We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carriage House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carriage House Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Carmel B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

So far, The Carriage House is everything and more than we expected. The room is spacious, clean, and charming with wonderful crisp linens and down pillows (or synthetic if you need them). We have a fireplace in the bedroom that makes the room warm and cozy. Carriage house is located very close to the down town area and within 1/2 mile to the beautiful Carmel beach. We received complimentary tickets to a wine tasting and were surprised that each of the wines retailed for 75.00. We also received complimentary tickets to the Monterey Bay Aquarium (this was from being a member of Inns by the Sea which automatically happened some past time we stayed in Carmel and The Carriage House is their best hotel). The continental breakfast that was brought to our room this morning is the best we have had in all the times (which are many) that we have stayed in Carmel. The Quiche was the most delicious I have ever had and the croissants were warm and flaky. yum. Today has dawned with blue skies, unusual for Carmel. We are off to the beach.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seize-everyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    49
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
17
200
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Everything was lovely, from reservations to checkout. The restaurant gift certificate introduced us to a new and much enjoyed dining venue. The very best quality of this inn is the overall ambiance. We can get away to a comfortable, peaceful and gracious inn that reminds us of our own home, without all the responsibilities. The staff welcomes us and then sees that we have a restful stay, which then allows us to return to our very busy and hectic lives. We have been coming to this inn for more than twenty five years and we plan to return for another twenty five. We love breakfast being delivered to our door every morning.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdarrell74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

1. Inn keeper called in a favor to get us in the restaurant he recommended after we failed to get a reservation. 2. Initial greeting at the door when we arrived was most welcoming and made us feel comfortable. 3. Cookies and wine --- need I say more.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReneInNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

The person who checked us in was a bit odd. It was obvious she was trying to share with us all the ammenities of the inn, however her delivery lacked the professionalism expected when your paying over $300.00 a night for a room.

The young woman at the check out desk had no social graces. She never asked how our stay had been. When we questioned the bill, as we wished clarity(we had used a gift card for part of the transaction) she became very defensive. She had trouble articulating the line items.that showed a payment for the gift card and then a negative payment which seemed odd to us. The payments appeared to cancel each other out. We will check our Visa statememt when it arrives to make sure we receive credit for the gift card.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RWCTraveler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Once again, we recently spent some time in beautiful Carmel, one of our favorite places of relaxation. The once lovely Carriage House Inn was our choice in years past, not so anymore. The rooms are in dire need of refurbishment; they have become shabby and are not keeping up with the times (poor linen quality, old TV's, worn furniture, dingy wallpaper, the constant loud, disturbing hum of the fridge ), very sad to say the least. They do have a nice wine/cheese offering in the evening, however, this does not compensate for the meager surroundings while still paying a goodly sum! Let's hope management gets with it as the property location is wonderful, so is the office staff, Laurie and Terry. All this being said, this IS our last visit to Carriage House Inn, we will go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Do not recommend this inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FelinaSmith, Operations Manager at Carriage House Inn, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
We take your comments seriously and I apologize that you did not have a more satisfactory experience with us. In your review, you cited deficiencies with the maintenance of the room furnishings. I am very pleased to say that we are currently under way with improvements at the Carriage House Inn. This month alone, we are installing new flat screen tv’s and new luxury Italian linens.

Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, we always strive to provide exceptional customer service and truly enjoy the wine/cheese evenings. I hope you will allow us another opportunity win back your loyalty to the Carriage House.

Felina Smith
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.5 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.3 km away
Cypress Inn
Cypress Inn
#3 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
0.3 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Wayside Inn
Wayside Inn
#17 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.6 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
0.0 km away
The Hideaway
The Hideaway
#3 of 26 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Inn

Property: Carriage House Inn
Address: Junipero between 7th & 8th Avenue, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price range (per night): ₹ 21,935 - ₹ 30,490
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carmel’s AAA 4-diamond luxury inn for over 30 years, the romantic Carriage House Inn offers 13 spacious rooms and suites featuring feather beds and fireplaces and most with spa tubs for the ultimate indulgence. Enjoy a hot continental breakfast delivered to your door each morning complete with quiche, croissant, steaming coffee or tea, fruit, granola, juice and the morning paper. Wine and cheese reception is served each evening in the library. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carriage House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carriage House Hotel Carmel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing