic gold rush setting. New owners as of June 2015.
Reviewed 31 October 2016

The menu posted outside only told part of the story. I was making certain that this restaurant had enough choices to please everyone. Verifying that it had plenty, my friend and I decided to come back after picking up my wife. It was so worth the wait. While a duet played the perfect music to dine by, we ordered and enjoyed what feels like a big step back in time when a miner might have tallied his gold and moseyed on over to reward himself with a fine dinner. The servers are decked out in period gowns and it's a wonderful atmosphere. The buildup to the meal was well supported by what was delivered to the table. I can only describe three meals as perfection. Beautifully prepared, plentiful, absolutely delicious and fairly priced. I had the chicken marsala, and it was easily the best I've ever had. My wife and I had no room for dessert, but our friend (who lives in Europe) had to have the apple tart with the dollop of vanilla ice cream, and she swore it was the best dessert she's ever had. Bottom line: The City Hotel is a hidden jewel. Take a walk around an amazingly preserved Gold Rush town and work up an appetite. I feel confident that you'll be writing you own glowing review.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank 415Mark650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2016

If you're planning to visit Columbia State Historic Park, City Hotel is an excellent historic building you can actually stay in and also dine in. The room is decorated as it might have been during the gold rush, and the wait-staff dress accordingly. The menu has a lot of choices, all of them look good, and everything we had was delicious; the service was exceptional. We have dined here several times before, and are very pleased with Cristopher, who is the new operator of this restaurant. In fact, we ate here both nights we were in Columbia, it was that good.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank 00Bruce00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, Owner at Christopher's at the City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2016

Thank you for your review of the restaurant. Our service staff, Chef Christopher and cooks are dedicated to providing the highest possible wonderful dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2016

We chose Christopher at the City Hotel because we had tickets to a play at the Fallon House Theater down the street and have always loved to walk around Columbia before the show.

We had mixed reactions to the Caesar salad…two felt it was good, two felt the dressing was a bit thin and had too much Worcestershire sauce.

The main dishes, though, we all loved... my hanger steak was a perfect medium-rare, and the chef graciously gave me extra greens in place of the potatoes. The swordfish pieces that two others in our party ordered were lovely pieces of fish and beautifully cooked, as was the rib eye ordered by the fourth in our party. We aren’t particularly fond of wine from the area, but were pleasantly surprised by the Rodere cabernet sauvignon.

The waitress was exceptionally friendly and good-natured, and we appreciated the chef’s visit to our table to answer our questions. The service was prompt and we had plenty of time to walk to the theater.

While we chose to eat at the City Hotel because we were going to the Fallon House, we’ll most certainly go back even if we aren’t going to a show.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ohana_Lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, Public Relations Manager at Christopher's at the City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Thank you for your review of our restaurant. We pride ourselves on providing a wonderful dining experience. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This place was highly recommended by friends as we were going to see a play at the Sierra Rep Theater the problem was when we got there they had pretty much run out of all the items on the menu and we waited for an hour and a half to get our food and then when he came it wasn't very good so I would not recommend it. It is very possible that we have the loan sad experience but judging from the other patrons that night we were not alone in our experience

Thank frequent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, Owner at Christopher's at the City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2016

Sorry for just seeing your review and not responding earlier. For some reason this review has just recently come to our attention. No excuses, but last year October was one of the first months we opened for dinner and frankly we were overwhelmed by the attendance. Our food is cooked individually for each order and that is one reason for a longer wait time and then depending on what you order. We now recommend if you are going to the play reservations should be made no later than 5:30 pm. I know you probably enjoyed the play but sorry for the dinner experience. Hope your next play visit will give us a chance to redeem ourselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2016 via mobile

Had dinner here with another couple on a busy Friday night. It was our first time dining here since the change of ownership and we were pleasantly surprised by the creative menu, quality food and excellent service. Our server, Clover, was friendly, attentive and helpful. We started with the artichoke heart appetizer followed by half sized wedge salads. For main courses we had filet mignon which was excellent and mahimahi which was fresh and very good. For dessert we tried the apple tart, creme brûlée, and affogato, all of which were delicious. Their wine list includes several local wineries and they serve local beer on tap. We are glad to have another fine dining restaurant in the area.

Thank foothillstrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S, Owner at Christopher's at the City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2016

So glad you enjoyed your dinner with us. We strive to uphold your 5 star rating.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christopher's at the City Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Christopher's at the City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing