We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
16
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
16
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews log haven home away from home glass of wine living room shops and restaurants downtown carmel deck linens wifi block tv amenities ocean cozy property fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2016

We stayed in moon cottage

It is stylish and very comfortable. The location is perfect - a short walk to the shops in one direction and to the beach in the other. Easy access in and out of town.

The cottage is clean and the bed very comfortable. There are some lovely touches throughout, that make it feel like your own holiday home. We were keen to have weather cold enough for the fire! We also found it too easy to laze on the couches with a book and a cuppa...

The amenities in the cottage are very generous, so that self catering is an easy option if you prefer. There is also a lovely outside seating area.

Our experience was exactly what we expected from the description on the website. Our only complaint - that we didn't book enough nights! Now we have to work Carmel into our itinerary on our next trip to the US

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydneyT0urist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

Our first visit to Log Haven was in 1966! I was 8 years old and still cherish the memories of watching the sunset over the ocean from the big bedroom upstairs, walking one block to the beach or 4 blocks to The Cottage of Sweets. A few years ago Cheryl and her sister bought the cottages and poured fresh love and style into all four cottages. They are all in immaculate condition, with comfortable updated furniture and linens and spotlessly clean. Each cottage is completely fitted out as a home with full kitchens and gorgeous personal gardens.

This past week I stayed at Homeport with my Mother and sister. What an idyllic holiday we had in this sweet house. It really is a small home and we daydreamed that we lived in Carmel 52 weeks of the year! We noticed persons passing by pausing to exclaim that these houses are so charming.. Indeed perhaps amongst the most charming cottages in a town full of enchanting cottages!

Each morning we admired the INCREDIBLE garden out the kitchen window and as soon as the fog burned off we took our coffee amongst the lush flowers. Then it was a one block walk right on to the beach! Afternoons found us strolling into town for some retail therapy. Each evening we ate our take out dinner by the side of the fire. After our four night stay we got into the car for the first time in four days! There is no need to drive anywhere in town if you stay in this location.

I almost hate to write this review as Carmel Cottages is sure to become more popular. But the very attentive and personal service by Cheryl and her team has us wanting to support her efforts.

After 50 years of visiting Carmel on an almost annual basis we have stayed at most of the well known properties. Carmel Cottage Inn is by far our favorite quiet, charming Carmel home away from home.

Room Tip: Choose your cottage by the size of your group. Homeport Cottage was PERFECT if you are a guest who wants to avoid most stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank hannaday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2016 via mobile

We have visited Carmel many times over the years and are so happy we came upon Sky Way Cottage. We stayed 4 nights and it was perfect. Such a rare treat to have time away with my Hubbie. It felt like our little hideaway - romantic, private. Country inn decor but in a good way. Place was immaculate - as in eat off the floor immaculate. The location couldn't get any better. We got in our car twice in 5 days. The rest we walked - beach path, to and from town several times, to dinners, to watch the sunset. Reading from the window seat you could actually glimpse the ocean. Kitchenette was fine for us. Toaster, mini coffee maker and microwave. Mini fridge enough for a few picnic supplies and wine. We picked up picnic goodies at the little market in town but do check out The Cheese Shop in the shopping mall off Ocean in Carmel Plaza. Crazy selection. I only wish we had though of plastic cups to bring our wine to the beach. The deck was a wonderfully relaxing to have coffee/wine and read. Speedy wireless kept us hooked up to Spotify for music - bring your wireless speaker -but I think they had a mini stereo(also tv that we never watched). Point Lobos walk is a must do. Absolutely stunning ocean vista, seals, the water was so clear in places it looked fake. Fun window and actual shopping in town. Mundaka was a great dinner place - tapas - you can make reservations through Yelp. We also had a really great meal at fish market off 1 at Rio and Giovani's across from Hog's Breath in town. From Scratch in the Barnyard shopping center off Rio RD is so yummy for breakfast. Huevos Rancheros to die for! Chocolate place on Ocean is a must for sweet lovers and the chocolate macaroons at the Carmel Coffee on Ocean are the best I have ever had. Belle also a great find for fresh local food - we had green smoothies that we Delilah but their menu looked great. Cheryl and Connie were delightful and so helpful and communicative. They define top notch customer service. The welcome bag of almonds, pistachios and coffee very nice touch - and delicious. Would highly recommend and will definitely return if we have the opportunity. Thank you!!!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank senorablanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

We've stayed in the skyway cottage several times. It's one of a kind! It's in a perfect location and super close to the beach. I think what makes this place so great is the owner Cheryl, she's so kind and friendly. She responds quickly to e-mails and always make our stay special.

Can't recommend enough!

Room Tip: Skyway Cottage is beautiful!
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eatprayloveparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

We've been to Carmel by-the-Sea at least 15 times, and while we can't afford the "expensive" accommodations, we did chose Carmel Cottage Inn for my wife's "decade" birthday. (We not saying which decade!) This place is only one block from Carmel beach, and we had his-and-hers closets in the bedroom. The living area even had a closet to hide my golf clubs. Kitchen was comfy with Caphelon (sic) cookware, gas stove top and a coffee grinder with beans from the Carmel Roasting company. We even had a semi-private patio/yard in which to relax. The inn keepers live nearby and after we texted Cheryl about our arrival, she came over to greet us. Definitely worth the extra expense for a special trip! Oh, also had a "remote control" fireplace!

Room Tip: There are five choices, so we suggest to choose based on the size of your family.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JohnAndEllenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews