We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay in Carmel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Carmel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We just returned from a trip in CA spanning from Los Angeles to San Francisco, & Carmel was certainly the highlight.

We found the Tradewinds online, never previously having stayed in Carmel, and were very happy with our stay.

Pros: The extremely friendly staff. We arrived on the late side (around 8:45pm) & were greeted by a friendly feline named Sweety & a very nice woman who made us dinner reservations so that we were not shut out due to the fact that many restaurants were closing soon. (We went to Casanova's, a quick two block walk away...& it was a wonderful recommendation. Delicious food & charming restaurant)
We were escorted to our room & shown the amenities, a fresh orchid was placed in a wall vase & we were given a place with two big chocolate-dipped strawberries.
The room was clean & there was an in-room water feature controled by a lightswitch at the front door to the room.
The bathroom was updated, clean & comfortable. The grounds are lovely - bamboo, waterfalls & water features, a meditation garden...& several of the rooms have ocean views & fireplaces.
The continental breakfast (included) was fresh & tasty. Bagels, toast, cereals, juices, pastries, coffees & teas... They have a breakfast room where you can eat your breakfast, or there are trays available so that you may enjoy your food outside on the grounds or in your room. They also set out to-go cups for your coffee.
The location was terrific & very walkable to the charming little shops, galleries, & restaurants.

Cons: You can hear the people walking around in the room above you (if you are very sensitive to such things, I would ask for a top floor room)...but this was really minor.
Front office closes at 10pm so make sure to get there before then to check in, or call ahead of time to see if they can accommodate your late check-in.
I'd add a towel rack/ additional hook(s) to the bathroom. There was one peg hook from which to hang a towel. More would be convenient.
But the biggest "con" was having to leave. It really is a comfortable, beautiful place.

We are so happy to have a place that we are happy with here in Carmel. We will be returning, for sure.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYArtistGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a thorough review! We are so happy that you had a great stay and hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    114
    49
    13
    17
See reviews for
80
257
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed here April 4-5. Re-invigorated motel in Asian theme. Outstanding staff from first greeting to check out. It makes a difference. Do not judge this hotel from its former function. In quaint and compact Carmel there are plenty of converted motels and apartment buildings. The issue is appointments. The bed is top notch as are the linens and towels. This room has balcony view to ocean. Light breakfast included. Some parking on site otherwise you are on the street. Wifi included. Walk to town center.

Room Tip: Supposedly first floor rooms carry noise from above. No street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. I love room 1 because it is an end unit with high ceilings and the view of Point Lobos. It is so light and airy, too! We hope to see you again soon for a visit to our beautiful little village!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxnard, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

In February 2012 we stayed at Tradewinds during Valentine's Day week. Our room was beautifully decorated, extremely quiet, very clean and had a beautiful view from the balcony. Yes, chocolate strawberries awaited us!! We had our choice each day of going downstairs to the continental breakfast or having it delivered to our room. The hotel staff was so helpful in answering questions and making recommendations with respect to restaurants and things to do in the Carmel/Monterey area (even before we arrived via telephone calls) and then making the reservations for us. The hotel had more than adequate off street parking and we never had any problem finding a space (although this hotel is within short walking distance of the main part of Carmel and we chose to walk to most of our destinations - you have to work off all that fabulous food somehow!). Our room had a private balcony with a view and a cozy fireplace inside (in my visits at other hotels, I have almost always found that the picture on the internet/website bears little resemblance to the room you actually get but, in the case of Tradewinds, our room looked almost exactly like the photo on the website and had every amenity mentioned - hurray!) In the early evening we could hear guitar music coming from the courtyard firepit area - very nice. Before we left for lunch the first day we asked if a DVD player could be provided in our room and it was there when we returned. The king size bed was comfy, comfy, comfy and the hotel provided warm robes for our use. Wine glasses were also provided in the little bar area so you didn't have to use tumblers if you wanted to watch the sun go down while having a glass of wine (thoughtful things like this make an impression). We highly recommend the Tradewinds and its staff. We had an absolutely wonderful stay and my only wish is that it could have been longer! We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: Corner room on a top floor is very quiet and has view. Ask for a room with a fireplace - very roman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanH291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
You made my day! We are very passionate about making our guests happy and I am so glad that you had a wonderful time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

If you are looking for a bargain, you shouldn't be going to Carmel to begin with. The hotel isn't cheap, but i didn't want cheap. We were traveling there for thanksgiving and were lucky enough to be the exception and get 2 nights (instead of the 3 night minimum for the holiday), but we didn't have a lot of choice in rooms. We had semi-ocean view with 2 doubles beds. I booked over the phone for rooms for both ourselves and friends who were travelling with us; I knew we were going to get great customer service.

We were late arriving at the hotel after spending the day at the monterey bay aquarium and having dinner nearby. Staff were kind enough to call to make sure that we hadn't for lost along the way. We had made dinner reservations for dinner the following night, upon check in they offered to help with reservations, but were impressed by the ones we had.

The grounds were gorgeous. We spent the first night by the fire with some red wine and chocolate picked up along our travels. In the daylight, the grounds were even more impressive, I kept finding my husband reading in different parts of he garden.

Rooms were well appointed, and we loved the bath products. The best was the most comfortable I've slept in in a long time.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beachlighthouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sstilwell, Owner at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you so much! Our gardens are so peaceful and zen-like. We had a well-known author sit in front of the Buddha fountain in our Meditation Garden for 3 days and write a book! We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

In December 2011 we stayed at Tradewinds for 4 nights. At this time of year it was very affordable. Not only was the hotel beautiful on the outside (loved the firepit), the rooms were beautifully decorated. What a nice surprise to find chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room. Breakfast was excellent, expecially when it was delivered to our room one morning. In addition, the bedding was extremely comfortable. Loved the kimonos that were provided. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location made it easy to walk in to town and parking was a breeze. I can't say enough nice things about Tradewinds. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willy S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. December is a great time of year to visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.9 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
0.6 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,101 reviews
2.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#9 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.1 km away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#7 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carmel Bay View Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,965 - ₹ 26,947
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing