We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (883)
Filter reviews
883 results
Traveller rating
420
260
98
67
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
420
260
98
67
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the cottages studio cottage big sur main building private patio full kitchen bed was comfortable beautiful grounds wine glasses short drive close to downtown point lobos gas fireplace sitting area coffee maker we've stayed living room
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 883 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We loved staying here in our own little cottage. Totally dog friendly with a dog wash area that includes towels. We took a drive into Carmel and ended up going through a lovely wooded neighbourhood just a few minutes away. The cottage was comfy, well equppped and with your own parking area a breeze to unload and load your bags. We will stay here again with family.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Worrals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperSLH, Manager at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We came back to Carmel for a 2nd visit and for a 2nd time stayed at the Carmel River Inn. This place is just lovely. The cabins are quaint but cosy and have everything you need and if not the reception staff are very helpful.The pool is great and the gardens too. Pet friendly but that didnt impact us at all.Only a few minutes out from Carmel itself, but very close to shops and restaurants.Will certainly be back.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperSLH, Manager at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you! Look forward to next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

The rooms we stayed in were very cozy - and dog friendly! My pup enjoyed the sliding glass floor-to-ceiling door looking out to the trees and river beyond, but next time I will probably try to stay in one of the cottages which look so cute. We enjoyed our morning walk around the lovely gardens, and the staff was very gracious and welcoming. I only wish the bathrooms were more updated, but they were clean. This hotel is in a convenient location if you are in the Big Sur or Carmel area, and I will stay there again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: The cottages are super sweet; but the main hotel rooms have nice back patios
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperSLH, Manager at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We stayed in one of the cottages and loved it. we got a recently renovated one and there was a sign saying that soon all of their cottages will be renovated to look similar to the one we stayed in. Outside of the cottages there are many well kept areas that you can explore or relax in.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 22julianv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperSLH, Manager at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

This is a quaint and cozy property. The staff is superior and customer service is excellent. We asked for additional firewood and it had been stocked before we returned at the end of the day. Plenty of place for dogs to get a bath or just relax. The cottages are clean. This was our best experience so far. We loved the full kitchen and amenities in our cottage. Other times we’ve stayed they cottage was small. The rooms are not sound proofed, so if you have a snoring friend - bring ear plugs. It’s a great for a quick getaway. The value is exceptional.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Zukatoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
InnkeeperSLH, Manager at Carmel River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2018

Thank you for feedback! Look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews