We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great town, not so great motel”
Review of Cypress Tree Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cayucos
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cypress Tree Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great town, not so great motel”
Reviewed 27 November 2011

We got the last room on the day after Thanksgiving as a stopover on the way home from the San Franscisco area. Cayucos is a great looking town right on the beach north of Morro Bay. It has a pier, a great fish and chips place, numerous small town experiences. The Cypress Tree Motel emphasizes it's 50s-60s decor and ambiance. A little too much 50s-60s. Room was small, bed was noisy and lumpy, walls were thin, and no exhaust fan in the bathroom, which had only a shower. A 60s size TV and wicker table/chair rounded out the decor.
On the plus side, the heater worked well and was thermostat controlled, there was lots of hot water, the sheets were clean and it was quiet when the neighbors turned off their TV and went to sleep. There is lots of interesting (?) old license plates and Route 66 stuff. There is a nice sitting area, which was unused due to a fierce Santa Ana wind that came up overnight and rattled the front door all night. It is a family owned business, which we like to support.
Bottom line, not worth the money and too worn to consider coming back. Great town though, enjoyable with more modern accommodations.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doggie_owner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    7
    4
    8
See reviews for
10
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
273 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We just returned from a trip to Cauycos where we stayed at the Cypress Tree Motel.

The off-season rate of $50+/night was great...Cauycos can get expensive during the summer.

Rooms: Well, they appear to be a tad "old" and in definite need of an update. On the other hand, how much can you expect for fifty bucks per night...!!

The Cypress Tree Motel is dog-friendly charging only $10, which is cheap.

There are no breakfast offerings at the motel...except for the coffee maker in your room. However, that's not a major problem depending on how you look at things.

A couple of doors down the street there's a restaurant called Martin's offering a nice looking breakfast special for $4.95. Only problem is that they don't open until 9:00 AM. My wife thought that was great giving her a chance to sleep in. Personally I was not so impressed wanting to get on the road...!!!

Beach Access: There's a little walk from the Cypress Tree Motel to "main street", the pier and the main beach. However, if you know where you're going, you're only a couple hundred yards away from a couple of beach accesses that will take you to a more secluded part of the beach.

In summary: I'll rate this motel a "three" = average although the nightly rate of $50+ (cheap) plus $10 for a dog (cheap) has something to do with this rating.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We like Cayucos and decided to spend a night there instead of staying in Morro Bay as we have in the past on our coastal roadtrips. It is just a small coastal town with a great stretch of beach and lots of good antique shopping in the area.

We drove by the Cypress Tree Motel a few times and then decided to check it out as it looked very interesting and a little different. It's rating on Tripadvisor was ok but not the best. We were looking for a place that was clean and not pricey as we were just going to be there to sleep. They had availability and let me look at two different rooms to see which one we might like and I wanted to make sure they were nice and clean. All of the rooms have some sort of theme. I checked out the Garden Room and the Route 66 Room. We decided on the Route 66 Room as it was so different, really cute. It was off-season and they gave us a great rate and a discount on top of that.

This place is just so different, kind of like you are going back in time. The owners bought this place before it was going to be torn down and have been working on it for about 12 years if I remember right. The whole property and the rooms have such detail and shows the time spent and the thought that has gone into everything. There are pictures, sayings and signs everywhere! As said, each room has a different theme and is decorated in that manner and just takes you back in time. You have everything you need in your room too such as a small frig./freezer which they put two small bottles of water, microwave, coffee/tea, TV with plenty of channels, hair dryer and needed toiletries. The bath towels were of good quality, nice and thick which surprised me for a smaller motel. They even put out little chocolates for you each day. They really pay attention to the small little details. The outside lawn area is really cute. The fence that borders the property has old signs everywhere, there is a big cypress tree that is all lit up at night with all these different type lights on it, a few lawn chairs, BBQ for which they will provide the charcoal, table and chairs and lawn ornaments and decorations throughout. They have put so much time and thought into every little area of this place. The owner told me that he has wanted to do this since he was 19 years old and it is a work in progress.

You are not on the beach and blocks from it but you can see a very small part of the ocean and at night when quiet you can hear the waves.

I could go on about this place and I am sure I have forgotten a few things but I can tell you it was a great find for us. The Cypress Tree Motel is just a fun and happy place. It is very different than your average chain motel and quirky in a good way. We were just planning on staying one night and ended up staying two here, on our week roadtrip. This is not a 5*, not even close but for us it was great. I rated it a 5 as it is a great value, although not on the beach the location is very good and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. We were just looking for a nice clean room with a comfortable bed and a good deal. We got that and a little more at the Cypress Tree Motel.

Room Tip: Brown Butter Cookie Company at the end of town is a must. The original cookie is to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank WillowsWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I just ended my stay at the Cypress Tree Motel and I'm so sad to leave. While it's not a 5-star hotel, the rooms are adorable, clean, and quite nice. Everything you need for a relaxing vacation to Cayucos, one of the most relaxing places on the Central Coast. There's free wifi and a coffee maker in every room. The bed in the Wild Wild West room is rather firm (almost too firm for me, but that's a personal preference thing). The decor is super cute. As a single woman traveling alone, I felt quite safe. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hebessica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

The owners were nice and it was in a good location however when my wife walked around the room we noticed that her white socks were now black. If this motel would've been $50 we would've expected the dirty carpet, but the room was much more than that. Because the carpet was so dirty it made the rest of the room feel unclean. We enjoyed the town but would definitely stay at a different hotel next time.

Room Tip: Wild Wild West room was the room we stayed in, pick another room if you want your socks to stay whit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAVESTEPHANIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cayucos hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayucos
0.4 km away
Cayucos Shoreline Inn...on the beach
0.3 km away
Pier View Suites
Pier View Suites
#4 of 10 in Cayucos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
9.8 km away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#9 of 29 in Morro Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 km away
Inn at Morro Bay
Inn at Morro Bay
#19 of 29 in Morro Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 km away
Cayucos Beach Inn
Cayucos Beach Inn
#3 of 10 in Cayucos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.6 km away
On The Beach Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Tree Motel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Tree Motel

Property: Cypress Tree Motel
Address: 125 S Ocean Ave, Cayucos, CA 93430-1227
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Cayucos
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Cayucos
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Cypress Tree Hotel Cayucos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing