We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
northernk
Phoenix, Arizona

Pay First class dollars for a First Class stay

Review of Cypress Inn
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 24 Jan 2016
This is an older boutique hotel in a boutique city. Everything is pricy here so for the average american this will be a special stay only location. That being said it is a wonderful location and stay to be in. The hotel generally makes you feel very comfortable to be there, and it's in walking distance to just about anything in town or even a walk down to the Carmel beachfront. In our case parking out front on a weekday night was easy, not sure if that is always the case, and their parking lot can not handle the hotel guests on a normal night with 9 spaces. Wonderful place for fans of Doris Day as well with memorable displays, a few items for sale and running movies in the lobby bar area. Would be nice to have 24/7 running in room Doris movies and tv shows on a channel if that were possible. The breakfast was also wonderful, fresh and tasty with lovely baked goods a true bonus.
Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₹59,608
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹62,291
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹49,661
  • Hotels.com
    ₹61,874
0.3 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
₹26,488
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    ₹27,254
  • Vio.com
    ₹22,774
  • Expedia.com
    ₹27,279
0.2 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹27,647
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₹27,252
  • Agoda.com
    ₹21,102
  • Expedia.com
    ₹27,277
0.2 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹55,998
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    ₹55,554
  • Hotels.com
    ₹55,503
  • Official Site
    ₹43,119
0.6 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹26,439
  • Priceline
    ₹23,005
  • Vio.com
    ₹21,080
  • Hotels.com
    ₹26,439
2.1 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
₹35,098
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    ₹37,077
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹28,364
  • Official Site
    ₹45,797
6.9 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹33,825
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₹33,825
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹28,634
  • Expedia.com
    ₹33,854
0.5 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
Pergola and Fire Pit Area with our Beautiful Garden
₹19,817
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₹20,157
  • Vio.com
    ₹17,555
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₹18,674
1.2 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹29,314
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    ₹30,484
  • Official Site
    ₹22,994
  • Expedia.com
    ₹30,513
0.5 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
₹67,522
  • Hotels.com
    ₹68,458
  • Vio.com
    ₹44,472
  • Priceline
    ₹72,107
0.1 km from Cypress Inn
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Carmel
Reviews (1,762)
Filter reviews
1,762 results
Traveller rating
1,144
361
144
55
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,144
361
144
55
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews terry's lounge popovers dog lovers love dogs dog owners pet friendly hotel living room carmel by the sea first floor street noise great room complimentary breakfast glass of wine downtown carmel shops and restaurants few blocks doris
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
999 - 1,004 of 1,762 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Boutique is an inadequate description of the Cypress hotel. It is a singular vision of a small independent and beautiful hotel nestled in the tree covered streets of Carmel. You'll find Spanish inspired architecture, a stunning waiting room off the lobby, harmonious décor, private courtyards, and an exceptional breakfast buffet every morning.

This hotel is full of quirks. Which include: a totally inadequate 9 space parking lot, single panel windows which fog up in cold weather and transmit street noise to your room, faucet which barely reaches the sink so you can wash your finger-tips but not your hands, cream sherry on your nightstand, drapes which don't cover the windows, Doris Day memorabilia on the walls, and , of course, the dogs.

We were asked multiple times: why are you staying here without a dog? When you arrive in the seating area for the bar and restaurant you will likely find a dog (or two) under every table. The same goes for the beautiful lobby and the outside courtyards. Dogs are welcomed everywhere in the hotel except for small section of the bar where the morning buffet is served. Expect to be greeted and perhaps sniffed by a furry friend everywhere you go.

The morning buffet is outstanding. Fresh and hot pop-overs are delicious and in high demand. But every other pastry item is also fresh that day. They also serve fresh scrambled eggs and local fruit if you don't want to carbo-load for the day.

You're either going to love or hate the quirks of the Cypress Inn. We loved it and would definitely return.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank DoctorM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
cypressmanager, General Manager at Cypress Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2016

DoctorM,

Thank you for your extremely honest review! You have hit the quirks square on the head and I appreciate your acknowledging that this place isn't for everyone... the truth is that most guests either love Cypress Inn or don't. I just appreciate your candid explanations, but more than anything the simple fact that you will return!

Regards,
Crystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2016 via mobile

We had a really good stay here on our way down Route 1, it is an excellent hotel with lots of nice extras; the sherry in the room, the breakfast, the toiletries, the amazingly comfortable bed, jacuzzi bath and bend-over-backward staff. The restaurant is good too and they have a dog friendly policy although there were one or two too many handbag dogs for my liking!

Date of stay: January 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcamillin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2016

This was our first stay here and will definitely return. This small hotel is right in the center of Carmel-by-the-Sea, so you can walk to all the shops and restaurants in the center of town. This was probably the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. All the staff were so very helpful and accommodating. Although we did not bring a pet, we enjoyed seeing so many doggies throughout the hotel.

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Y2395SXterryb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2016

This hotel is Dog friendly, it was a treat to be able to stay there our room was lovely, the bedding was superb and all the associated facilities we had a nice stay and met nice friends which we have now stayed in touch with since.
I thought I would miss breakfast as I was playing golf early but the staff were helpful in catching a bite before I left which I appreciated very much and was no hassle to them.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 950georged
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2016

This was one of several stays at the historical Carmel hotel, The Cypress Inn. The building is almost a century old but extremely well maintained, centrally located in the village of Carmel by the Sea, CA and best of all, pet-friendly. Dogs are allowed everywhere except in the "enclosed" bar area…but they have many tables just outside the bar, within the building, a gorgeous living room with fireplace, and a patio, all pet-friendly. Breakfast was included with our "fireplace" room…full breakfast with eggs, cereal and their famous pop-overs. When asked ahead of time, a mini-fridge was placed in our room for pet food and meds! The staff is extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming. It's a place you want to return to often!

Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MRagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews