We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Callous and Indifferent Management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We booked a package 2-night plus Lego land access through a joint promotion between Lego land and the Sheraton. Not only was the park closed for half the trip despite a schedule that says the water park is open daily beginning in March, 2012, but the manager of the hotel on call on Tuesday morning (4/17) could not have cared less. Putting aside the joint promotion that this manager proclaimed no reaponsibility for, but the guy had two kids in tears in front of him and could not have cared less. Not even an ice cream cone to make them stop crying -- and not even a pretence that he cared, much less was going to do anything about it. In short, the Sheraton package is a total fraud and the management only cares about a money grab. Go to any other Lego land and stay with anyone else. Sheraton Carlsbad is a shady operation run by management with, at minimum, poor ethics.

Room Tip: A room at any other hotel.
Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank jkass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to express your frustrations, it is through our guest feedback that we are able to identify areas that we need to improve upon. I have shared your concerns with our leadership team and our ambassadors and am working with our on-line reservations systems to make the hours of LEGOLAND more accessible for those that are booking on line. We are also adding the hours of operations to our conformation e-mails to help ensure that families are aware that the parks are closed on Tuesday and Wednesday during the winter season. We do want to provide excellent customer service to all of our guest. This is not something we take lightly and will continue to improve upon our resort.
Warm Regards,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,282)
There are newer reviews for Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 817 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

Nice quiet rooms and comfortable beds, and close to Legoland, but not much else. The staff is fine, but not as detail-oriented as at other hotels in this price range. Breakfast service at the resturant was painfully slow if you ordered off the menu. They definitely charge a premium for their proximity to Legoland, but sometimes that's what you want.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for choosing the Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa. I have shared your concerns with our Restaurant team and we are looking for a more quick and efficient way to accommodate our guests for breakfast. We appreciate the feedback as it allows us to look at our operation and see what needs to be changed based on our guest needs. We hope to have you and the family back at the hotel to experience what the Sheraton Carlsbad is all about.

Sincerely,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

I've stayed here a few times over the past six months. The rooms are quite large and I believe all of them offer a balcony. The rooms are quiet with very comfortable beds, and I didn't hear a single neighbor during any of my stays.
Service was excellent in the hotel; although their restaraunt 20/20 could use some improvements with their service, but even more so the quality of the food. Be prepeared for some additional fees for parking and wifi; however I didn't find these charges to be out of the norm.
Thanks for a great stay and I will definitely be back whenever business takes me to Carlsbad.

Room Tip: Personally, I prefer to be a bit closer to the lobby so I request building one with a higher floor i...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for your loyalty to the Sheraton Carlsbad. We are please that we are your destination of choice. Next time you are here on property please ask for me Megan Conner. I would love to have the opportunity to hear your feedback on the restaurant.
All the Best,
Megan Conner
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Nice, clean rooms. Beautiful pool. There are a lot of extra costs not reflected in the room rate ($12/day parking, hotel fee). Legoland is expanding and construction at the private hotel entrance is unattractive. Also, lines can form at the private hotel entrance to Legoland because there is only one booth attendant to both handle ticket sales and scan passes.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. I have meet with our Food and Beverage Team and we are looking at ways we can better accommodate the large amount of guest that we have during spring break and summer in a timelier manner. I am pleased that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed at this resort because it was within walking distance to Legoland. However, it is a far distance from anything else so be prepared to drive. Beautiful hotel and grounds and our room was very nice and clean. Large room and bathroom. However, we had some problems. When we had made our reservations, we had called back and asked to change to an "ocean view" room and to extend our reservation for another night. When we got there, the "ocean view" room was for one night only so we would have to move after 2 nights. After reading what an "ocean view" room really was, I'm glad we stayed in our original room. We had a view of the hills which was just as nice. The bathroom had very nice beauty products and lots of counter space but it also had horrible lighting for putting on makeup. There was no place in the room that was good for that purpose. We could also hear the people upstairs moving around.
The restaurant was horrible. The first night, they overcharged us $50. My husband went down and talked to the manager about it, they fixed it and gave us free valet parking for the duration of our stay. The breakfast buffet had horrible service. I had to wait 10 minutes to get cream for my coffee and the buffet was not replenished very frequently. We went a 2nd time for dinner and it took us 2 hours to dine. Our waiter was horrible. And that is with the manager knowing we had problems. I hated having to go out and find a place to eat every day.
It was also a stupid idea to have valet parking at a resort like this, it isn't like it is in a city.
All said and done, the staff was very friendly and helpful though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JSScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mlconner, Manager at Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience and I am sorry we did not exceed your expectations during your visit. I have meet with our Food and Beverage Team and we are looking at ways we can better accommodate the large amount of guest that we have during spring break and summer in a timelier manner. I am pleased that you found our associates to be friendly and helpful.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
3.8 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
1.3 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
2.0 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
5.3 km away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa

Address: 5480 Grand Pacific Dr, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4723
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#5 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#13 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: ₹ 12,150 - ₹ 24,364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to the California coastline between Los Angeles and San Diego adjacent to Legoland California, providing a refreshing retreat in a charming coastal community with restaurants and shopping galore. Onsite we have over 30,000 sq ft of event space for weddings, corporate events and meetings. The perfect location for everything! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Carlsbad Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing