We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful place to stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
Ranked #9 of 25 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2012

From the moment we arrived at the Horizon Inn, we felt welcomed. Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean. Our view from the balcony overlooked the spa area and, to our delight, we could see the ocean...beautiful ! The walk into town was easy enough even for us - in our 60's...the bed was very, very comfortable, and the breakfast basket was more than enough for the two of us...the fresh fruit was most appreciated. Everyone on the staff was helpful and friendly...in short, we loved our 3 night stay. This place is a bargain in Carmel, and well worth a return visit for us. Thank you, John, we'll certainly be back ! (Chris and Joe from Buffalo)

Room Tip: ask for a partial ocean view and you won't be disappointed.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homegirlchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonCarmel, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Just found a chance to catch up on our reviews after having been off visiting potential colleges with our 16 year old daughter. Traveling, staying in inns and hotels is always an opportunity for us to learn, compare and certainly improve on our own business. It's nice to come home and find our customers are enjoying our product and appreciate that we make every effort to provide them with a quality experience at reasonable prices. We certainly feel that our motto: "Affordable Carmel Luxury" fits us and we will continue as always to put money back into our property to maintain the integrity and provide our guests with an enjoyable stay. As always we appreciate your taking the time to provide us feedback on your visit. Many happy returns!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2012

This (Horizon Inn) has become "our place" in Carmel. Love the rooms, the staff and the great breakfast delivered to our room. Off street parking (free), atmosphere and location round out the experience. It is uphill and out of the way a little bit (quieter and less busy) so walking can be strenuous ---- and beware, it's dark along the streets in Carmel at night.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maresa02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Well managed, well located property, well priced for Carmel by the Sea. Sit outside by the fireplace after the jacuzzi!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at the Horizon Inn on two visits to Carmel and both have been really enjoyable. There is off-street parking and the rooms are generously sized with terrific views of the ocean. Most rooms have a balcony with chairs to sit and admire the ocean view and sunset. Bed (we stayed in a king-suite) was excellent - high thread count sheets and down comforter.

Our room had a microwave, toaster and small refrig. Bathroom was clean with large towels and plenty of soaps and shampoos. There is an outdoor hot-tub which we didn't use. Great restaurants are only 2-3 blocks away. It is in a quieter part of town with virtually no street noise.

Price is very reasonable for Carmel - a true value in this rather expensive town. An ample breakfast of fruits and pastries is delivered to your room each morning, along with a morning newspaper. We will most certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HorizonCarmel, Owner at Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

David, thank you for pointing out some of the more important features of our hotel. As owners we definitely take note of what stands out for our customers, especially our repeat guests. We certainly appreciate your loyal patronage and for taking the time to share your thoughts with other potential guests. With Gratitude...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This was our first trip to the Carmel/Moneterey area of California. I did a LOT of investigating online since this was my first time traveling and not staying in a large hotel chain such as a Hilton or Marriott property.

Service: Very nice front desk lady at while checking-in late in the evening. She was very helpful in answering local questions about restaurants and shops. Checking-out was the same and we made small talk about the weather, other local attractions, etc. of the area. The rate also covered a basket delivered to your doorstep with a very basic continental style breakfast and newspaper inside. Don't worry, they won't knock on the door to wake you up. Overall, very friendly experience.

Value: I paid an average of $225/night for a Sat and Sun stay. Not too expensive, but not exactly cheap either. Hard to judge and I have no other Carmel stays to compare it with.

Room: We stayed in Room 116 of the Horizon Inn side of the property. It's located right along Juniper Street and it overlooks the town (slight ocean view) with an unobstructed view via your own balcony. Very nice. It had a king beg, 42" flat screen, bath/shower room, plus a fireplace that burns into the main room plus a private jacuzzi room. The wife really enjoyed the jacuzzi part... so did I!!! The room was clean with updated bathroom facets, toilets, shower head, etc. The carpet won't last too much longer, but it was still clean. Not the highest quality furniture, but the bed is fine as we slept well. The town is quiet, but being right along Juniper, you can hear the louder vehicles like garbage trucks. All the other rooms should be fine though. Overall, it had plenty of space for just the two of us. The jacuzzi and fireplace really set this room apart from a normal hotel experience.

Location: Not bad, but you're not going to be walking to the beach and back either (unless you want a workout). It's close enough to walk to all the shops and restaurants, but it is located on the outskirts of the downtown area. The beach would be just a little too far to walk.

We will definitely consider staying here again with no reservations about anything. But because Carmel is so nice, now we really want to try all the other B&B style properties.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeCheryl82012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn & Fuse Lounge Cafe
0.5 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
594 reviews
0.9 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#6 of 25 in Carmel
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Carmel River Inn
Carmel River Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
675 reviews
0.0 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
582 reviews
1.5 km away
The Colonial Terrace
The Colonial Terrace
#4 of 25 in Carmel
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge

Address: Junipero Street and 3rd Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range: ₹ 9,829 - ₹ 19,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable luxury in the heart of downtown Carmel-by-the-Sea. We are a family owned and operated business. Spacious & attractive rooms, some with balconies, partial to full ocean views, stone fireplace and jacuzzis. Outdoor spa w/FP. Free Continental Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Ocean View Lodge Rooms are pet-friendly cottage like suites with wood burning fireplaces and separate master bedroom. Cont. Brkfst to room. Free WiFi. Both properties are non-smoking and offer 100% off-street parking. Ask about our economical pet-friendly Annex rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Horizon Inn & Ocean View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Inn & Ocean View Hotel Carmel
Horizon Inn And Ocean View Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing