We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Location, Location, Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
henderson, NV
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

My husband and I have stayed at this property for years; both when it was part of the Best Western chain, and after the owners decided to invest mucho bucks in upgrading the hotel and making it an independent property. As you can see by the title, the location simply cannot be surpassed. It sits immediately on the beach. In fact, the ground level suites in the Lower Beach Building offer the unique possibility of jumping from your balcony directly onto the sand. Amazing for families with older children.
The rooms are wonderfully upgraded, with luxurious bathrooms done in serene colors and textures reminiscent of a spa. We stay in the Pool Terrace Building on an upper floor, and the first thing we do upon arrival is open the windows and door to the balcony in order to hear the ocean's rhythms. It stays open until we, always with immense regret, have to leave.
The night of arrival, we always order in pizza from one of the many restaurants that will deliver to your room. The front desk has menus of many of the local places, and there are many excellent ones within walking distance. Our favorite is Paon, which offers superlative food and choice of wines. This is not a family restaurant, but rather an informal, but upscale place with great service and a heated patio for al fresco dining.
The staff at the front desk are pleasant and helpful. The rooms are kept clean.
Our only complaint is that the included breakfast is not more upscale, like those at a Marriott Courtyard or a Hampton Inn for instance. Whereas there is a great selection of pastries and bread stuffs, as well as fresh fruit and fruit juices, cereals, and hard-boiled eggs, there are no hot dishes; no hot eggs, no sausage or bacon, no hashbrowns. Not even the "cook it yourself" hot waffles that you find at just about every motel chain...although this might have changed since were last there. They do have a toaster.
We overlook this however, because you will not find a hotel property smack on the beach like this one for miles and miles in either direction. We return every year to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean ...

Room Tip: Families probably would want to stay in the Lower Beach Building, if possible. These are suites to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank helene s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,009
    184
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
459
543
33
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corona, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I came to this hotel because i wanted a place right on the beach and this is exactly what i got.
front ocean rooms are as close as it can get to the ocean and you have few stairs to the sandy beach. you get huge rooms, mini fridge coffee. the bathroom is huge too with very nice shower.
I would totally go there again. my only complaint is the bed, our bed was creaking and felt too soft for our liking but overall this place is great. I have not tried the pool, with a beautiful ocean who needs a pool.

Room Tip: corner rooms away from the pool are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hudhud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City
Level Contributor
378 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012 via mobile

Our room was very big and comfortable, nice design and decor . Balcony was great as we could sit and watch the beach. Complimentary breakfast is very good, it consists on fruit,yoghurt, sweet rolls, boiled eggs, cereals, bagels, coffee, juices and others.
Pool and beach area are really nice but most of it I loved our room and it's balcony. it is walking distance to many restaurants at the village and close driving distance to Legoland, the outlets and the Flower Field.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank viajeramx1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
136 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We stayed in Carlsbad to hit Legoland and had a great beach view while we were doing so. Carlsbad is a fine gem of a city with great shops and restaurants.

But, lets talk about Beach Terrace Inn.

AWESOME place, the why's:

The hotel is nestled among nice beach homes and is so "on the beach" I am not certain with the current building codes they could even be that close. But, they are and it was wonderful.

We had a king bed beach room. This room is several hundred square feet (600 to 800 if I had to guess). The room was appointed well with a comfortable bed, modern decorations and a beach house meets modern Westin sort of feel. It was fun, funky, clean and modern. The back wall of the room that faced the ocean was all class with a large sliding hurricane door and white shuttered sliding doors. Very nice. The balcony had a little patio couch that was super comfortable, chairs and a little table. We sat out and enjoyed some wine and the view one evening and simply loved it.

The bathrooms were gray and black slate with a huge shower and modern sink and counter area.

All was VERY clean.

The staff were simply fabulous. They genuinely seemed to care. At one point, it looked like our plane would be delayed and they promised full use of the pool, facilities, etc. to make our wait more comfortable.

They have a nice Mac set out for printing boarding passes, etc. We used it to buy some last minute tickets to Knott's Berry Farm.

The breakfast has fresh and local blueberries and strawberries, fresh and not stale bagles and a truly wide assortment of very tasty pastries and confections that my son when nuts for. I think he ate his own weight in them every morning. Coffee is great, teas to include organic, oatmeal and cereals with toppings and hard boiled eggs. It was great.

The Village itself is fun and also "funky" for lack of a better term. Great little mom and pop shops, good food and just fun to walk around.

I highly recommend the Beach Terrace Inn.

More than that...I went and looked around the number one choice for Trip Adviser and didn't like it near as much.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms on the beach. Be prepared to walk stairs. The hotel is on a hillside because the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICHermes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lomita, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

It's only been hours since we left and I'm already thinking about going back. My husband and I stayed in Ocean View King room and it was enormous. We were taking a long anticipated trip without the kids, so we arrived a bit early. 10:30 a.m. to be exact. We had plans to take the tour at the Stone Brewery, so we just wanted to park the car and catch a taxi, but they found us a room and allowed us to check in early. Due to the early check-in, they put us in a downstairs room. We could faintly hear people walking upstairs, so they happily moved us upstairs for the rest of our stay.

All of the staff were lovely, as is the view. The pool and hot tub were the perfect temperatures even on a cloudy spring day. We enjoyed walking on the beach and out for meals and to a spa.

For the price, I think the accommodations were unbeatable. If you're looking for a place to stay in Carlsbad, this is it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beijingrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
3.4 km away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
7.6 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
6.0 km away
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
Carlsbad Seapointe Resort
#6 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.3 km away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,544 - ₹ 28,173
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing