We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cypress Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cypress Inn
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Carmel
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Carmel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We have stayed in many Hotels and guest houses on our many years of visiting Carmel. Cypress Inn will be the only hotel for us in the future. We had our dog on this visit and that is what prompted us to give it a try. Stayed for three nights in a first floor king suite. Ate all our meals in their restaurant, Terry's Lounge. Excellent food and prices. The complimentary continental breakfast was great. Included delicious fried potatoes, scrambled eggs and fresh hot popovers. Along with all the fruits, cereals, juices, pastries, etc. The front desk is manned by an exceptional person, Khamis Haji. He always has a friendly smile and is ready to help with any questions you might have. We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcsouthbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    751
    253
    87
    25
    36
See reviews for
216
651
58
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Had cocktails in the bar. Very nice w/ fireplace, comfy chairs & quiet. Very reasonable $7.00 for a margarita. Looking forward to spending a night and enjoying further. Pet friendly, very social - nice to see. Great location to all Carmel has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lbe570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tequesta, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

The hotel staff was very friendly. The concierge was the best! Upgraded our room for the night swell as set up dinner reservations in town at the best restaurant (without us even asking). Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 223 was great! had a big tub and very nice fire place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We spent one night here on a driving trip up the coast from Los Angeles to San Francisco. What a charming hotel! The staff was great and made sure they gave plenty of attention to their furry guests. It was really nice to be able to sit in the bar with our golden retriever surrounded by other dog lovers and their pets. The included breakfast was very nice (pastries to die for) and all the Doris Day memorabilia was also a nice touch. The rooms are not fancy but totally acceptable. Overall it was a very nice experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We were only able to say for one night. The hotel is very centrally located for exploring Carmel which is charming. We were able to park easily outside the hotel although there are parking restrictions at certain times and care needs to be exercised. However, the hotel help you with all these details with Randy commanding the front desk and a number of other very charming staff. Breakfast is a very simple affair which is self-service and offers scrambled egg (or similar) as a hot dish so do not expect a great deal. The place is very relaxed and guests wander down in their pyjamas for breakfast having of course exercised their dogs early in the morning. The hotel has a very lovely sitting room where it is easy to strike up conversation with other guests and we found the service extremely good. We had one of the smaller rooms which, by American standards is very small. In addition, it had an exceptionally small bathroom and by small we really mean very small. However it was a nicely decorated room and each room has a decanter of sherry which is a very nice touch. This is relatively expensive accommodation for what it is, but clearly dog owners will pay a premium for this type of accommodation. All in all, it is well worth the experience even if you are just an overseas visitor without bringing along your dogs. You do not need to dine in the hotel because there is a proliferation of exceptionally good restaurants in the immediate streets. This is a very successful hotel where, the business comes to it rather than the other way round and it is quite clear from our discussions that repeat business is the key to its success.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room you should be prepared to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IANandARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carmel hotels
0.3 km away
La Playa Carmel
La Playa Carmel
#5 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.1 km away
Carmel Mission Inn
Carmel Mission Inn
#8 of 25 in Carmel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,611 reviews
0.1 km away
L'Auberge Carmel
L'Auberge Carmel
#20 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 km away
Quail Lodge & Golf Club
0.5 km away
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#10 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.6 km away
Tradewinds Carmel
Tradewinds Carmel
#11 of 25 in Carmel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cypress Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cypress Inn

Property: Cypress Inn
Address: Lincoln and seventh, PO Box y, Carmel, CA 93921
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Carmel
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Carmel
#3 Romantic Hotel in Carmel
Price range (per night): ₹ 20,096 - ₹ 21,587
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cypress Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Approaching the Cypress Inn, just steps away from Ocean Avenue, the beautiful Mediterranean façade offers visitors a warm welcome. As our hotel staff greets you, the charming garden courtyard and tastefully detailed atmosphere beckon you to relaxation. Come and experience the wonderful hospitality at this perfect retreat in Carmel-by-the-sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Cypress Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cypress Hotel Carmel
Cypress Inn Carmel Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing