We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff but rooms are nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 April 2012

It's just a regular hotel room, nothing special. Room was kind of dusty and we had a view of the roof of the car park over the lobby. Not in the nicest area, it's behind a Jiffy Lube and gas station. However, it is only minutes to Palm Springs and Rancho Mirage. The a/c unit and the refrigerator were very noisy.
Good breakfast and the pool area was very nice. It is a good size pool but not heated so it the weather is only in the 80's or so, the water is cold. It also has a laundry facility. Rooms were quiet.
Can't say enough about the front desk staff, they were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

We value your comments and I want to thank you for sharing your experience. Our hotel's goal is to provide great service and exceed our guests’ expectations. I apologize that we were not able to make your stay feel special, but we hope to improve with everyone's feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the complimentary hot breakfast and the newly renovated pool area. The pool is heated and is set around mid 80's, which is the average temperature for pools in this area. I will pass on your kind compliments to the front desk staff. We hope to be of service in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

183 - 187 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2012

Booked two nights while in town for business. The room was very clean and well maintained. Wireless internet service was very slow but free. Breakfast was much better than averaging including hot items (eggs, bacon, pancakes). Overall a very good hotel within walking distance of food. Front desk staff was friendly and efficient. No problems with the room or billing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiker-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience. Wireless internet service depends on the number of people using the internet at the time. Regardless, I will check with the internet service provider to see if there is anything we can do to improve the internet speed.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Make sure you get a cancellation number if you book this hotel and then cancel. I had made a reservation for March 2012. I canceled the reservation a few days prior to arrival using the link they provided in a reminder email. I have a screen-shot of the cancellation process. However, I never got a cancellation number. I was charged for one nights stay. The hotel manager refused to reverse the charge. When I called Holiday Inn Express, I was told that a cancellation had been logged at 6:04 pm on the day of arrival - 4 minutes after the cancellation deadline. I had actually initiated the cancellation process 3 days earlier.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank C0NSUMER_ADV0CATE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

I am sorry to hear about the unfortunate circumstances; however, your reservation is not cancelled unless you complete the cancellation process. By policy, our agreement is to guarantee a room for your arrival for the night, unless instructed otherwise.

On a high-occupancy night, we would turn away other guests in order to hold our reservation agreement. Thus, reservations that are not cancelled will automatically be charged.

Once again I apologize for your situation and hope to be of service in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, 25-28 February. Our travel agent (bricks-and-mortar) got us an excellent rate of $95 the first night, and $70 per night after that.

The initial location seems dim, behind an Arco station on Date Palm Drive just south of Gerald Ford Drive. But the hotel itself is modern and clean, with a nice staff.

High points:
- the breakfast room is spacious and has a beautiful view looking west toward the San Jacinto Mountains
- though we didn't use it, the hotel has a large and nicely landscaped pool (also with a view of the mountains) and spa with plenty of outdoor furniture
- the choices in the buffet breakfast were pretty good for a hotel of this price-range

Low points:
- none really, except for the nuisance of having to register for the free wifi each time an internet device (smart phone or laptop) was turned on

Though we didn't patronize them, two good restaurants are located just north of the hotel: Michael's Cafe and Indian Oven. Local friends recommended Michael's. We did eat at The Palms Cafe on Palm Canyon Blvd (Hwy. 111) just a mile or so east of the intersection of Date Palm and Hwy. 111. Excellent breakfast.

For the price this was a fine choice, and it is a pretty short drive from there to downtown Palm Springs by way of Hwy. 111.

Runners note that you can run a good distance along the wash (dry riverbed) immediately south of the hotel. Best direction to go is to the southeast (toward Rancho Mirage). Run on the south side of the wash as far as Frank Sinatra, then cross to the north side and run on that side until the trail crosses back to the south side across the wash and runs in between a golf course and residential area until it ends at the next arterial street.

Room Tip: Second or third floor on the west side would be best as this affords a view of the pool and the San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoomForRent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Thank you for your sharing your detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your runners tip with other guests who are looking to go for a run outside. Also, keep in mind that the hotel will go through renovations this summer and we hope to welcome you back with new outstanding rooms in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our room was in need of upgrading....the window didn't seal properly so there was wind noise all the time, the bed was very squeaky, and the doors would bang loudly when closing. All in all, I would look for a different place to stay in the area. Hopefully it was just our room that was not great! The breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

We value your comments and I want to thank you for sharing your overall hotel experience. Our goal is to provide great service and exceed our guests’ expectations. We realize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay and I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment. In regards to updating, we plan to complete our renovation process by this summer. As you may have noticed, we have begun renovating other amenities such as the fitness center and the pool area. I will relate your comments about the noise issues in the room to our team members for follow up. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to be of service on your next trip to the area.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
5.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
8.8 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
6.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Golf Resort Palm Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price Range: ₹ 6,274 - ₹ 19,662 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing