We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
993
172
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
993
172
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cookies and milk double king suite power plant gas station swim diapers train tracks pool toys shuttle service free breakfast san diego loved this hotel yogurt beach chairs each evening hotel shuttle boogie boards each morning
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2018

This is a special hotel to our family visiting from England for the 11th consecutive year.
It has an elegant feel, yet accommodates all types of visitors, from the echelons of business, locals looking for some TLC to families visiting local attractions such as Legoland and integrates them all seamlessly. This is testimony to the excellent staff, some of whom have been at the West since its inception 12 years ago including the hotel GM, the magnificent and ever accommodating Mr Carl Holmes, Bertha and Marisela. The Front desk staff are extremely helpful, including longer serving employees such as Sean and Salita and housekeeping, marshalled by Edith, work very hard to maintain the property to such a high standard. From our perspective only, we observed that the property had been sold earlier in the year by Mr and Mrs West, which resulted in the effervescent Kim, the VP, Linda, Keoni etc. leaving the building - we thank them for their kindness and friendship over the years.
The rooms are clean and nicely decorated, the breakfast presented by Bertha and on occasion Marisela, offers a nice range of fully cooked items, toast, cereals, fruit and unlimited hot and fruit juice drinks. This can be enjoyed in the breakfast area, in a pleasant dining setting or outside adjacent to the pool. The pool is pleasantly sized and filled with saltwater, a nice alternative to other establishments with chemical filled pools and the hot tub is large with forceful jets. There is a complimentary shuttle that will take you locally to such as the Outlets, towels, chairs and umbrellas for the beach and all these can be ordered via front desk.
As on all our previous visits a member of our family celebrated a birthday and a cake, balloons and some nice provisions were placed in our room, which were greatly appreciated, thank you to Carl and your staff.
Finally, there are numerous restaurants locally and the Steak and Seafood House on site has a nice ambience and provides a nice venue to celebrate a special occasion (thank you Bobby and Mr/Mrs PB). Unfortunately, the West Bistro was closed at the time we visited but we understand this should be providing the good quality cuisine we have always enjoyed later in the year. We wish all at the West continued success in 2019 and beyond.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms appear generally quieter and don't forget to use the gym!
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JudeF104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir92124, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear JudeF104,

Thank you for your heartfelt review. The entire team at West Inn & Suites would like to take this time to thank you and your family for always brightening our day. I personally enjoy every minute of the day I can spend talking with you, Ian, and the kids. Our English family will always hold a special place in our hearts. Thank you for always thinking of us and sharing your amazing stories and journeys. We look forward to seeing you again next year! West Inn & Suites will always be your home away from home........

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018

We had a great stay at The West Inn. We were in the area visiting friends and taking advantage of all the family-friendly activities that San Diego has to offer. The West Inn filled a few buckets:

1. Clean and nice sized suites for a family of four
2. 10 min ride to Legoland and easy access to other parts of San Diego
3. Saving money on our hotel made it a lot easier to enjoy other parts of our trip, all of which came with a hefty price tag.

In the end, I would say we got more than we paid for at The West Inn. I would go back and definitely recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmandaPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir92124, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Dear AmandaPK,

Thank you for taking the time to recommend and write about West Inn & Suites. As you experienced, we take pride in our cleanliness and enjoy making sure that all families and guest enjoy the many family friendly activities Carlsbad and San Diego has to offer. We look forward to your next stay!

,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

This is an elegant, yet family friendly hotel near, but not on the beach. Front desk staff was extremely helpful. Rooms are very nicely decorated and the breakfast is a fully cooked and served in a lovely dining setting.

Pool is saltwater and heated and the hot tub is large, and hot. (Not the case at many hotels we have visited)

They will shuttle you to the beach or anywhere with 5 Miles, including LEGOLAND. They even loan you beach chairs, towels and umbrellas.

We booked through Southwest.com and were very happy with the price.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir92124, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Rick B,

Thank you for taking the time to write an amazing review! We take pride in our staff and services as you were able to experience. Our team enjoys when families get to take advantage of all our amazing amenities. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We stayed here for our Legoland weekend trip -- and have no regrets! Price point was excellent, service friendly & professional, and included amenities such a bonus. We made good use of the free shuttle to/from Legoland (a 5 min drive), the breakfast buffet, and nighttime milk & cookies. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SooC93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir92124, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dearest SooC93_Famly

We're thrilled to hear of your wonderful weekend trip and that we helped in creating some
great family memories. Team West takes pride in making sure your visit is personal and we appreciate the
time you've taken to write. We hope to see you soon!

Always at your service,
General Manager & Team West

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Spent the past 2 nights here and couldn’t be anymore happier with our stay. The room was clean, huge, and family friendly (kitchenette with fridge, microwave, sink, and coffeemaker). We stayed in a premiere suite with 2 king beds and a separate sitting area that had a pullout couch. What I loved about the hotel was the drop off shuttle to and from legoland (totally saves $20 in parking), cookies & milk every night, friendly, daily breakfast, and clean. We have stayed at the Legoland Resort and Paradise hotel ( where Karl Strauss is located); and hands down, Westside Inn was fabulous. Thank you for memorial weekend West inn

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnAir92124, General Manager at West Inn & Suites Carlsbad, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2018

Dear Stephanie M,

Greeting from our family at West Inn & Suites.

Thank you for the amazing review! We are so happy that you had two fantastic days with us. As you are aware, our team takes pride in our service and cleanliness. We are very pleased you were able to take advantage of our amenities and shuttle service. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews