We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Gorgeous place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beach Terrace Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach Terrace Inn
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Carlsbad
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This is a very nice beachfront inn. Our baclony overlooked the ocean -- it's right on the beach -- so beautiful. The town is really cute. This place would be hard not to love. It was also very reasonably priced for how lovely and well located it is. The room was large and clean and nice. They have a terrific little pool and spa -- but the best thing is that you are right on the beach -- no road to cross or building to walk past. I loved listening to the surf while sleeping with the door open

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGMathis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    990
    179
    50
    15
    9
See reviews for
451
531
32
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (477)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Needham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We booked our room the morning that we arrived so could not get an ocean front room, however we were pleasantly surprised by how wonderful the 'standard' room was - even without the view!

We have two extremely comforable double beds, a fabulous bathroom, great space - really fantastically nice. I would highly recommended this hotel to anyone visiting San Diego.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TZfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Britton, South Dakota
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

My family stayed at the Beach Terrace Inn over President's Day weekend. It was awesome! I was looking for a quiet, family-friendly beach getaway and that is exactly what I got. The ocean view was beautiful. The atmosphere was very nice and so was the staff. The area is very quaint with many shops and great restaurants within walking distance. The continental breakfast was simple but tasty with many choices. My family had a great vacation and I can't wait to go back soon!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheila1212_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights after our wedding. This is a great little gem of a hotel that I found through TripAdvisor, and I'm glad I did. We got a king ocean view room and it was quite large, very clean, and indeed had an ocean view, although partially blocked by the next building (I'm not complaining, but we had been staying at a beach house in Oceanside the week before that was RIGHT on the beach with a direct ocean view, so it wasn't quite as nice).

I loved the big bathroom, especially the shower, although the water was a bit slow to warm up. The bed was very comfy, and it was also nice having the sofa near the patio to cuddle up on. It was a treat leaving the patio door open overnight and letting the cool air and sound of the ocean send us to sleep.

The front desk staff was very accommodating and allowed my sister in law to enter our room early to set up rose petals (since I was not able to check in until late at night), and they also left us a very nice note and bottle of wine for our special night. Parking was super close to our room, and the the bellhop (I assume?) helped us load left over wedding supplies from our limo to our car.

The pool area was very nice. While heated, the pool was a little chilly for me on a February night, but the hot tub was just right and felt great. The continental breakfast was better than most I have seen and quite tasty, and the hotel is in walking distance of a few eateries and a coffee shop.

Overall, this was a great place to stay and a wonderful way to finish off a whirlwind week of wedding activities. We'll definitely be back for our anniversary one day!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ltdscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We spent 2 nights in the Oceanfront King room. The room looks right over the beach. I think on the entire Carlsbad beach this building has rooms closest the beach. The beach side pool area is very nice. The staff is very attentive. Many great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Oceanfront King Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Carlsbad hotels
0.2 km away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Carlsbad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
7.6 km away
Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort
3.4 km away
West Inn & Suites Carlsbad
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Carlsbad Beach
11.1 km away
Omni La Costa Resort and Spa
0.3 km away
Carlsbad Inn Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Terrace Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Terrace Inn

Property: Beach Terrace Inn
Address: 2775 Ocean Street, Carlsbad, CA 92008-2299
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Carlsbad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Carlsbad
#1 Spa Hotel in Carlsbad
#2 Family Hotel in Carlsbad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Carlsbad
#10 Business Hotel in Carlsbad
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,796 - ₹ 25,706
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Beach Terrace Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only hotel right on the sand along the azure waters of the Carlsbad coast. The luxurious, totally redesigned Beach Terrace Inn is delightfully private and terraced on the sand along Carlsbad State Beach, boasting miles of beautiful beach front. Both wired and relaxed, the hotel allows you to surf the net or the waves, walk to dozens of restaurants and nightlife in Carlsbad Village, or lose yourself in flip flops, sand and the sight of dolphins playing in the ocean. Here you are free from cares and free from extra fees with breakfast, parking, WiFi and most services included in the room charge. Legoland and fabulous shopping are five minutes away while The Wild Animal Park, San Diego Zoo, SeaWorld and all of San Diego are 30 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Beach Terrace Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beach Terrace Hotel Carlsbad
Beach Terrace Carlsbad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing