We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Our stay at the Best Western Carmel Bay view Inn was nice. Let me start with the things that we thought should have been better. The WiFi is horrible. Don’t expect to get good service unless you are close to the office. There just aren’t enough outlets to power things. We stayed in room 66 on the 5th floor and never could get more than 1 or 2 bars and most of the time we couldn’t connect. If you plan on taking a shower in the morning when everyone else does you may or may not have HOT water; it will be warm at the worst. The breakfast was not spectacular – you get sausage links and yellow discs that are eggs. Along with that cereal, fruit, bagels and various breads were abound.
Now for what we liked! Get a room with a fireplace, deck and ocean view! We did and it was wonderful. Around 7:45PM is when we just sat out on the deck and looked out over the ocean and watched the sunset. A great way to end a day. From room 66 the sun sets over the trees and part of the ocean. If you want to see the sun over the ocean only, get a room more near the northly side of the hotel that overlooks the sea; the trees will be out of the way there. But we still enjoyed ours! The fireplace is a gas one and was fantastic. The TV has radio stations so we listened to music and sat out on the deck while it all happened. The bed was great – firm! The room was very spacious (had a King room) and very comfortable. It has a small heater if you get cold at night.
The hotel from the outside looks very quaint. Love the actual wooden shingles on the roofs and it has moss on them which adds to the character of this seaside town. The hotel does a good job of keeping everything very clean. You can also look out from our 5th floor deck onto the town somewhat and see the tops of the homes peeping out above the trees. There are a lot of trees!
We would stay here again!

Room Tip: Find a room on the north side on the 5th floor. You will see the sunset better without hiding behin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jhollinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 844 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2012

This hotel is well situated in Carmel. It is one block from Ocean Avenue and all the shops. It's a pleasant walk to the beach. Conveniently located next door is a small grocery store and deli, great for picking up snacks and drinks. We would end each day by the pool enjoying our snacks.

The hotel is clean and the beds are comfortable. There are only two negatives about the place. There's no air conditioning, so if it's hot, you will suffer. Also, parking is tight. The smaller your car, the easier it will be to park.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelsgirl93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Pay a little extra for the fifth floor to get the view. Gas fireplaces in the huge room with large balcony. Bed super comfy. Breakfast average to blah.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SavvySidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice hotel, centrally located to shopping and dining in Carmel by the sea. Very clean rooms, comfy beds, flat screen tv with partial ocean view. There is a heated pool, which we did not use but it looked well maintained also. Pretty quiet no noises coming from surrounding rooms. Only complaint is that it is not a dog friendly hotel, and Carmel is largely a dog friendly city. Even one of the restaurants directly across the street allow pets. There are 2 retaurants directly across the street Forge in the Forest and Carmel Food Company.So if you are looking to take the family pet, this is not the place for you. There seems to be plenty of parking although it is a bit tight. Other than that, i would definitely recommend for anyone visiting Carmel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mguerra602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Room was excellent though a little difficult to keep warm in the rain, wind and cold. Location worked well for walking around Carmel and spending time on the beach. Staff most helpful. Breakfast like any Best Western was boarderline but you know that when you book.

Room Tip: Top floor and unless you really wnat a view stay on the quiet side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bob349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
2.2 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
715 reviews
0.4 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Carmel's Town House Lodge
0.8 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
907 reviews
0.3 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#2 of 25 in Carmel
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn

Address: Junipero Street between Fifth and Sixth Street, PO Box 3715, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Carmel
#13 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
#14 Family Hotel in Carmel
Price Range: ₹ 6,823 - ₹ 18,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Hotel Carmel
Best Western Carmel
Carmel Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing