We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
Review Highlights
Fantastic day of adventure, fun and lots of smiles

Marcello was a fantastic guide, we had a blast so fun! Great lunch! Easy to book the front... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Julie T
,
Napa, California
The absolute best rafting trip ever.

American Whitewater Expeditions, Coloma CA This rafting company was the top pick on our list. They... read more

Reviewed 8 May 2024
OKIlldoit
,
Salt Lake City, Utah
Read all 152 reviews
  
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
136
9
3
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
136
9
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews middle fork american river rafting trip white water rafting bathrooms and showers thrilling experience super fun water level fantastic trip raft guide rapids awe rafted helmets safety company blast
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
105 - 110 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2016

We (family of 3) took the half-day lower Gorge express trip during July and can only confirm that all is as advertised - slow and meallow start with plenty of opportunity to swim and meet new friends that share your boat. Guides are very experienced, usually having rafted several other rivers as well and slower periods between rapids are bridged with wild stories and information about the river and surroundings. During this trip the Level 3 rapids are all near the end and the day is guaranteed to end with lots of excitements. Word to the wise, lots and lots of sunscreen on your tighs and other exposed skin! The splash water keeps you cool but does add to the suns intensity!

Date of experience: July 2016
1  Thank 981bernharde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2016

We think we lucked out as our guide as exceptional! It's hard to find a group activity for 32 people but this one hits the spot. Our guide rated us with expertise and humor and we are already planning next Summer's visit there again.

Date of experience: June 2016
Thank merevmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

We went on a 1 1/2 day expedition. First day the lower part of the South Fork (started right after Troublemaker) and ended near the dam. Second day started near the Chile Bar dam and ended with Troublemaker.
We had 2 very experienced guides 10 year+ (Michelle and Gustavo). They know their guiding, they have tons of stories and made for a great day and a half on the water.
The campsite was ok. Nothing wrong, but nothing wonderful.
The pool was overrun by young children and not very clean.
The office staff is super friendly, but can get bogged down for a few days with what might seem like simple changes.
The lunch on the river was great.
The food at the campsite was simple but good. The cook at some points seemed rude, but I think it was just her sarcastic sense of humor.
For a day trip would wholeheartedly recommend.

Date of experience: August 2016
1  Thank mikewC5502YT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 July 2016

My wife wanted to go river rafting for her birthday. I had been on the South Fork of the American River years ago with my daughter. It is fun but not very exciting if one is more of the adventurous type.
I had booked the Middle Fork and it was the perfect balance of excitement and relaxation. We would pass through both Class 3 and 4 rapids and then casually paddle to the next section of rapids.
Our guide, Mattie, was from Argentina and had guided all over the world. He was fun, knowledgeable, and made sure that we had a great time.
I would recommend American Whitewater over some of the others because of their extra attention to safety. I am sure they all practice safety but it is always better to be safe than sorry.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank hmill2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 July 2016

We did the whole South Fork of the American River with the very capable guide Jay. Our raft was filled with three kids and three adults. The river featured many exhilarating rapids. Jay added lots of extra thrills with Zen Rafting, African Style, Splatting, Boofing, 360s and backwards rafting. Not once did we feel "at risk". All of the guides we met from this company were professional and personable. Lunch was an impressive sandwich bar served on an over-turned raft halfway through the trip. Thank to all at AWE for a great day on the water.

Date of experience: July 2016
Thank StuHermosaBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews