We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family restaurant, garlic in the air, and wonderful menu to choose from”
Review of Sammy's Place

Sammy's Place
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 30
Description: Enjoy a wonderful evening with great food and great friends, at Sammy's Place. Italian cuisine at its finest. Generous portions at reasonable prices.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy a wonderful evening with great food and great friends, at Sammy's Place. Italian cuisine at its finest. Generous portions at reasonable prices.
Reviewed 27 September 2018

We were well taken care of by Sammy and his staff. Two of us shared a dinner of eggplant parmigiana which came with pasta, salad or soup. I had pasta, salad and soup sharing with another person. The meal was delicious portions were huge, and took home what ended up being another meal. So 3 people ate from one order! The homemade bread was very good also. No room for dessert so can't speak to it. Highly recommend everything on the menu.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rosanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2018

We frequently eat at Sammy's Place and he is always there to warmly greet us. This restaurant is one of our favorite local dining spots. The food is fresh with very generous portions. The menu is extensive - the wine list limited but inexpensive-corkage fee of $ 15.00 is very reasonable to bring your own bottle . We had four friends dining with us and each selected very different entrees-from the chicken to the veal and fish all were well prepared. We always order Sammy's special tomatoes even though a salad comes with the entrees. Sammy prepares his tomatoes at the table and the taste is unique and they are absolutely delicious. One portion is enough for 4-5 people. The service has always been good and consistent even though on the night we dined every table was filled. The noise level can be high since the restaurant is small. Reservations are recommended especially in season which begins November-May. It is located in a strip mall off of Date Palm-not a very nice area but parking is plentiful and there is adequate lighting as there are other restaurants within that parking lot..

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

Excellent food and service. Sammy was very friendly and attentive to our needs. Lasagna and Chicken Picatta were excellent. Good value, tasty tapenade in this tucked away store front location. Looks can be deceiving and in this case a positive outcome. Beer and wine only.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We have been going to Sammy's regularly ever since it opened and since my first review. The food and service have been consistently excellent. The menu has something on it for everyone and, while there are a variety of salads most entrees come with a mixed salad but for very small add on that can become a Caesar. The Caesar is one of the best I have had as it always consists of very crisp lettuce (just like it should be). With that said, they do have a very unique specialty tomato salad prepared at the table. It is a bit on the spicy side but if you love tomatoes you will love this salad. It doesn't matter which pasta you try because they are all wonderful as are their veal and chicken dishes. Very importantly, the prices are very reasonable and the portions are generous. They have wine and beer but no hard liquor and many guests bring their own wine.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doublfault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Excellent restaurant in a Big Lots srtip mall. Not much to look at outside but cozy inside and excellent food.Not a cheap place to eat but well worth the price.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank josch10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy's Place also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Sammy's Place? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing