We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service, lovely view, pretty good food.”

The Argyle Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
The Argyle Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 376 Restaurants in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 28 - US$ 68
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Poinsettia Lane/Aviara Parkway
Description: Argyle Steakhouse presents the finest cuts of California Natural, American Wagyu and Australian Wagyu beef with warm, distinctive service. The adjoining lounge and library add to the experience with indoor or al fresco seating, perfect for enjoying casual fare and cocktails at sunset. Argyle offers lunch featuring light California specialties, including pasta, fresh seafood and a variety of salads and sandwiches. An à la carte Saturday & Sunday brunch is a favorite among locals. Summertime terrace seating overlooks the 18th hole at Aviara and wildlife of the Batiquitos Lagoon. Adjoining lounge and library add to the experience with indoor or al fresco seating–perfect for casual fare and cocktails at sunset.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

We were here for a birthday party, so we did not order from the full menu. That being said, we did get a nice choice of dishes. The food was good, although the filet mignon was way over seasoned i.e. very salty. The saffron seafood rice was tasty, dessert was delicious. Our waiter was great, he managed a gigantic party with aplomb even though many of us were very tipsy by the time we sat down to eat. Maybe that was his trick, he got us all wined up. Anyway, the atmosphere is like visiting a nice home, very relaxed. Would recommend for casual attire paired with fine dining.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TigrrlMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations Manager at The Argyle Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear TigrrlMama, Thank you for taking a moment to share about your recent visit to Argyle Steakhouse. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and that you enjoyed the service. Thank you for recommending us and we do hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017

Our steaks were delicious. We were looking for more choices for side items and appetizers. Not all in our party enjoyed the popover bread selection. Oddly, both my daughter and husband said the mashed potatoes were gritty - not lumpy but like there was sand in them. Odd, I know. Anyway, we liked eating outside until the bugs got us. Overall an expensive evening, a once in a long while type of place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KLTraveler92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations Manager at The Argyle Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Dear KLTraveler92, Thank you for taking a moment to share about your recent visit to Argyle Steakhouse. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the steaks. We certainly hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We have been here twice for lunch with our friends. Both times we really enjoyed the food and the service. Half sandwich and soup was great. The turkey on the club was so fresh and delicious. It was served on onion bread. It's also quite beautiful right on the lagoon and the golf course

Thank MrsPickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations Manager at The Argyle Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear MrsPickle, We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your lunch experience at Argyle Steakhouse as all the views. We hope to have you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We visited on July 4th and ate outside on the terrace. The food was excellent and included their awesome popovers. Oysters on half shell were delicious. The over-priced rack of lamb was essentially tasteless tho properly prepared. Service was excellent and attentive. The location with fireworks from the nearby hotel seemed to burst directly overhead. The view, overlooking the golf course and lagoon, made this a special occasion. Expensive, but worth the dining experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ShiShiJoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations Manager at The Argyle Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Dear ShiShiJoJo, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Argyle Steakhouse. We are delighted to hear that you found the food was excellent as well as the service. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

The service here supersedes the food here. Staff is very professional and friendly which leads to a better dining experience.

Chef William Griggs is very involved and willing to meet with the customers if it's not crazy busy. The restaurant uses good ingredients and does not skimp out, resulting in a good meal.

Even though this is a steakhouse, the lamb chop was good! The spinach salad was fair and the s'mores was very good and filling

Thank skankymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ParkHyattAviara, Guest Relations Manager at The Argyle Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2017

Dear skankymonk, Thank you so much for the kind words about your visit to Argyle Steakhouse. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience and that you found our staff to professional and friendly. We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Argyle Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing