We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tradewinds Carmel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tradewinds Carmel
Ranked #10 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

In December 2011 we stayed at Tradewinds for 4 nights. At this time of year it was very affordable. Not only was the hotel beautiful on the outside (loved the firepit), the rooms were beautifully decorated. What a nice surprise to find chocolate covered strawberries waiting for us in our room. Breakfast was excellent, expecially when it was delivered to our room one morning. In addition, the bedding was extremely comfortable. Loved the kimonos that were provided. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. The location made it easy to walk in to town and parking was a breeze. I can't say enough nice things about Tradewinds. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willy S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. December is a great time of year to visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    120
    50
    13
    17
See reviews for
89
272
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

We arrived around 2:00 and our room was not ready. When we returned around 5, we were escorted to our room and helped with our bags. The room was nice, although I was expecting a bit more b/c of the price. If you stay be sure to get a top floor b/c the people above were very loud and the walls and ceiling are VERY thin. The breakfast in the morning was minimal: yogurt fruit and a few pastries with coffee and juice. The parking was free. Unless you get a really good deal, I would try to find another place.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moreno310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
We very much appreciate your feedback. Rest assured that your positive as well as your constructive comments will be taken seriously.

We are pleased you enjoyed the room. We are particularly proud of the in-room amenities: Frette duvet covers, Egyptian cotton sheets, Aveda bath products among other things.

We are sorry that you were disrupted during your stay. In almost all cases we can take care of any noise situations if we are alerted to them.

We invite you to return again soon so we can make sure you are completely satisfied with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wethersfield, Connecticut
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We celebrated our 30th anniversary touring the California coastline and the Tradewinds was definitely a highlight. The room was exquisite - large, beautifully decorated in a Feng Shui motif, and included a gas fireplace. The kimonos in the room were a welcome change to the robes offered at most four star and above hotels. Complimentary chocolate-covered strawberries, nuts, candy, and pretzels were awaiting our arrival. The location was perfect - close to the center of town and the beach. The continental breakfast offered a wide variety of choices, and it was all fresh and delicious. We booked our room with Sylvia who was informative and charming. Our only regret is that we didn't stay longer. You can be assured we will next time.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Thank you for the kind words. We are thrilled to be a part of such a special event. 30 years, thats great!

We are also very proud of the array of complimentary amenities at Tradewinds. The Kimono robes provided for your use are particularly cozy. We sell many of them!

We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We go to this "motor lodge" they call a B&B. Our greeting was curt, unfriendly and just rude. We showed up at 2:10 and they would not allow us to put our luggage in our room. We were 50 minutes early. The room was ready but she shooed us away like we were kids.
Our room was remodeled but the building and the outside areas are stuck in a bad 1980 Hawaiian movie but they tell you it is a zen garden. Within 1 hour of being in our room we here kids yelling from the next room. 2 hours after a bunch of couples start talking loud and didn't care about who was around. I knew when I drove up I had a bad feeling. I was right. I wanted to leave the following day but they won't give u your money back. I have stayed at many many b&bs in Carmel. This is the worst. I sure learned a lesson.

Room Tip: Stay away. There are too many inns in the area that are beautiful and inviting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rose1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TWcarmel, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 17 November 2011
Sorry to hear you had a negative experience at Tradewinds Carmel. We have fresh fruit (chocolate dipped strawberries) that we like to put in the room as close to arrival as possible. We usually allow early checkins upon request, but perhaps the room was not totally ready.

We pride ourselves on having the best front desk people in town and we apologize if you received a less than stellar welcome.

Our property was fully remodeled in 2004 with an Asian theme that many guests just love. That same year the Hotel was featured in Architectural Digest.

We hope you can come back again and allow us to present the best of Tradewinds and ensure that you have an incredible experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, Ca.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

This property is beautiful! Tucked away just a few blocks from downtown Carmel in a residential area. Quiet and peaceful with wonderful amenities. You will not be disappointed. Rooms are beautifully decorated and the staff is wonderful. Continental breakfast is tasty, with lots of fresh fruit, granola, bagels and pastries. A great weekend get away!

Room Tip: Room #1 is great, with no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank island2123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Manager at Tradewinds Carmel, responded to this review, 2 November 2011
Words cannot express how happy we are that you enjoyed your stay at Tradewinds Carmel. Its folks like you that keep us going! Hopefully we will see you again soon and thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.9 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.6 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
2.4 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.6 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tradewinds Carmel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tradewinds Carmel

Property: Tradewinds Carmel
Address: Mission Street at Third Avenue, PO Box 3403, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Carmel
#8 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,199 - ₹ 26,775
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tradewinds Carmel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, Mediterranean - 3 blocks from Ocean Ave. on a quiet residential street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tradewinds Carmel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tradewinds Carmel Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Hotel Carmel
The Tradewinds Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing