We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just the best”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of The Old Hall

The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden Atmospheric Great Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
The Old Hall
Heated Pool and Garden
Atmospheric Great Hall
Garden Room
Drawing Room
Yellow Sitting Room
Country Kitchen With Aga
Poolside Pavilion
Poolside Pavilion
Childrens Chill Out Room
Master Bedroom Suite Overlooking The Garden
En-Suite Bathroom / Dressing Room
Oak Bedroom - superking bed
Oak Bedroom En-suite
Crewel Bedroom - with dressing room and en-suite
17th Century Four Poster
Attic Dorm - Sleeps 4 Kids
View To Garden Terrace
The Garden - Yew Hedges and Topiary
Pop Up Glamping
Tennis Court
Perfect for Celebrations and Get Togethers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
8 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 18
Saxlingham Nethergate, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Marion P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Just the best”
Reviewed 14 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We spent four days with family and friends for a big birthday celebration in this amazing old house and we could not have chosen better. We would go again.
The house is furnished in well-thought out, tasteful traditional style with antique and modern artefacts. Every corner in the beautiful rooms has an interest, delightful books, magazines and flowers. The open fires are stunning and very welcoming on the chillier days. The bedrooms are sublime, comfy beds, beautiful linen and the attention to detail is superb.
Much thought has gone into providing a well-equipped home, form the spacious kitchen through to the lovely gardens.
Our six grandchildren, aged between 2 and 11, had the time of their lives, their bedrooms were exciting, the playroom fulfilled their every need and the garden kept them busy for hours. There was entertainment for all the adults too, we chose archery but we could have played tennis. Summer visitors would love the swimming pool.
The house is beautifully situated and photos cannot do justice to the ambience nor the
splendid location.
The owners and the nearby housekeeper are totally charming and explained everything in clear detail, we had no problems at all, just a stay to remember in one of Britain's loveliest houses.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it exceeded our high expectations
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gloria123
oxfordshire
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay - cannot be faulted!”
Reviewed 11 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed here for a weekend to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary with a group of friends. The house is beautiful, keeping a sense of period and history in the decor, but all the necessary home comforts and mod cons. The photos do not do it justice. The owner greeted us on our arrival and made us very welcome. Everything you could need is available. Cosy kitchen with everything required for the preparation of a feast or an informal breakfast. Comfy beds, fluffy towels, 4 sitting rooms, well stocked library, log fires, wifi, coffee machine, peacocks, candle-lit dining hall, board games and champagne - what more could you ask for? Well, the weather could have been better - we think the gardens are amazing but not easy to see under a covering of snow.
We will definitely be trying to think of an excuse to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort, facilities, character property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Reviewed 4 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Paula M
Westgate-on-Sea
1 review
“Beautiful house, fantastic surroundings with superb facilities for all ages”
Reviewed 22 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

The Old Hall in Saxlingham Nethergate is absolutely breathtaking in all respects. The house itself retains all the charm built up over many centuries but has all the modern amenities that made our stay comfortable. Our extended family group ranged in aged from 11 to 70+ and everyone was thrilled with the facilities - from the cosy kitchen complete with Aga, where the whole family could gather for breakfast or a chat over a cup of tea through to the beautiful bedrooms. The younger members shared the attic room and made full use of the home cinema facilities!!

We stayed for a long weekend and really felt we could have stayed much longer and not run out of things to do and explore, even in the middle of November (in the summer, the grounds must be spectacular). I was very grateful for Janine's recommendations for caterers to undertake the catering at the house for our celebration meal on the Saturday night - the house with roaring log fires and the table set for 16 was a fantastic setting and Bespoke, the caterers, did us proud. Janine's other suggestions were spot on and we had great fun with archery and a fish and chip lunch on the Sunday. All of us enjoyed walking around the extensive grounds and watching the wildlife (and the chickens and peacocks!), as well as exploring the beautiful countryside around the Old Hall.

All in all, a fantastic and memorable stay made even better by Janine's thoughtful touches - even our small dog was thought of and some treats left for him.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing