We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food great Ambience”

El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 8 - US$ 32
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant is family owned and operated for over 32 years. All of our family recipes are made from scratch, and we have no cans in the kitchen. We would like to invite all friends and family to come and enjoy our Authentic Mexican Cuisine. Some of our signature dishes include Molcajete, Carne Asada, and Fajitas. We offer a full service bar to complement your meal with a beverage of your choice, and complete your meal with one of our fantastic desserts. When you walk into our restaurant you are going to notice our fine decor with hand painted murals and fine Mexican art. Our clientele includes business people for lunch, families for dinner, everyone is welcome here. If you would like to enjoy some fantastic family recipes for lunch or dinner, we hope you stop by at El Tapatio and we will take great care of you.
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Good food great service. Nice place. Make sure to ask for it your way. They are great at making it the way you want.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

We won't return. The flavors are not fully developed... The Chile relleno didn't seem roasted in the authentic manner. Taco shells all broke. Tableside guacamole was inedible due to too much lime (we all speculated). My drink was "light." Full disclosure: we usually go to Durango's in Placerville. This place doesn't compare with those "real kitchen" flavors. I guess we're spoiled for any other Mexican restaurant. On the upside, our servers were nice and the place is pretty.

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Sheri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

When it comes to Mexican food I stay with Chili Verde. And theirs was very good. Unfortunately, my service on this day was very sub-par. I believe it was due to the location in the bar. It won't stop me from going back.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank greybearder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017

i have eaten there few times and the owner is super nice and very attentive to all his clients.
he is always engaged with the service and the clients and making sure that everyone is happy.
Never had an issue with the food nor the service.

the restaurant is pretty cute and you feel you are in an old mexican town.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tarek1696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017 via mobile

Excellent Mexican restaurant, a full-service bar. From the outside it doesn’t look as big as it is it is when inside and it was Euge great food of course I like Mexican food.

Date of visit: August 2017
Thank PD G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Tapatio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing