We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cozy Homey Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Ranked #22 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
812 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 505 helpful votes
“Cozy Homey Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2009

It feels like home.My husband stayed here for a month while me and my sister who flew all the way from Ontario stayed for 2 weeks in this hotel

Nice things about the hotel:
1) near a restaurant complex
2) Free breakfast and dinners (Monday-Thursdays barbeque)
3) Nice pool and jacuzzi
4) The room has a kitchen and almost everything
5) Our rooms were kept clean everyday
6) We even had free popcorn,candies, coffee,tea in the room
7) our room even had a sofa bed in the living room area

Some comments
1) The smell of the room spray was over powering
2) Should have more variety for breakfast
2)

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank betty l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    94
    24
    10
    8
See reviews for
196
32
16
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, Maryland
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2009

We loved the room and the service we received was excellent. It was easy to drive to after you'd been there once, but directions were opposite what the GPS stated. All the amenities were fun and relaxing. I especially liked the evening socials with the free beer and wine. I didn't like the scrambled eggs every morning for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2009

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite after a day at LegoLand. From the moment we walked in we felt welcome. Jerome at the front desk was super friendly and helped recommend where to go for dinner.

The suite was plenty big enough for 5 adults and 2 children in our party. Even when the baby woke during the night the people in the other bedroom never heard him. The pool was lovely. We were sad we were only staying for one night. The absolute worse thing I can think of is they only had one waffle maker that worked poorly but in my book that is a very small thing to be concerned about.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pansygirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jumomof3
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2009

We were excited to reserve the 2-room suite for 2 nights for a little down time on our 2 week road trip covering the national parks and attractions from Chicago out West. We checked in just before 12 midnight, finally asleep at 1:30 after lugging in all our gear since we had planned on unpacking and rearranging during the down time. We were awakened with the fire alarm blaring at 6 am. It turned out to be a false alarm, but we were never notified by the staff and the desk didn't answer the phone as we are outside waiting consoling our littlest kid. It took until 7:30 to get him back to sleep. We were all so tired we slept through breakfast. As we were getting ready to go out for breakfast instead and hit the beach, we got a phone call from Eddie at he front desk saying they didn't have a room for us for the second night so we would need to check out. I politely explained that they must be mistaken; our reservation was for 2 nights. I said that this would all be cleared up if he would talk with Jerome the night attendant who had taken the reservation and checked us in. Eddie said he would try to find us another area hotel to switch to for the night, which I told him was unacceptable because it defeated the purpose of our 2 nights stay (a home base in the middle of the day, one less day of lugging luggage out and in, a place to make a homecooked meal). I got a phone call from the supposed manager, Nick Richie, who was nothing short of rude. Since I could see there was really no way we would be able to stay since they had overbooked and we were the last ones reserving, I thought I would calmly explain our plight to him and state our preferences for resolution: 1. stay another night there 2. refund or extreme discount for the stay 3. pay our agreed reservation amount for the first night and get a complimentary/deeply discounted stary at another residence inn later in our route home (which would have taken coordination from corporate I'm sure) 4. be allowed to leave our stuff in the room until we got back from the beach around 5 pm so we could shower and be on with the rest of the road trip. Nick defensively told me that he would not respond to demands; we would need to remove our stuff before we went to the beach or it would be removed for us; Eddie would look into a local hotel reservation for us perhaps where we could check in early before going to the beach. Eddie did call back with an option for us to go to a residence inn in oceanside (the wrong direction on our route) for $20 more than our agreed carlsbad rate. We decided to head down to the desk to check out and discuss the rate reduction with the manager. Eddie informed us the manager wasn't in the building and he didn't think he would answer or talk with us. He did respond to a text from Eddie requesting the reduction of our rate. We told him that we would have no choice but to contest the full charge with the credit card if he didn't accomodate. No phone call back, just a text that the rate was the rate. We called corporate who is appalled and trying to work as intermediary. After 10 days, we finally got a generic email from the actual manager of the hote, Kelly Herrington. She offered no compensation for our troubles although she admitted our experience was bad, so we are waiting for the credit card company to work its' magic. Do yourself a favor and don't make a reservation here until management changes! Regretfully at this point I couldn't recommend any Marriott because I've found out corporate has little power and you are at the mercy of the local management. Too bad because the room and hotel would have been perfect for the price! Find a Hampton or Holiday Inn Xpress instead.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jumomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Our son is at that age wherein he lives and breathes Legos. So living in Los Angeles, it only makes sense to get an annual pass to Legoland (an hour drive). We go at least once a month or twice a month, depending on our schedule. Although we can just drive there in the morning and drive back home at the end of day, we sometimes stay for the entire weekend (starting Friday night) so we can maximize our time there. Residence Inn in Carlsbad has become our home away from home. Their rooms are clean, have a friendly staff, love the pool & gym. So far, they have not disappointed us one bit. The free continental breakfast is good, but it gets real crowded and Denny's/IHOP actually do better... but for what it's worth, it's acceptable and I won't strike them against that. Near the pool, they have a barbecue grill so other guests would fire it up and have a nice picnic. They also do have a small basketball court.

Rates are acceptable as well. It's far more cheaper than the other hotels in close proximity to Legoland. Residence Inn seems like it's out of the way, but it only takes an extra 5 minutes or less to get to Legoland... so for that, we are saving so much money, we don't mind one bit.

Being a travel professional (I own Travel Zone, a travel agency), I make it a point to mention it to clients when I know they are headed to the Carlsbad area.

Definitely this is our home away from home, when we are in Carlsbad.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marycheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Diego Carlsbad
1.4 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
4.2 km away
HYATT house San Diego/Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
Staybridge Suites Carlsbad
#26 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.4 km away
Courtyard San Diego Carlsbad/McClellan-Palomar Airport
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad

Property: Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad
Address: 2000 Faraday Avenue, Carlsbad, CA 92008
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
#16 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#17 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,406 - ₹ 18,183
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Carlsbad is centrally located just a few miles from LEGOLAND, Carlsbad Beaches, LEGOLAND Water Park, SEALIFE Aquarium, and the flower fields. IT is also just a short drive to the Safari Park, the San Diego Zoo, Sea World, and many San Diego attractions. The Residence Inn offers free parking, free WiFi, free breakfast, and a evening social hour Monday through Wednesday with free beer and wine. All suites offer tons of space and full kitchens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego Carlsbad Hotel Carlsbad
Residence Inn Carlsbad
Carlsbad Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing