We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Nice Short Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Although I was only at this resort and hotel for one night, I found the staff to be very nice and the amenities to be quite clean and comfortable. The room was small to medium with two full size overstuffed beds, an array of miniture kitchen applicances (microwave, refrigerator etc.), TV, desk etc. The bathroom was clean and spacious with plenty of towels.

The second floor is a mixture of hotel and conference rooms. My only suggestion is if you stay on the second floor try not to stay next door to the laundry and/or ice/vending machine room. I heard running water extremely early in the morning, which was slightly annoying.

Room Tip: Skip the second floor and/or avoid a room next to the laundry room and you will have a great experie...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank N2mndgames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,762)
There are newer reviews for Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,344 - 1,348 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom, 2 bath ocean view unit at Christmastime. The perfect time to go! Legoland across the street has fireworks around 6pm so the kids are actually awake for it! And it's not too cold, or too loud. Costco is located right at the bottom of the hill, so it's easy to stock up your kitchen for a week, not that you really need to, there are restaurants nearby. And SHOPPING! The outlets are at right below the flowerfields! It's such a great location. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 247mom24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Upon arrival, we were warmly welcomed. We were pleasantly surprised. We had a first floor room, thus our room faced the courtyard which was beautifully landscaped. We had a small outdoor patio, that allowed us to take in the view. The kitchenette had cutlery, glasses and plates which we appreciated. Room service was prompt, food expensive, however without a car, dinning options were limited to the restaurant on site, which is also a brewery.The conseirge was very helpful. Small kiosk did quickly run out of supplies. Family pool great, games room with free air hockey and table tennis. The kids loved this! The only thing I could complain about is that you have to specifically request housekeeping, as it is also available for timeshare. I would definitely stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Palm trees & swimming pools, great weather & oceanviews. The grounds are well kept, the kids pool looked like fun, the condos were roomy, especially the corner units with the large balconies. There is plenty for more than one cook in the kitchen. The decor is tropical. The one thing that ruined our visit was the Kids day camp or whatever they call it. We had our 3 yr old granddaughter with us and were there for the timeshare presentation. We did not want to put our granddaughter in the camp, but she seemed comfortable and they PROMISED to come and get us if she cried or wanted us. The room is locked and you have to ring a doorbell for admittance, which I understand for security. BUT, there are only windows on pool side and none from the corridor that we were in. So if you wanted to peek in you would have to go to the pool area.

Our 90 minute presentation turned into 2 1/2 hrs. We picked up our granddaughter and went to the beach for lunch. I asked her how she liked the "school" and she said the girls were mean. She was the only child in there so, we know she meant the 2 adult women who worked there. I asked her why were they mean and she said they threw water in her face because she was crying for us. What makes me so mad is we were worried about this and they PROMISED to come and get us. I did report them to the hotel manager and hopefully they have been given some early childhood education tips. My advice, if you put your kids in there, go and check frequently.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelloVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My family and I arrived at the resort on Feb. 3, 2012. My nephew, age 3, saw the place and the kids pool and was so excited. The resort was clean and well maintained. Our room we found to be a bit small for 5 adults and 2 children (3 years and 1 year). They were a bit dated as well but still nice and clean. If we were to go again we would try to get a three bedroom or we would require two seperate rooms.
The children's pool was a bit cold for my liking but the adult pool was wonderful. Great views. There are many restaurants, beaches, and shopping nice and close to the resort. We went to Hollywood (1 1/2 hrs away), to Disneyland (about an hour), and SeaWorld (half hour). The resort is close to the freeway but not to close that you hear it.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children ask to be near the park, basketball nets, and the child pool. It...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Becky9533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
1.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
0.5 km away
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
Carlsbad by the Sea Resort
#29 of 36 in Carlsbad
669 reviews
2.9 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Sheraton Carlsbad Resort and Spa
5.9 km away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
1.4 km away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#5 of 36 in Carlsbad
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel

Address: 5805 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, CA 92008-4609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Carlsbad
#4 Green Hotel in Carlsbad
#12 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#15 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#20 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price Range: ₹ 9,095 - ₹ 15,786 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Grand Pacific Palisades Resort and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Pacific Palisades Hotel Carlsbad
Grand Pacific Palisades Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing