We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (1,526)
Filter reviews
1,526 results
Traveller rating
1,231
203
59
21
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,231
203
59
21
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean front continental breakfast sound of the waves guest lounge falling asleep rooms are huge within walking distance oceanfront room carlsbad village yogurt boogie boards beach chairs and umbrellas no elevator hard boiled eggs restaurants and shops beautiful room beach access
Filter
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 1,526 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2017

We searched and searched for a lodging right on the beach for our 40th wedding anniversary. We looked from Laguna Beach on down and this was the best value. The room was large and the hotel gave us a beautiful food basket that ended up being our dinner from our balocony while watching a beautiful sunset.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LindaJ60750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideHotel, Hotel Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Happy 40th Anniversary! And thank you for choosing to celebrate such an occasion with us. We are so pleased that you found our little hidden gem and look forward to celebrating many more special moments with you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We love the Beach Terrace Inn! They have an excellent location on the beach at Carlsbad with awesome views. Its so relaxing and every person at the Beach Terrace makes you feel welcome. The breakfast is simple but very fresh and tasty. We love breakfast in the Guest lounge with the ocean views!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank russntoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideHotel, Hotel Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

We appreciate your glowing review and enjoy hearing about our guest experience so thank you for taking the time to share! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Fantastic staff, view, clean, comfortable, love the pool, no other hotel like it, ready to go back! We have stayed many other great places and Beach Terrace Inn has the best view, on the water, great balconies. Ours had chairs, table, and a cushioned loveseat. We could have just stayed there and watched and listened to the waves.

Room tip: Oceanfront, the best
Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideHotel, Hotel Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Hello Chris and thank you for taking a moment to share the delights of your beachside getaway with us! We love to hear that our guests were able to enjoy the epic sunsets and sounds of the ocean (we enjoy them too!) and look forward to hosting you again on your next relaxing vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

.......yes, Beach Terrace Inn does have the corner on the market for hotel 'on the sand' in the greater San Diego area. However, (sad to report) the property needs help. Hallways in dire need of paint; rust in common areas an eyesight. The elevator in our building wasn't working; the door was, apparently, stuck open with yellow tape draped across it.
Breakfast included? If you want your choices wrapped in plastic (think pastry from Safeway) and boxes of very unhealthy cereal....
My overall view (I've stayed here over the years) is that management is slipping. Paying $500 a night one would expect a tad more than 'location, location, location'. Admittedly, oceanfront properties take wear and tear from the ocean air. How much can a fresh paint job yearly cost?
On the bright side! Our room was spacious and well appointed. The staff very helpful and friendly. Views to impress.
One last tip: WiFi not good. Cannot use cell phone in your room; need to go up to the lobby level to talk. Big minus.

Room tip: Thinking they're all good!
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank MargaretM79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideHotel, Hotel Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience with us and for your return visits. We work hard to provide a well-maintained and pleasant property despite the wear and tear of salty air and a sandy landscape but as always, more work can and will be done. I must apologize that our elevator was under routine maintenance during your visit and that our complimentary breakfast did not fulfill your expectations. We are weeks away from upgrading our lounge facilities in a way that will expand our ability to provide a remarkable breakfast experience. At this time, we are limited by surprising recent changes to regulations that oversee food service. While our upgraded high speed WiFi offers fast internet, some phone services do not provide the best beachside reception, which can certainly be a source of frustration for their customers. We hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress you with our ongoing updates and commitment to excellence. If you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to reach us at 760-729-5951.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

My wife and I travel a lot and we aren't the types that return to the same place over and over - except when it comes to the Beach Terrace Inn. We have now been there six times and made a commitment to each other to return at least three times a year. And while I want the world to know how great this place is, I resisted writing a review because I don't ever want to be turned away.

The prime reason for greatness is the place's prime location on the Pacific Ocean. Every night is a show - the sunsets are exquisite. Every room has a patio and only a few miss out on the sunsets (still you are only steps away from the beach). The service is great. They always seem to have a nice person running here and there to bring things to your room and provide supplies for your moments on the beach and at sea. The breakfast space has indoor and outdoor seating (this last time they were going through a transition and the options for limited but enough to get you by until lunch). Making a stop at the pool and hot tub everyday is a pleasure of every stay.

We have met a lot of lovely people at the Inn and many of them are repeat visitors. Come join us.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JandCRTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachsideHotel, Hotel Manager at Beach Terrace Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

We are grateful for your loyalty and so happy to have you as a member of our little beachside family. Our goal has always been to provide remarkable service and relaxing moments so your kind feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you many more times at our seaside paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews