We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Certificate of Excellence
Chico, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice stay at the Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights, 25-28 February. Our travel agent (bricks-and-mortar) got us an excellent rate of $95 the first night, and $70 per night after that.

The initial location seems dim, behind an Arco station on Date Palm Drive just south of Gerald Ford Drive. But the hotel itself is modern and clean, with a nice staff.

High points:
- the breakfast room is spacious and has a beautiful view looking west toward the San Jacinto Mountains
- though we didn't use it, the hotel has a large and nicely landscaped pool (also with a view of the mountains) and spa with plenty of outdoor furniture
- the choices in the buffet breakfast were pretty good for a hotel of this price-range

Low points:
- none really, except for the nuisance of having to register for the free wifi each time an internet device (smart phone or laptop) was turned on

Though we didn't patronize them, two good restaurants are located just north of the hotel: Michael's Cafe and Indian Oven. Local friends recommended Michael's. We did eat at The Palms Cafe on Palm Canyon Blvd (Hwy. 111) just a mile or so east of the intersection of Date Palm and Hwy. 111. Excellent breakfast.

For the price this was a fine choice, and it is a pretty short drive from there to downtown Palm Springs by way of Hwy. 111.

Runners note that you can run a good distance along the wash (dry riverbed) immediately south of the hotel. Best direction to go is to the southeast (toward Rancho Mirage). Run on the south side of the wash as far as Frank Sinatra, then cross to the north side and run on that side until the trail crosses back to the south side across the wash and runs in between a golf course and residential area until it ends at the next arterial street.

Room Tip: Second or third floor on the west side would be best as this affords a view of the pool and the San...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoomForRent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Thank you for your sharing your detailed review of our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your runners tip with other guests who are looking to go for a run outside. Also, keep in mind that the hotel will go through renovations this summer and we hope to welcome you back with new outstanding rooms in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    111
    38
    12
    14
See reviews for
86
93
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Our room was in need of upgrading....the window didn't seal properly so there was wind noise all the time, the bed was very squeaky, and the doors would bang loudly when closing. All in all, I would look for a different place to stay in the area. Hopefully it was just our room that was not great! The breakfast was very good!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We value your comments and I want to thank you for sharing your overall hotel experience. Our goal is to provide great service and exceed our guests’ expectations. We realize that we did not meet your expectations for your stay and I would like to sincerely apologize for the disappointment. In regards to updating, we plan to complete our renovation process by this summer. As you may have noticed, we have begun renovating other amenities such as the fitness center and the pool area. I will relate your comments about the noise issues in the room to our team members for follow up. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to be of service on your next trip to the area.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Recently stayed for a couple of nights. Nice clean rooms with the exception of one ant lurking in the shower. It was a pleasant surprise to take in the mountain view from the window! Breakfast buffet was also included. All of the staff members were very friendly. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the property for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 17 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and room tip for other guests. Our hotel takes great pride in our mountain view and newly renovated pool area, and I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed them too. We look forward to be of service in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Had a great few days at the HIE Cathedral City recently. Was upgraded as Im a Platinum Elte member, had a nice room overlooking the pool and the mountains. The room was big with a seperate lounge, microwave, coffee maker, fridge and sink. All that I needed.. Parking is free and plentiful. Breakfast well stocked and plenty of hot items. House Keeping always done in a flash. Staff always friendly and the location is great, plenty of shops and supermarkets close by. I stay in many hotels, from Intercontinental down and this HI is a gem. Be back soon !!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Musclebearnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future!

Best regards,

Andrew Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on our trip to Palm Springs. The location is good because it's close to Palm Desert and Palm Springs, where we visited the Living Desert and the Aerial Tramway. There is free wifi and free breakfast. The rooms were okay, but unfortunately we got a bad room. The beds were very squeaky and it was very annoying to go to bed every night hearing this noise. Breakfast was nice, but you have to be quick. Once the clock strikes 9:30 (and 10:00 on weekends) no more food! Overall the stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K, Director at Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs), responded to this review, 9 January 2012
We are pleased to hear that your overall experience at our hotel was pleasant. We apologize for the noise that you had to deal with. Our hotel's maintenance and housekeeping departments work together to eliminate the beds that might produce unwanted noise. We appreciate that you took time to share your experience and look forward to accommodate you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Andrew Kim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cathedral City
5.1 km away
Staybridge Suites Palm Springs Cathedral City Golf Resort
6.6 km away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
8.8 km away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
9.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.7 km away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
Address: 36101 Date Palm Dr, Cathedral City, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92234-1503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Cathedral City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Cathedral City
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,456 - ₹ 12,004
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Cathedral City is conveniently located in the heart of Palm Springs Valley. Our Cathedral City Hotel is a resort destination near Rancho Mirage, La Quinta, Palm Desert, Indian Wells, world class golf courses, spas, casinos, restaurants and shopping. While travelling to our hotel, you will be able to visit the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway, Indian Canyon Trails, Spa Casino, Agua Caliente Casino, Cathedral Canyon Golf, PGA West Golf, Cabazon World Premium Outlet Mall, Knotts Soak City, Empire Polo Grounds, El Paseo Shopping District, The Living Desert and Joshua Tree National Park. This Holiday Inn Express Hotel is a host hotel for The Big League Dreams Sports Park. We are just minutes from the Palm Springs International Airport in CA. Also nearby Palm Springs Convention Center, Downtown shopping, restaurants, and Indian Wells Tennis Gardens. All leisure or business guests will enjoy our high speed, wireless and wired Internet and complimentary business center. Come experience our serene outdoor heated pool and whirlpool with a large deck and mountain views. Our hotel also features a workout room. Our 100% smoke free hotel features the comforts of home. From our resort style pool, wonderful cinnamon rolls, cookies in the lobby every evening, and the Simply Smart Bedding Collection, this hotel in Cathedral City, CA is sure to please. Swimming pools and Jacuzzi will be closed starting on July 9, 2017 and will re-open on July 18, 2017 as they are being repaired. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) Hotel Cathedral City
Holiday Inn Cathedral City
Cathedral City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs) CA - California Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing