We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Inn, good value”
Review of Candle Light Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Candle Light Inn
Ranked #10 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gleneden Beach, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming Inn, good value”
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Nice size room with king bed, fireplace and small kitchen with dining table. The mini-suite had a traditional, English feel. A breakfast basket was delivered to our door each morning with fresh pastries, etc. Yum. This is an older building, but very clean and charming, don't expect modernity here! It is right in Carmel so easy walking around town. All of Carmel is fairly expensive, but the Inn was a very good value for all that we got. Have stayed there three times, and enjoyed each room!

Room Tip: Try to get a large king room with the separate kitchen. Worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Parnellcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    118
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
79
186
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castro Valley, California, USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I don't mind old, but I expect cleanliness. Bathroom floor black with dirt, bathroom counter
covered with orange ooze. Pillowcases stained. Heater coming loose from wall and filthy
with diust and dirt and bugs crawling in crack. We had "deluxe" room! Continental
breakfast cheap. Warm milk, stale rolls and ceral. Better to stay next door at Fireplace Inn,
which we've done many times. Fireplace Inn, we're sorry and will be back to you.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raoul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire Grimsby
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Arrived early evening and was checked in by TJ. this guy was great with plenty of help about places to eat etc. He made us feel great and welcomed us to the hotel.

We stayed in room 15. king bed and double jetted tub. The real log burning fire was awesome and made the nights the little bit extra romantic.

My Wife and I loved this hotel and area. Would love to return soon.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsbr_540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2011

I spent 2 nights there with my family last July. It is a very nice hotel, very well located , close to restaurants and shopping. Very nice rooms, internet service, free parking and a very friendly staff. A very nice packet of cable TV channels and a fridge with free bottles of water replaced every day was some of the facilities. They don’t have swimming pool or breakfast area but every morning they left a thermal case filled of milk, juice, cereals, fruits and everything you could ask to have a good breakfast. Drinking some wine close to fireplace at parking area was an unforgetable experience.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2011

Never had an uncomfortable stay at any of the other “Inns By The Sea” locations, so we were looking forward to 3 nights at the Candle Light Inn in Carmel. The mattress was broken down and the room was a bit shabby with smoke on the fireplace hearth & mantle and an iron scorch mark on the sofa cushion (I flipped it over). The room was otherwise very clean and the in-room jacuzzi was nice. The TV was not visible from the bed, but who would want to hang out in that bed anyway? The fridge was noisy & ran a lot right next to the bed, so I unplugged it. Breakfast was not what we expected based on other Inns by the Sea: Cheerios and pre-packaged, high-fat pastries. No imagination whatsoever, but at least there was fresh fruit. Staff was very pleasant, attentive, and did their best to try and make us as comfortable as possible. My impression is that management is just not on the ball here. Too bad - we’ve had such memorable experiences at other Inns By The Sea.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnSWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
2.3 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#7 of 25 in Carmel
1,640 reviews
0.7 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#4 of 25 in Carmel
846 reviews
0.3 km away
Pine Inn
Pine Inn
#22 of 25 in Carmel
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Best Western Plus Carmel Bay View Inn
0.4 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#15 of 25 in Carmel
281 reviews
0.4 km away
Normandy Inn
Normandy Inn
#13 of 25 in Carmel
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candle Light Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candle Light Inn

Property: Candle Light Inn
Address: San Carlos Street, Between 4th and 5th Avenues, Carmel, CA 93921
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,606 - ₹ 21,268
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candle Light Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This romantic Tudor-style inn located in the heart of Carmel offers charm and warmth with a friendly staff providing gracious and personalized service. Candle Light Inn features 20 large guest rooms and suites and a variety of amenities including continental breakfast, daily newspaper delivery, off-street parking, and in-room gourmet coffee service. All guests will also enjoy staying connected with free local phone calls and in-room wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Candle Light Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candle Light Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing