We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Design sharp resort, top cuisine, artisanal lavender and honey ranching too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carmel Valley Ranch
Ranked #6 of 24 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

After taking in the fun-though-crowded hubbub of Carmel-By-The-Sea to the west, or the rapturous, rawness of Big Sur to the south, winding through the quiet beauty of Carmel Valley gently soothes one into this ranch resort of the same name. The public areas and accommodations in this all-suite resort are sophisticated contemporary, while inviting at the same time, with ebony-toned, wide-plank floors, sheered, native stone fireplaces and firepits, and thoughtfully intriguing paintings, framed photos, and sculpture. Check-in is brief and convenient with one of the friendly and personable staft, at one of two desks with guest chairs. Close-in parking is available and once parked, one uses the resort transportaion (surreyed golf cart-type trolleys from suite to lodge and motor coaches to outlying attractions and Carmel-By-The-Sea). The pushbutton, natural stone gas fireplaces in the suites compliment the leather furniture, dark plank flooring (again), stone-topped endtables, and bronze-fixtured floor and table lighting. The basket of nutritious treats in the suites and the bottled water everywhere are complimentary. The bathrooms in the suites are generously sized and conveniently appointed, with water-preserving fixtures that are generous in force and delivery and proprietary toiletries that are lavender and other herbs-infused. The bedding is luxurious and the oversized, padded headboards and spot tasklighting make reading and watching the oversized flatscreen a dream, especially with the cozy throws and stackable pillows and bolsters.

Besides the golf, spa, and swimming options that are routine at resorts, Carmel Valley Ranch also offers experiential offerings in honey, lavender essential oil, and lavender soap production in 60 to 90-minute small groups (depending on the class), with easygoing yet knowledgeable onsite boutique farmers John and Yoko (yes, really, and though they have heard every "Ballad of John and Yoko-type" reference hundreds of time before, they still laughingly take it all in stride, being the gentlefolk they are). Their "bee experience," which the resort really ought to amp up publicity on, is especially entertaining -- adults and children both love it, and fearful types do "get over it" when being suited up in protective, beekeeper gear. If time, regrettably, is too short for one of John and Yoko's classes, then even walking through the ranch lavender fields, which John designed and harvests, and vineyards is a treat.

Farm-to-table dining is in store here, with even room service being impressive: after stoking the fireplace (i.e., simply turning it on) and nestling in under one of the throws, order up the roasted vegetable risotto entre and roasted artichoke starter, with its three equally rivaling dipping sauces.

A replenishing two days are good here, but three are ideal -- if only to try out the infinity view spa, and eat and rest some more. After check-out, 17-Mile Drive is easy access and is also en route to the user-friendly Monterey County Airport.

Room Tip: The Garland Suites up on the ridge, with wrap-around terraces, are choice. But just about anywhere t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Designtraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Wow! What a fantastic response! I loved how beautifully written and detailed it was. I especially enjoyed when you mentioned how soothing the valley can be after a long day in Big Sur or Carmel. This is really true! Carmel Valley Ranch is a great place to relax and unwind! We hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,245 of 1,555 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights of a business trip and was overwhelmed with this place. The ranch is on a hill overlooking a vineyard and golf course, with gorgeous trees. The suites are lavish and very large. All have private porches, fireplaces, sunken tubs and all amenities. The food is wonderful, the pool is quiet and relaxing. The service was exceptional. I could go on and on.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

What a great place. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with deer roaming throughout the complex. At arrival we were upgraded to a bigger suite and it was fabulous. The interior was modern yet cosy with a fire in the lounge and the bedroom. The bathroom was very spacious and had a bath and a shower, with nice smelling toiletries. The hidden tree swings were great for the grown ups to act like kids again and the nightly s'more's were another highlight. The only disappointment was that we didn't get to meet the hotels dog! Another great hotel off the highway 1.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tomsquires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

If you want to getaway from it all and have a rustic, but modern escape this is the place. After reading some of the reviews I was gun shy about booking since I did not know anyone that had personally stayed at the hotel but I am glad I decided to pull the trigger. The room was prettier in person and the views breath taking. We did upgrade our room and had a corner unit with lots of privacy. The staff was friendly and helpful. We ate both nights at The Lodge Restaurant and loved it. One comment it is true turn down service is late so if that is the type of thing that annoys you be forewarned. We loved our stay and were sad to leave. The resort had tons of activities and opts to o to keep you busy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jlr477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
831-625-9500, Manager at Carmel Valley Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks so much for your fantastic review! We definitely like to think of The Ranch as rustic but modern. I am also thrilled that you got to enjoy some of the activities. We have a number of complimentary activities that are perfect for a well rounded stay! Hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, Melanie Cooke, Director of Revenue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We recently spent 3 days at the property. The ranch is extremely expansive and we were upgraded on our arrival to a superlative room with a fantastic view of the golf course and vineyard. Deer and turkeys roamed the fairway in the early morning and evening. The suite had a living room with big TV and small fridge. There were gas fireplaces in this room and the bedroom. The bathroom was spacious with tub and large shower. Water pressure was great in the shower as well. The bed was king and comfortable. There was a deck out the bedroom.
We were on the unlimited golf package, which worked out well since the weather was beautiful and we like to golf. It was 99 degrees when we arrived but in the 70s when we left. A day later it was in the 60s in the Carmel area by the sea, only a few miles away. We ate at the restaurant two nights and we both thought the food was excellent and reasonably priced. We ate fish that was line caught and very fresh. The adult pool is by the restaurant and very pretty, but we are not pool and spa people either. Carmel by the Sea is beautiful, and a great place to visit if time allows. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book when they are not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomIrishNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
12.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 24 in Carmel
929 reviews
5.3 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
12.1 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 24 in Carmel
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
Bernardus Lodge & Spa
#1 of 2 in Carmel Valley
393 reviews
31.7 km away
Post Ranch Inn
Post Ranch Inn
#1 of 8 in Big Sur
1,164 reviews
12.2 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 24 in Carmel
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carmel Valley Ranch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmel Valley Ranch

Address: One Old Ranch Road, Carmel, CA 93923-8579
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Carmel
#2 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Carmel
#4 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: ₹ 25,275 - ₹ 57,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmel Valley Ranch 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning and relaxing, our elegant Carmel Valley resort is abundant with the natural beauty of Northern California, offering intuitive service and memorable experiences in a striking venue. Savor incomparable comfort, breathtaking vistas, and a delightful array of activities at Carmel Valley Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carmel Valley Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmel Valley Ranch Hotel Carmel
Carmel Valley Hotel
Carmel Valley Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing