We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“LOVED IT! (and pet friendly!)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“LOVED IT! (and pet friendly!)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our stay here was amazing. You are in walking distance of great places to eat, there are great places (antique and others) to shop and explore, it's just an overall great place. The staff was amazing and the breakfast served in the morning was perfect to get you on your way! We sat at on the grassy area and watched the sun go down...amazing!!! This place is pet friendly and we met a lot of great people who were staying with their pets. Please don't come here and complain if you are not an animal lover!!! Everything in our room was fresh and clean and we couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for a weekend getaway!!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are awesome, if you stay on the bottom floor your door opens up on to a grassy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainGrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for writing a review. We are so glad you and your pet had a wonderful time, this is exactly what we strive for. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms, our housekeeping staff takes pride in keeping the rooms clean. You are right our sunsets are wonderful and are a joy to watch especially in the wintertime. We hope to see you and your pet again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    181
    32
    9
    7
See reviews for
262
424
41
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

This was our first time to this property. We usually stay at another hotel in the area because it was what we knew but they are always booked. Are we ever glad! This was a GEM. We celebrated our 25th anniversary here. I can't say enough about how clean it was. We stayed one night in a downstairs room and then moved upstairs for two nights. Both rooms were FRESH smelling, and not because of that horrid, overpowering carpet fresh menace. I discovered they even wash their bedspreads after EVERY visit. Can you imagine? I always take those things off because I think they're nasty. Their's aren't! We didn't bring our dogs this time or our kids but we will bring both next time for our daughter's 21st birthday. The staff was helpful about anything we asked and gave us great eating recommendations. The cleaning staff was friendly and unobtrusive but offered whatever we requested. If I were to add anything it would be a thick foam mattress topper. The mattresses offer GREAT support but, on this old body, they were just a little hard. Maybe have a few on hand just in case a guest has a need? And for all I know, they do! (I never asked.) They are nearly supermen and women at this place so, it's entirely possible they HAVE thought of everything! Loved it, just loved it and would not stay any place else now when we hit the central coast. OH! And they even sent up some chocolates and little bottles of Martinelli's to help us celebrate. VERY thoughtful. Loved you guys!

Room Tip: You will be fine upstairs or down. Great views all around and the noise level is zero in your room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReillyClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you so much for leaving a long review about your stay. We are so glad you had a wonderful time. We loved reading about your experience. Next time please mention the need for an additional mattress topper and we will be happy to provide you with one to make your stay even more comfortable. Thank you for leaving a room tip with trip advisor, this will help future guests to make their room selection a bit easier. We will see you again soon
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have been staying at the Shoreline for the past 10 years and have never had a bad visit. They have made continuos changes to make the rooms nicer and add services to the guests. It has an amazing location, just a few steps away from the beach and nearly all the rooms have a great view of the beach. It is in the center of town, a small one that is, so you can walk to every store and restaurant in the area within a few minutes.

They offer great deals in the winter which make them unbeatable to any other motel in the area. I have never had a bad experience with the place and will continue being a guest as long as I can make it there.

The service is very friendly, I have sat in the lobby and chatted with staff for hours. It is a small family owned business and get to know you by name after just a stay or two.

Cayucos is also a great little town. It is a small town USA place with less than 3000 people and has a small beach town vibe.

GREAT PLACE. RECOMMEND TO EVERYONE!!!

Room Tip: I would recommend the beachfront rooms to the true beach-goers, as it gives you a 180 degree view fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rainer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you for your detailed comments, your experience at the Shoreline is one that represents our goals for guest satisfaction. For future reference, we now have a Sanddollar Reward Card for frequent visitors. Be sure to ask for it when you visit next.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

This would have been my third visit. My first had no problems. On my second visit, we arrived late. Consequently, we did not use the bathroom until the morning and quickly learned that the toilet was broken and that it could not be repaired for several hours. So not to be inconvenienced, the motel provided us with a key to another room to use the restroom. Thank god, because we also learned that the sink was leaking buckets of water onto the floor. Despite the inconvenience, I was still willing to give the motel another chance. However, I called to make a reservation last week for an upcoming one night stay and I just received a phone call from hotel management asking if I was a "proper fit for this hotel" because I had the gall to complain about a broken toilet and sink. My question is who would a proper fit for an overpriced motel with a "remodeled" non-working bathroom? The answer is nobody. Stay away from this motel!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank hck021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
We appreciate your comments and value your opinion. We, at Shoreline Inn, strive to make every guest’s visit a pleasant one. We look forward to satisfied customers becoming repeat guests. Part of our success is the quality of cleanliness and upkeep of the property. However, issues do arise just as in any home or business. We make every effort to solve a problem as efficiently and painless as possible, and it is unfortunate when a guest feels that they have had a negative experience.
-Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka, Montana
Level Contributor
192 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

This was our third year staying here and the rooms on the beach have been upgraded. Flat screen T-V and frige and microwave in room. Good carpet and lockable patio door.. a nice touch. New king size bed and crisp linnens. The bed was comparable to the one I have at home. I booked a upstairs fireplace room in May for November thru Marshall and the room was as I had requested. The soundproofing is good as we never heard a peep from next door or below during the 4 nights. The continental breakfast was good as well with coffee juice milk and toast and bagels and fresh fruit. Housekeeping was excellent also. this property is pet friendly but no pet mess . Kudos to the Owners. Nice people and friendly and knowledgable of the area. In 3 years I never have had a billing problemor error. The rate quotes is what I paid. Would come again if in the area.

Room Tip: Try for an Upstairs room with an Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Unckebuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CayucosShoreline, Manager at Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you so much for your kind review of our motel and for noticing the updates to the hotel. We have many return guests who were very pleased with the updates, especially the soundproofing. Our fireplace rooms are popular. Thank you also for your comments about the pet friendliness. We strive hard to make the motel pet friendly, but also comfortable to our guests without pets. We hope to see you again soon.
Laila Kollmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.1 km away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
28.7 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
20.2 km away
Cambria Pines Lodge
Cambria Pines Lodge
#3 of 12 in Cambria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 km away
Fireside Inn on Moonstone Beach
39.6 km away
The Inn at the Cove
The Inn at the Cove
#2 of 27 in Pismo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,218 reviews
0.5 km away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach

Property: Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
Address: 1 N Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1605
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Cayucos
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,266 - ₹ 18,049
Hotel Class:2 star — Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only motel between Monterey and Pismo Beach located directly on the beach. Family owned and operated since 1981. Beach-front rooms have 180 degree views and deluxe rooms have varying views. A free deluxe continental breakfast is included and each room has a flat screen TV/DVD, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hair dryer and iron with ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...On The Beach Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing