We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,656)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveller rating
1,016
376
153
69
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,016
376
153
69
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the street chandlers restaurant ocean view fire pit pool area beautiful hotel self parking an upgrade resort fee nice pool beach access san diego shuttle service short drive family vacation spa balcony
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We stayed one night because my daughter's National Charity League Fashion Show was taking place the next day. We made a mini-vacation out of our 24 hour stay, enjoying spa treatments and the restaurant. All of the staff we encountered were extremely pleasant and helpful, clearly they take customer service and satisfaction very seriously at the Cape Rey! The Fashion Show was a huge success, we could not have done it without the wonderful staff of the hotel.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Hi Kelley,
Thank you so much for your 5-star review! Thrilled to hear the fashion show was a huge success and that our staff helped make that happen - both professionally and personally for you and your daughter! We certainly hope you come back to Cape Rey to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We had a group of about 40 people that stayed at Cape Rey. They reserved a block of rooms for us and this was setup in 2 days from your request. It was a link that could be sent to everyone and was easy to navigate.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank jasonberry72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Hi, Jason- We're happy to see you had a great experience with your group stay at Cape Rey. We appreciate your five-star review and hope you'll come back some time and stay for leisure, too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Went to this resort for a wedding and it was beautiful! The staff is very friendly and they even had a surprise in the room when we arrived since we were also celebrating my husbands birthday so that was special. We had a minor issue with the television and they sent someone right away to fix (turns out another guest had messed with the cables). The pool is nice as you can look to the ocean from it. You do hear some street noise but it is nothing a few adult beverages can't fix! Parking garage system was new when we were there so they were working on some kinks but the staff was very accommodating to assist as they know there is a learning curve for everyone.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear Colette-

We're so happy to see that you had a wonderful time at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton resort. We appreciate your five-star review and we hope we'll see you back at Cape Rey again soon (maybe this time for your birthday?).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The noise from above our room was relentless from the minute we entered the 2nd floor room. Whether it was kids running around or just loud footsteps, you will never be happy or get any sleep on any floor other than the third level. We forced them to switch us even after being told they had no rooms and once we switched all the worries went away and we had a great stay. Your in-between Carlsbad and Encinitas, so you should be able to find food and beaches rather easily and they do offer free coffee in the AM and a free beach pack which includes chairs, umbrella and towels. We never ate at the high priced restaurant, but I did take a dip in the pool and sit by the fire pit at night. Beds were cozy and we had a great view of the sunsets each night. It's not quite a resort, but tries to hard to want to be one, but we still did things our non resort way and had a great 4 nights. $24 bucks for parking per night was probably the only ripoff we encountered.

Room tip: THird Fllor only
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

Dear Brad-
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a detailed review. We're happy to see that you enjoyed the beds and the views, and please know that we'll be sharing your additional feedback with our team as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

Comfortable spacious room. Nicely decorated. Nice bakcony. Great view of ocean frim third floor. Spacious bathroom. Refrigerator and microwave in room. Quiet hotel. Beautiful lobby. Great restaurant on site.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank ldfrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad_Hilton, General Manager at Cape Rey Carlsbad, a Hilton Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2018

We're thrilled to see you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed Cape Rey Carlsbad resort. We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a stellar review and hope to see you back here soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews